We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolute relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family stayed at Punnamada for three nights. The accommodations were lovely, the service was outstanding and sitting by the lake to watch the houseboats cruise by was just about the perfect way to spending an afternoon. All of our meals from the restaurant were very good. Our only complaint was the occasionally spotty wifi. Otherwise, Punnamada was a delight!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JamesEVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Resort ! we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful holiday with us . your kind words will go a long way in delivering world class hospitality products and services to our guests . let me thank you for such lovely review . this will not only motivate us but our future guests also to stay here . let me thank you for staying with us and for your time do a lovely review .

we look forward to welcome you again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    238
    64
    14
    17
See reviews for
255
330
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nestled snugly beside the Vembanad, a vast expanse of water that is 96 kilometres long and 14 kilometres wide, are a handful of traditionally designed structures that make up the Punnamada Resort. Having spent the best part of my life in Kerala, I expected to be immune to all that is deemed alluringly rustic, but just how wrong was I! What makes the villas enormously appealing is the air of old-world charm that envelops them; be it the earthen lampshades, the brass bell that so efficiently does the job of a doorbell, the wooden door latches or the ethnic furniture. If you forget to pull up the blinds, you might just about manage to sleep through an entire day - such is the tranquility of the place.

Lying in one of the hammocks adjacent to the Lakeview villas, you may choose to read a novel or just watch the world go by - surprisingly, traffic on the waterway can get just as dense as that on a highway, albeit pollution-free and amusing, largely due to the houseboats that come in all shapes and sizes. In fact, my jaw dropped when I saw a monstrous one majestically glide past, complete with a conference hall that can easily hold a hundred odd people. And some of these slow-moving barges are fitted with a satellite dish, so don't pass on the opportunity to travel on one for not wanting to miss out on an episode of your favourite daily soap. The resort has a couple of houseboats moored just off the property. Alternatively, you could get a therapeutic massage, ride a bicycle through the village, play badminton, hit the swimming pool, row a boat or fall into a peaceful slumber; you're spoilt for choice once you're there.

What makes your stay that wee bit more special is the staff. The management have hired a wonderful set of people as restaurant staff. They are attentive, accommodating, efficient, but most importantly, unobtrusive. In this age of 'in-your-face fake niceness', it's a relief to be surrounded by people who never overdo the customer service bit.

To cut a long story short, if you have a thing about idyllic surroundings, top-notch service and quaint villas, look no further than the Punnamada Resort. And you can thank me later!

Room Tip: Lakeview villas are the best because they give you unparalleled view of the Vembanad Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiechamp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . We are extremely happy to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us . your kind words will go a long way in our journey to become one of the world class resort by choice of our guests . we look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As mentioned in my title i have no words to explain the way we have been given treatment, We were six couple with 10 Kids :) out of which 3 are below 2 years and when we reached just on a small request require food got prepared by the team. I am highlighting points for the resort which i am sure will be useful to all the visitor.
1) Reception staff welcomes you with whole heart and also explain our package in detail.
2) SPA facility is must to enjoy there.
3) We enjoyed swimming pool there with entire family.
4) Backwater ride was very memorable.
5) Evening tea was excellent.
6) Rooms are so beautiful that you would not want to come out of the room.
7) Royal Bathroom.
8) Cycle ride was too good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . We are extremely happy to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us . your kind words will go a long way in our journey to become one of the world class resort by choice of our guests . we look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This wonderful resort exceeded all our expectations. Everything was perfect. We loved the amazing duplex villa which was wonderful furnished and had a great view over the pool. The open air bathroom was another highlight.
The whole resort is very nice, built in a traditional style with lots of wood and water.
Starting the day with a Yoga Lesson was just perfect. I did this every morning.
Spending the teatime at the waterfront, watching the houseboats on the lake and enjoying snacks and tea was totally relaxing. Afterwards a free boat ride to see the sunset was offered by the resort.
Food and hospitality in the restaurant was also great. All in all our stay could not have been better!
Finaly I want to add that the houseboat trip, organized by the resort was one of the best experiences we had in Kerala. The staff did its very best to make this an unique and wonderful experience for us. And indeed thats what it was!

Room Tip: Duplex Villas are perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . We are extremely happy to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us . your kind words will go a long way in our journey to become one of the world class resort by choice of our guests . we look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at this resort during a 3 day trip to Kerala (Munnar - Alleppey - Kochi).

This resort is a place where travelers can re-energize! Arriving totally exhausted the wonderful location of the resort, the extraordinary Ayurvedic treatments, free evening boat ride as well as complementary welcome drink an snack, a free 1.5h yoga session in the morning and the attentive staff managed a total turnaround. When leaving I felt wonderful.

The rooms are all in old Kerala style an have open air bathrooms. They are very clean and I could spot not a single Miskito or other insect in my room.
Rooms where spacious and were equipped with all necessary amenities.

I personally liked the fact that the hotel reduced waste by providing filtered water in glass bottles.

The restaurant provided excellent food without long serving times and staff was at all times attentive and helpful.

The premises were well maintained and the pool was clean (fresh and clean towels were provided).

What should be mentioned to the end is that I was here during off season. As such there were only 10 guests staying here.
But nevertheless all dishes were available and yoga classes were hosted (I could enjoy 1:1 teaching).

I would recommend this resort and come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rikekike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . We are extremely happy to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us . your kind words will go a long way in our journey to become one of the world class resort by choice of our guests . we look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Punnamada resort a very friendly and stunning place to get rejuvenated and feel relaxed.The resort is very well maintained ,the staff and management shows their best quality of service and provide anything possible to make your stay the happiest and the most memorable one..

The food they provide is outstanding and unique...Chef Mr.Praveen personally comes to you for the review and welcomes your suggestions full hearted. The dinner which was served to us by the Lake side was really enjoyable.The effort taken by the service team is highly appreciated.

The rooms are very specious and clean.The spa is also the same.The sun set cruise is another activity which you will love to bits.The speed boat drive was really thrilling.. All in all a highly recommended place for every one who is looking for a change..

.Be the next one and enjoy the luxury unlimited...

Room Tip: Take the Lake facing rooms .......Ask for Special dinner by the Lake side outside your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pramod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor regarding your experiences at Punnamada Resort . We are extremely happy to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us . your kind words will go a long way in our journey to become one of the world class resort by choice of our guests . we look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went for a business meeting and stayed at this property. We had booked 19 rooms. We did an early check-in. The staff had been extremely helpful and had gone out of the way in every aspect. Great hospitality, great service. The cottages are fantastic. The ones which are facing the lake have a great view. In terms of breakfast, we specifically wanted local cuisine. While they don't have a widespread arrangement, but the buffet breakfast is still great with live counters of eggs and dosas. The local cuisine like puttu etc. was fantastic. For lunch and dinner, the buffet was a good widespread with lots of options. For people, who are non-vegetarians, local fish fry (Karimeen fish fry) is a must try option. Hygenic & healthy diet. This resort is on the banks of the backwater. We had a fantastic day outing in an exclusive houseboat in the backwaters. The food in the houseboat was also hygenic.

Room Tip: The cottages facing the lake have a great view from inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_rishikesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review in TripAdvisor regarding Punnamada Resort . we are overwhelmed to note that you had a lovely holiday with us . it is our moto that our guest deserve the nothing less than best. your kind words will go a long way towards our journey to becom,e the world class Resort by choice . let me thank you for staying with us as well as for your kind gesture. we look forward to welcome you to Punnamada Resort again and again.

Regards,

Varghese.KE
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
19.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.6 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
5.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
9.1 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
14.9 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Property: Punnamada Resort
Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Business Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing