We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lake Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arrived with no reservation, shown rooms available, given great rates. Room was clean and overlooking the lake. Bathroom has open roofing. Air conditioning, quiet in room and on grounds. Did not use the pool, did get massages which were wonderful. Spent 1 night on House boat. I would not do houseboat again, smelled old and could hear an animal chewing all night on outside of boat, was clean though and staff on boat was wonderful. Good food offered on boat and at resort. Included canal cruise which was also wonderful. Cruises along lake are not to be missed.

Room Tip: Any lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . we are happy to note that you enjoyed your holidays with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. it has been our vision that our guest deserve the best. Your reviews and feedbacks will be used as our guidelines for this vision of becoming truly a world class resort by choice .

we are committed to our values and ethics while delivering more than what we promised . we always look forward to welcome you again and again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    241
    64
    14
    17
See reviews for
256
334
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a room overlooking the lake.

The bathroom was partially outdoors, which proved challenging with the mozzies - perhaps look to have one with an indoor bathroom.

Otherwise the room was clean and wall appointed, the food was reasonably priced and tasty and the treatments were out of this world - worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welove2travel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding Punnamada Resort . We are happy to note that you had a great time here with us. let me thank you for staying with us a aswellas for your great review. We look forward for your next visit. Please feel free to get in touch with us for any assistance you m ay require in future.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is our first stay in a resort in kerala and it was amazing. We opted for a pool side villa and the stay was just breathtaking. The views of the Vembanand lake and the sunrise were a treat that can't be described in words.

The staff were pretty attentive and always greeted us with a smile. Their presence and their work ethic made the stay even more special. The restaurant food was descent and the food presentation is pretty impressive.

The evenings and early mornings spent by the lake were pretty scenic and memorable. There of course was one instance when the person staying in the adjacent villa decided to take a leak in the lake. That's when it stuck me that I am in india. It might be his weird fantasy to take a leak in such a scenic place, I didn't bother to ask. But then again, this is india.. Here you can't really separate the beauty from the beast

To sum up, this place is a must stay. We didn't regret our stay here even for a moment. Opt for a lake view villa if you like staying by water bodies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaluGudimetla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding Punnamada Resort . We are happy to note that you had a great time here with us. let me thank you for staying with us a aswellas for your great review. We look forward for your next visit. Please feel free to get in touch with us for any assistance you m ay require in future.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a good resort on the banks of Lake vembanad. We all enjoyed our stay over there.

Positives: Good Ambiance with various amenities.
Staffs: very helpful and cordial
Rooms are good with semi open sky bath room

Negatives;
Food tastes to be improved.

Overall a good experience,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csunils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding Punnamada Resort . We are happy to note that you had a great time here with us. let me thank you for staying with us a aswellas for your great review. We look forward for your next visit. Please feel free to get in touch with us for any assistance you m ay require in future.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Good resort.
We faced a bit problem during checkin. The 2 rooms booked were not allotted next to each Other.
Had to be after them for the same. But they managed to finally arrange the same.
The rooms are of heritage type.
Quiet dated. Needs polishing. Tiles are faded.

Insect like lizard and crickets found in room.

The resort having many activities included in the package. Like Shikara ride for 1 hr. Also Toddy collection demo. Mohiniattam for 30 mins.
Food is good. Only A La Carte. No buffet dinner here. Rates are affordable. Slow service.

They Have a pool here . An excellent view of the lake attached to the hotel. You can spend some good time sitting in from of the pool. Better to book a Pool facing room than a garden facing one. This way you can enjoy a good access to the view of the lake.

The breakfast spread is good though not luxurious. The staff are good and cooperative.
Its a premium stay here.
We stayed for a night here. I believe that we should stay for at least for 2 days or more here.
Very relaxing and good town.
Enjoy the Shikara rides here.

Room Tip: Choose the Lake Facing Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShashikantIyengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review regarding Punnamada Resort . we are happy to note that you had a wonderful time here. let me thank you for staying with and for your review. your constructive feedbacks are well taken and we are already on the job for rectifying it. we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was probably the most disappointing of all our stays in Kerala. Having said that it was not bad, just not great in comparison. It was not helped that we arrived after a 4 hour car journey to an unpleasant check in process that took an hour to complete. We had booked two rooms separately and they insisted we only had booked one. They were quite awkward and unhelpful at first. We produced the paperwork which even showed we had prepaid the two rooms, and after a number of phone calls were told that they would sort something out. They made it sound that the place was full, but later we found it was pretty empty. No manager was available. We were then told we would have to share a room that night. One hour later and not having been offered a drink etc we eventually got in to the one room. Some 2 hours later we were told they had cleaned another room and so our friend was moved. It was a slightly better room than booked but was on 2 levels which was not great; We had a lake view room which we had booked and the one next door was empty. During the rest of our 3 night stay no effort was made by any of the management team to come and apologise or offer a bottle of wine or something. The whole resort has seen better days; loose tiles around the pool ; no chairs on the patios outside the rooms; we asked for some and none ever came so we took some from the snooker room. The food was good at dinner; breakfast was fairly basic. The restaurant staff were lovely; the best people in the place. The spa was good; massage excellent; although again we booked for a second time and on arrival my other half was told he would have to wait 10 mins and this turned out to be 80 minutes of wait for a pre-booked appointment. The lake and setting is lovely. Only 8 chairs around the pool and the pool toilet was not working. The whole place is overdue for a good revamp ; it must have been lovely once. It was more expensive than our room at the Taj Vivanta in the middle of Mumbai ; so is mot great value. They really need to sort out the management

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. at the outset let me apologise for the inconvenience caused during check-in and after. let me not give you a big story and excuses . but you may have the great level of patience to hear our side of the story. when you arrived we were fully booked and we had only one reservation from the booking agent . however we agree that it took couple of phone calls to sort out the issue and we offered the room . later when we got another room vacant due to early checkout we managed to give you the room immediately and the same was communicated to you. Our front office manager came and checked with you in the next morning and apologised for the inconvenience. However we are sorry for the whole episode and we realise that we could have managed the same better. My personal apology for the same and we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada . As you pointed out we are already taken steps to rectify the lapses in our resort. My personal guarantee that you will experience a totally different Punnamada Resort during your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We chose to stay at Punnamada Resort for our first night upon arrival to Kerala - part of a 4 day weekend. We had also booked a boathouse with them for the next night. The resort was a quiet retreat on the banks of the lake. Staff were quietly attentive and keen to be of service. The food was good and as the humidity was very high, we welcomed the AC in the restaurant and the rooms. The room had everything we needed and the outdoor bathroom was an unexpected treat, although one is always a little worried about mosquitoes in these parts. The beds were a bit hard, as they are in many parts of Asia.

The resort and boat trip provided little else than relaxation. The quality was good and typical for many places of this type across Asia. Clean and welcoming, not 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonicBomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review regarding Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are extremely happy to n ote that you had a quality holiday with us . your kind words and constructive feedbacks are taken in its letter and spirit. we strongly believe our satisfied customers are our better sales force. Let me thank you for staying with us and for your gesture to share your views about us on Tripadvisor. we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
19.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.6 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
9.1 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
14.9 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Property: Punnamada Resort
Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Business Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing