We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed in Punnamada during Oct 25 - Oct 27 with my wife. It was our first wedding anniversary. Hence it was special. We had booked a package. The first day we spent in the houseboat and the second day in the lake view room. The stay in the houseboat was very comfortable. The crew were very helpful and nice. We were disappointed with the lunch provided as it had very few options for my wife who was a vegetarian. No complaints if you are a non-vegetarian. We docked for the night at around 6 PM in a remote location which was nice. Nobody to disturb us. Ensure you keep the windows and doors of the bedroom closed to avoid insects in the evening.

The second day we were in the lake view room. The views from here are breathtaking. DO NOT miss the sun rise. It is just beautiful. Our stay was made even more memorable with the service and hospitality of the staff. Big kudos to them. You guys were outstanding.

There was a commercial shooting going on during our stay which in a way spoilt the restaurant area. Food was being served behind the actual restaurant. That was a slight dampener.

Overall , We both loved our stay here and would definitely be back again.

Special thanks to Mr. Sherry who was there to help us with anything whenever we needed.

Good luck Punnamada !!


Pros: Beautiful location, great courteous staff
Cons: Lunch can be made better with better spread. The breakfast and dinner were good.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us . Let me thank you for staying with us aswell as for your valid time to write about us and your courtesy. Your feedback has been taken in its spirit and changes made in the menu . we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after we took the tourist cruise from Kollam to Alleppey. This hotel is quite bit away from jetty. When the rickshaw driver drove through small villages in order to get to the hotel at night, we were thinking we must in the middle of nowhere. We had a lakeview room. We didn't see much when we arrived because it was dark outside, but in the morning, we saw the sunrise from our room, which was amazing. While we were there, there was a film crews filming ad there, they were a bit noise in the morning, and we can't eat at the main restaurant because of the film crews were there, we were eating dinner and breakfast at a small room with blinds closed, which was a bit of conds for our stay, since this hotel is not cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suli_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us . special thanks for your praises for our yoga classes and Mr. Pradeep. It is our endeavor to provide the world class service to our guests . your great review will be a moral boost to our team who strive and achieve excellence in customer service. looking forward to have you with us once again . Regards,

varghese.K.E.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is our long over due review of outer wonderful stay at Punnamada Resort last year as part of our holiday in Kerala. Our stay began with a night on one of the resort's houseboats followed by 5 nights at the resort itself.

The houseboat is truly an experience of a lifetime. A drop of Zen in the colour and noise that is India. After a hair raising trip to the resort we were greeted by an immaculate houseboat staffed by three lovely crew. We had hesitated about taking our 3 and 6 year old children on water overnight but I'm very happy we went. Lake Vembanad is an amazing location and Punnamada Resort's houseboat was the perfect way to experience it. Our boat was certainly the nicest looking one of all the boats we saw while on the lake. The food prepared by our chef was amazing, he very happily and easily accommodated for our vegetarian family with fabulous Keralan food. Each meal we had was abundant and delicious.

Back at the resort we stayed in a double story garden view villa right by the pool. The highlight was the outdoor bathroom with its own private courtyard. It really had a fun spa feel.

One of the highlights of the stay was meeting and practicing with our yoga teacher, Pradeep Kumar. I specifically chose Punnamada Resort because I saw they offered daily yoga classes. I had not expected the quality of the yoga offered by the resort. Pradeep is obviously passionate about yoga and a committed practitioner of the art. My husband and I attended his classes daily during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband, who doesn't often practice yoga, really found a connection with Pradeep's style of teaching. I felt both challenged and relaxed in my classes. I also learned some interesting mantras and pranayama techniques that I have continued to use. Some of this information is offered in a short manual available for sale at the Ayurvedic doctor's office for a few rupee, I highly recommend it. Our experience at Punnamada went from wonderful to extraordinary because of our yoga classes there. We really recommend all guests take advantage of the yoga classes.

The other highlight of our stay was the food at the restaurant. Each meal was extremely fresh and a visual as well as sensory feast. The restaurant had an abundance of vegetarian meals that we found it difficult to choose with so many options. There were local Keralan dishes as well as meals from other regions to sample. The restaurant happily accommodated for our children who were not used to eating spicy foods. We also loved trying all the different Indian breakfasts at the breakfast buffet.

We also had the pleasure of experiencing the Diwali celebrations during our stay. There was live music and the entire resort was lit up with thousands of candles.

A big thank you to all the staff at Punnamada who are always in our memories of our trip to India. We spent a significant part of our first visit to India with Punnamada and I am very happy I chose them.

Sandra, Damian & family

Room Tip: Stay in a villa by the pool. You get to just walk out of your room straight into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundaratraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay . Let me thank you for staying with us and for the time you spent to write a review. Your review will certainly motivate us in our journey to excel. We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We found this place very difficult to find since it's not particularly well signposted but when we arrived we found the Punnamada Resort to be an oasis of peace, calm and quiet well away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Our villa room was in a traditional decor with a four poster bed and a very nice outdoor bathroom. The restaurant was very good and the Indian cuisine excellent. However, out of the four nights we stayed at this hotel, on two of the nights we were the only guests (and therefore, well looked after) so it's difficult to give a balanced review on quality of service etc. If we have any negative comments they would be that the hotel needs a little tlc (cracked powerpoints in our room for example). Another comment is that the Punnamada has an ayurvedic centre so why aren't there bathrobes in the rooms? Overall, though, we did enjoy our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review regarding Punnmada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had enjoyed your stay . let me thank you for staying with us as well as for your lovely review. Your points are well noted and will be taken care of . thank you for the frankness. We look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Of course the location is great and the attentive staff make up for the rest.

The villas are designed in traditional style and bath room spacious.

We loved the food in their only restaurant facing the back waters.

The hotel's approach is very strange was difficult to locate and but once you reach it completely changes.

We had their house boat which was pretty good but be prepared to get stuck into a same place for the full night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review regarding Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had a lovely time here in our Resort. Let me thank you for staying with us as well as for your review. We look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

In the midst of a long journey on the hectic roads of Southern India, a night on the quiet waterways out of Alleppy was a most welcome change. We were the only passengers on board, along with three wonderful crew. Our A/C room (with en suit) on board was very comfortable, the fresh flower arrangement on the bed beautiful, all three meals were delicious and the slow pace of the journey was perfect. It was a great reviver after 23 days on the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toppies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about us on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your backwater trip in our houseboat. let me thank you for staying with us . we look forward to welcome you back again to our resort and house boats during your next trip.

Regards,

Varghese.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We slept there for just 2 nights after a long trip from Mumbai, lasted 1 week. The travel agency booked for us so I don't know how much it cost, but the experience was priceless. The room was speechless, so the general atmosphere and the food as well. I think I've never been in such a place

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding Punnamada Resort. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us . let me thank you for staying with us . We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnmada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
805 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 70 in Alappuzha
666 reviews
7.3 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
391 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £99 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing