We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing and interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Two of us toured in Kerala with CHALUKYA GRACE TOURS and stayed at Our Land Island for two nights. We enjoyed a five-day trip from Cochin to Munnar and back to Allepey.
The highlights of this were a visit to the spice garden and the tea-covered hills of Munnar.
We had a very competent and safe driver.
-
On a houseboat we explored the Backwaters, accompanied by a cook, a driver and a manager! The food was genuine Kerulen cuisine, fresh and delicious – both on the boat and also at the Our Land resort. We stayed in a renovated bungalow, had our meals brought to us on the porch overlooking the river and spent the time walking, watching river life: houseboats, people fishing and huge flocks of ducks being 'herded' down the river. Our host took us on a long walk around the rice fields and canals and organised a night boat ride down the river as a birthday present for my companion. This was stunning – so quiet and peaceful and also great views of village life. I can highly recommend CHALUKYA GRACE TOURS and their Our Land Resort.

Room Tip: The houseboat bedroom was comfortable with an ensuite and AC. The rooms in the resort are newly ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Our Land for 2 nights at the end of our 2 week trip to Kerala. We stayed in the tree house which had a stunning view of the backwaters. It was so relaxing watching the water all day long and seeing the local people and house boats. We went on a walk organized by our land, and a boat trip around the smaller canals. The latter was such an incredible experience and one of the highlights of our holiday. Finally, the food was excellent - delivered to our balcony for each meal and really authentic Keralan.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We arrived late afternoon with the Kollam-Allepey-ferry (beautiful 8-hours-trip), and were nicely left nearby Ourland resort, where a staffmember was waiting with a canoe, to bring us to our room.

Activities: maybe I was a bit misled by the website, the offers are a bit optimistic. I intended to do as much as possible. In these 2 full days we went for a walk in the neighbourhood, together with the guide, the only englishspeaking staffmember (it should have been a birdwatching trip, but very few birds seen, though), a canoe- and a biketrip (alone) They were all very nice, but it's all in the same neighborhood... One evening, our guide took us to a templefestival in a nearby village, which was also nice to see.

After all: sitting on the porch, reading a book (there is nothing else to do) with a view over the backwaters: very relaxing.
In short: very nice, well kept, spacy A/C room, very nice bathroom, hot water 24/24. Nice wardrobe with place for hangers, without hangers...
Staff: very helpfull, and very friendly.
Food: could not be better!

Downsides: Ourland wants to be "eco-friendly", but has no solarpanels. Could be very usefull to provide free hot water. Many powercuts: also here solarpanels could be considered, since there is no generator backup. No internet, which was unpractical, since I wanted to check my flight home, the day after..
Also a fridge in the room would be nice: only a can of water was provided during daytime, nothing else. If you want something, you have to go to the office, and ask.
After all: this is not a 500 Rs guesthouse, for the price I paid, I expected much more comfort.

During our stay, they were working on some of the buildings. Therefore, some piles of sand and mud were stored right in front of our house, preventing a nice view over the water.
The maintenance of the resorts greenery could be better.

But all togethe:r we spend some nice days there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynenJohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have spent 3 wonderful days ni this magical place. The place is wonderful, the team is great and the food is amazing. We do not regret to havé chosen this place and not à houseboat: we walked, had à canoe trip and did some bicycle in the small back waters.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sylvain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

we spent 3 great days in ourland.It was perfect!
The house is beautifull,
The food amazing,
The staff was warm,friendly,helpfull...
we were 5 [a family] and we all will be happy to
go back,and visit again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liora g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our island resort is like a houseboat, which would have found a room in heaven. Then, why to move and go on its cruise? So the houseboat has stopped forever among bamboos, flowers and birds…
So if you are looking for a peaceful place where to relax and enjoy nature, if you are tired of noise and pollution, make a stop there and stay as long as you can.
Rooms are large, and moreover, all people are nice and efficient.
If food for you is important, don’t worry, you will get a very good one and in quantity!
___
I am a writer, and this is really the best place for a work like this (if writing can be called a work...)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertBranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed there two days and had a fantastic time. This is a peaceful and beautiful place located next to the backwaters area, the perfect place to rest your body and soul on a vacation. The food is really good and varied and the employees are very helpful and friendly. The room had A/C was spacious and clean with a large veranda. From the veranda we could follow the life along the waterfront. If you want to investigate the surrounding area there are ample opportunities for walking along the waterfront or across paddy fields - just ask to be canoed across the river.
In summary this is a unique place that we can only recommend for anyone traveling in the Kerala backwaters area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hajsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
13 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
378 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
193 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 181 in Alappuzha
207 reviews
5.9 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Land Island Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Address: Chempupuram | Punnapra, Alappuzha 688004, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ourland Island Backwater Resort is the Winner of First ever Kerala State Tourism Award (announced AUG 2015) for the Best Practices in the field of Responsible Tourism.. Every once in a while, when the hectic pace of city life overwhelms you and the chaos of the urban crush threatens to consume you, it's always wise to retreat into some much-needed solitude. Tucked away in the backwaters of Kerala is Our Land, a panacea for the soul. An island getaway from the rigmarole of daily life, Our Land sits in an island of tranquility to the south of Alappuzha, surrounded by green paddy fields fringed with coconut palm, bamboos and banana trees that stretch as far as the eye can see. In the lap of nature, Our Land has stayed true to its roots and blends in perfectly with the rustic landscape that surrounds it for miles. The resort's modern amenities unobtrusively attend to the comforts of guests and do not compromise on the hotel's natural ambiance and pursuit to ensure that its carbon footprint on the environment is minimized. Our Land invites guests and divulges secrets - this hideaway island was a one-time den of a fierce bandit immortalized by the locals as a Robin Hood! During your stay here you can unravel the secrets of this one-time bandit hideaway and ensconce yourself in its warm and welcoming world.Hearty welcome to Our Land... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Our Land Island Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Land Island Backwater Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing