We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique resort on an island in the backwaters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique resort on an island in the backwaters”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This place is pretty unique. You have to take a canoe to get there across the river. It takes about 30 minutes to get there from Allepey by rickshaw. It's best to get the resort to arrange a Rickshaw for you because it's a bit complicated to find! We had a great time finding our own way there that ended up with a friendly local man jumping in our rickshaw phoning the resort for us and directing the rickshaw driver!

The rooms are absolutely amazing. Really high quality small bungalows with nicely done bathrooms. very well built and nicely decorated. The best thing is the outside porch area with table and bed for lounging on in the day. All your meals are served on the porch.

The website is a little misleading when it talks about activities because we expected there to be lots to do all the time but we were told that the do one activity a day in the afternoon at about 4.30 pm. We were initially a but disappointed about this because we like to be really active and we were expecting lots of activities going on at all times. However, it all worked out in the end. We took ourselves off in to Allepey one day to do our own thing and you can charter canoes and boats from there. Back at the resort, they took us on canoe rides (including a night time canoe ride) and walks through the local villages.

There's nowhere to really go on the island itself. It's pretty small and there are no paths to walk around the island. You're pretty much just in your bungalow whilst you are there and you just kind of sit around and wait for one of the guys to turn up and take you off on a trip. You therefore need to be a bit proactive in arranging things if you're like us and like to be busy!

Or you can just sit on your porch and watch the house boats and locals going about their daily lives.

The food was absolutely amazing and probably the best we experienced the whole time we were in India. Meals are at set times.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    42
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
96
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our land is perfect place to getway from the chaos of urban life. the treatment offered by the resort staffs is very homely. This place being in an island is ideal getaway.
The best of staying in this resort is to relax on the chair and hammock out side without bothering about the outside world !!. The houseboats that frequently pass by would add to your excitement.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srikanthdrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our land is amazing. The rooms are clean and tasteful. The food is exquisite. The staff was really responsive and worked hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. The views are astounding, the wild life is visible. We also really enjoyed visiting with the locals. It's an amazing private, serene spot in a beautiful land. What a blessing that we were able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0ted88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Friendly staff, great free walks and canoes, peaceful but enough to do.... and the food was amazing. Would go back at a drop of a hat (what ever that means) : )

Room Tip: Facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingunclematt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We arrived at this wonderful island after a busy 10 days travelling in the south of Kerala, what a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the slow pace of life in the backwaters!
We arrived by train to Allepy. Make sure your tut tut /taxi driver knows where to go! He will need to have directions, so ensure he speaks to one of the numbers sent to you with your confirmation. And only a tut tut will get down the tract to the water..not a car!
We were paddled across by small boat to the island, where we had booked 3 nights.
Our air conditioned room was large and with a huge , comfortable bed. The bathroom is large and a great hot shower. Outside you have your own balcony area , with ceiling fan. There is a table with 2 chairs, where you can sit and this is also where you have your meals served. From here you watch the world go by!
The food is delicious! 3 meals a day , served to you. Some of the best food we ate in Kerala....what a great cook! Filtered cool water is available at all times.
Ratheesh is there to take you on guided walks along the waters edge and around the rice fields. Wonderful bird watching. He is an excellent guide, and we had 2 super evening walks with him. I wasn't sure about the fruit bats!
The staff were all so friendly and helpful. I cannot rate this backwater resort highly enough and strongly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

A great place to stay for nature lovers, bird watchers and people who want to see what rural life in Kerala is all about.

The typical Kerala lunch served to us (on authentic banana leaves) was phenomenal and to eat it as the locals do ( with your right hand - cutlery optional ) was a great experience.

Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Suggest going there or leaving to some othe destination by House-Boat cruises. Sort of makes the exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weng Koon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Ourland is an unexpected gem in the heart of the backwaters of Kerala. Our group stayed only a day there, but wished we could have extended it. The location overlooking the waters was unbeatable. The rooms were thoughtfully designed and furnished. The walking trip through the village and rice fields was certainly worth it. The highlight was without a doubt the magnificent lunch served on banana leaf - the best meal we had in the week we were in Kerala. Perhaps the best thing to do was simply to sit on the daybed on the verandah and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHorYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.4 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquabliss
Aquabliss
#24 of 68 in Alappuzha
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 154 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Land Island Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Property: Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Address: Chempupuram | Punnapra, Alappuzha 688004, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ourland Island Backwater Resort is the Winner of First ever Kerala State Tourism Award (announced AUG 2015) for the Best Practices in the field of Responsible Tourism.. Every once in a while, when the hectic pace of city life overwhelms you and the chaos of the urban crush threatens to consume you, it's always wise to retreat into some much-needed solitude. Tucked away in the backwaters of Kerala is Our Land, a panacea for the soul. An island getaway from the rigmarole of daily life, Our Land sits in an island of tranquility to the south of Alappuzha, surrounded by green paddy fields fringed with coconut palm, bamboos and banana trees that stretch as far as the eye can see. In the lap of nature, Our Land has stayed true to its roots and blends in perfectly with the rustic landscape that surrounds it for miles. The resort's modern amenities unobtrusively attend to the comforts of guests and do not compromise on the hotel's natural ambiance and pursuit to ensure that its carbon footprint on the environment is minimized. Our Land invites guests and divulges secrets - this hideaway island was a one-time den of a fierce bandit immortalized by the locals as a Robin Hood! During your stay here you can unravel the secrets of this one-time bandit hideaway and ensconce yourself in its warm and welcoming world.Hearty welcome to Our Land... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Our Land Island Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Land Island Backwater Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing