We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't step in the same backwater twice”
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You can't step in the same backwater twice”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed on the houseboat offered by the Punnamada Resort about two years ago, and it was a wonderful experience. So when we decided to come back to Kerala, one of our first choices was to revisit the houseboats.

Sadly things had changed. The houseboat we were on last time was being refurbished, so we were on the sister vessel. As it eventuated it needed refurbishing as well. As well, last time we cruised all day then tied up on one of the canals overnight then cruised some more in the morning before returning to the resort. This time we returned to the resort in time for dinner, remained tied up there overnight, and went for another short cruise in the morning. While the houseboat staff were very attentive, the meals there were not very inspired, so we had dinner and breakfast in the resort's restaurant. It was very quiet there as there was only one other couple dining at the same time.

Overall, if we had not been there before we probably would have enjoyed the experience much more, as it was things had changed too much for us, and we came away somewhat disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friday_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review on tripadvisor regarding Punnamada House boat Experiences. let me thank you for patronising us the second time . we also noted your feedbacks for improvement. we give this option of docking near the resort to the guest due to couple of reasons. 1) once the cruise is over, there is hardly any activities available in the backwaters whereas when you are near the resort , you can avail resort facilities if you wish. it is an added facility we give to our guests . if they wish to continue and have food at the house boat it is always an option for the guest to choose over. secondly it is convenient incase there is an emergency for us to attend effectively. let me reassure you that there is nothing short of services and facilities we offer in both the cases. However, we take this feedback in its letter and spirits . Thank you for sharing your views with all of us . Looking forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort and house boats

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    255
    64
    14
    18
See reviews for
271
342
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Punnamada Resort has excellent location & provides quite, peaceful stay. Room was spacious but with open Bathroom! Excellent wooden furniture with very attractive room's door & door handle!
Food was good but no buffet breakfast!

Room Tip: If possible, try to get the sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NayanYagnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . we are happy to note that you enjoyed your holidays with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. it has been our vision that our guest deserve the best. Your reviews and feedbacks will be used as our guidelines for this vision of becoming truly a world class resort by choice .

we are committed to our values and ethics while delivering more than what we promised . we always look forward to welcome you again and again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

we booked this resort trough Trisha holidays,and it was one of the excellent resort,friendly staff,amazing food,cozy rooms to stay,clean swimming pool,by the lake.what more do one expect.the spa was also very good and relaxing.

the most important thing i would like to mention,i was travelling with a 9 month old baby,and it was very child friendly.the chef prepared food as per requirement.it made my day.

Room Tip: all the rooms at good in their own way,but the best one is rooms by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . we are happy to note that you enjoyed your holidays with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. it has been our vision that our guest deserve the best. Your reviews and feedbacks will be used as our guidelines for this vision of becoming truly a world class resort by choice .

we are committed to our values and ethics while delivering more than what we promised . we always look forward to welcome you again and again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arrived with no reservation, shown rooms available, given great rates. Room was clean and overlooking the lake. Bathroom has open roofing. Air conditioning, quiet in room and on grounds. Did not use the pool, did get massages which were wonderful. Spent 1 night on House boat. I would not do houseboat again, smelled old and could hear an animal chewing all night on outside of boat, was clean though and staff on boat was wonderful. Good food offered on boat and at resort. Included canal cruise which was also wonderful. Cruises along lake are not to be missed.

Room Tip: Any lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . we are happy to note that you enjoyed your holidays with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. it has been our vision that our guest deserve the best. Your reviews and feedbacks will be used as our guidelines for this vision of becoming truly a world class resort by choice .

we are committed to our values and ethics while delivering more than what we promised . we always look forward to welcome you again and again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a room overlooking the lake.

The bathroom was partially outdoors, which proved challenging with the mozzies - perhaps look to have one with an indoor bathroom.

Otherwise the room was clean and wall appointed, the food was reasonably priced and tasty and the treatments were out of this world - worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welove2travel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding Punnamada Resort . We are happy to note that you had a great time here with us. let me thank you for staying with us a aswellas for your great review. We look forward for your next visit. Please feel free to get in touch with us for any assistance you m ay require in future.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is our first stay in a resort in kerala and it was amazing. We opted for a pool side villa and the stay was just breathtaking. The views of the Vembanand lake and the sunrise were a treat that can't be described in words.

The staff were pretty attentive and always greeted us with a smile. Their presence and their work ethic made the stay even more special. The restaurant food was descent and the food presentation is pretty impressive.

The evenings and early mornings spent by the lake were pretty scenic and memorable. There of course was one instance when the person staying in the adjacent villa decided to take a leak in the lake. That's when it stuck me that I am in india. It might be his weird fantasy to take a leak in such a scenic place, I didn't bother to ask. But then again, this is india.. Here you can't really separate the beauty from the beast

To sum up, this place is a must stay. We didn't regret our stay here even for a moment. Opt for a lake view villa if you like staying by water bodies.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaluGudimetla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding Punnamada Resort . We are happy to note that you had a great time here with us. let me thank you for staying with us a aswellas for your great review. We look forward for your next visit. Please feel free to get in touch with us for any assistance you m ay require in future.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a good resort on the banks of Lake vembanad. We all enjoyed our stay over there.

Positives: Good Ambiance with various amenities.
Staffs: very helpful and cordial
Rooms are good with semi open sky bath room

Negatives;
Food tastes to be improved.

Overall a good experience,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csunils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor regarding Punnamada Resort . We are happy to note that you had a great time here with us. let me thank you for staying with us a aswellas for your great review. We look forward for your next visit. Please feel free to get in touch with us for any assistance you m ay require in future.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
19.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
701 reviews
8.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Property: Punnamada Resort
Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing