We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Customer delighted service”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Genesis Houseboats

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HemalD37
1 review
“Customer delighted service”
Reviewed 25 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Warm welcome by the whole crew. Food was good and cook's nature was also very good (MOHANDAS)and was very informative.The boat's captain was also of helping nature. In short, service was very excellent.
The Owner of houseboat was also very good person.
The houseboat was clean and well furnished like our home.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2017
Dear Hemal,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.

We are so glad to hear that you had a great time with us.. it's our duty to provide you delighted services.
Thank you very much for being with us ..

We are looking forward to have your next visit to us...

Thank you...
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise7...
1 review
“Very relaxing, comfortable, good food and good view”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It was a very nice experience!! We felt so comfortable and the crew took good care of us. The boat was clean (except of the 3 cockroaches in the bathroom) and the food was delicious. In sum, it was really relaxing and we would recomend it to everybody, who wants to see the backwaters.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Hi ,
Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you very much for your Stay with us and your rating.
Thank you for giving a corrective measure as well. We will take action so that no one could have that issue .

We are looking forward to see you again ..

Thank you very Much
Regard
Genesis management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priyanka...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a very good stay at genesis. Mr Joseph and his team took good care of us. Very nicely maintained houseboat. Clean cosy. The staff is very friendly.. only improvement suggested is to provide evening snack along with the tea they serve.
Otherwise very courteous staff..catering to all our needs and requests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Dear Priyanka,
Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you very much for your stay with us and your review as well.. we are pleased to know you happy and had a great stay with us.

We do provide snacks and tea in the evening, but we are taking your suggestions to make them more effective...

Thanking you very much and looking forward to have your next trip with us soon ....

Regards
Genesis Houseboats Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camron S
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with Genesis houseboats in March 2017. The owner and team were all very welcoming and helpful.

The food served was the nicest we tasted during our trip to India, freshly prepared by the onboard chef. We stopped off at a fish market stool to buy our fresh fish for dinner. The team provided an excellent service throughout the trip, going above and beyond to make sure everyone was happy. The captain pointed out different sights along the backwaters and insight into the daily life of the locals.

The bedrooms were clean and comfy, equipped with aircon and fan. The boat even had wifi onboard!

Before our trip, the owner was very quick to respond to any questions we had, and even arranged a taxi for our onward journey.

I highly recommend booking your holiday with Genesis Houseboats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Dear Camron,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats..

We are glad to hear you had an excellent stay with us.. it's out responsibility to serve our guest in the way you would like to be..

It's our pleasure to have you onboard with us.Thank you for choosing us. And thanks for your reviews too.
We are looking forward to have you again with us on your next arrival to India..

Thanks and regards.
Management
Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha2204
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We did a lot of research before planning our trip to Kerala and going on a houseboat in Alleppey seemed like a must do thing. It truly was and I would recommend this to any traveler, make sure you leave some time for this! Watching local life and roaming around the villages along the backwaters is a once in a lifetime experience. The backwaters are surprisingly not that crowded as I had read and the journey through them is so peaceful.

Genesis is a very reasonably priced houseboat company, we did a little shopping around ans unless you have time to go early to where the boats are docked and negotiate the price, I would advise booking in advance.

Mr. Joseph, the owner was very organised, provided us with a wifi egg for on board and explained that the boat would dock near his house in case we had any issues. We did not!

Joseph, the chef on board was so welcoming and made AMAZING food. Our dinners included Keralan fish fry, daal, curry, rice and chapati. They will contact you beforehand to check whether you have any dietary requirements. We didn't have meat as my friend doesn't eat it. We even had lovely Indian tea and banana fritters as snacks. You will not go hungry! If you do want a bottle of wine with dinner, suggest you find a liquor store in advance as they are hard to find.

The houseboat itself had furniture that was a little outdated yet very comfortable and most importantly clean. Do not expect there to be a steady flow of water in tje shower, be prepared for cold water and a bucket bath. Fine with me as I am used to travelling in India but this isnt for everyone. Same with the toilet, there was no water in the cistern in the morning.

After the gorgeous sunset, we were allowed to disembark and explore the local village which was an incredible experience. Joseoh will ask you when you would like to take your meals, so the itinerary is set to your needs. He also stayed on the boat with us during the night in case we needed anything.

One thing I should mention is the amount of insects that are attracted to the boats lights and heat at night. The crew will put netting around the boat but this is not a huge deterrant. I asked for the ac to be switched on in the room so they could hopefully go away, this is available only at a certain time, which was fine for us. We only used the bedroom to sleep. This seemed to have worked as we got a good nights sleep in the room with few insects. Of course, this is nothing that the crew can prevent but something to be aware of.
Overall, I would highly recommend Genesis. Mr. Joseph even organised a rickshaw for us the next day to take us to Marari beach. The crew were so attentive and accommodating, we felt like a king and queen. The service was truly outstanding and we left thinking we should have stayed longer. Alas, next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Dear Nisha,
Greetings from Genesis houseboats.

Thank you for your stay with us and for your review with valuable feedback.

We are glad that you had found us after your researches and we were able to meet your expectations and requirements for the say with us ..

We are trying hard each day for making our guest a happy and comfortable stay with us..

We are also expecting and waiting for your next arrival and stay with us..

Warm regards
Manager
Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmith...
Clarendon, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for 2 nights, initially had a number of issues with their paypal account. Numerous emails exchanged before our arrival (big concerns that we would never actually turn up). Of course we did...had to use laptop within 5 minutes or boarding to make the full payment prior to any departure. First impressions we're poor...none of the beds were made up (no sheets etc). The vessel is in need of maintenance...tiles missing in bathrooms and sink almost falling off wall. The carpets also thread bare. We also had issues with the vessels steering system, of course things breakdown but felt these issues could have been sorted well before our arrival! Staff we're generally helpful however there was a severe lack of commincation from them all. We never knew what was going on...we just had to guess what was coming up next...Food was ok...the cook no doubt doing his best but we felt all the food (lunch and dinners) all tasted the same. Overall the experience was fantastic on the river but with very little additional effort by the crew/owner...it could have been a 5 star review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Dear Paul,

Thanks for the Cruise with us and Review....

Let me tell you that PayPal is not that much used over India as its used over other countries. Hence we do have limitations over PayPal. Even we have the problems with multi currencies which made the links sent to you not working .
The Problems with the tiles are happened due to normal vibrations from the engine, The tiles and sinks are fixed.. Also steering wheel had a technical issue which is also resolved...

Sorry for the inconvenience caused for you..

We are doing our best to make things well in track...

Thanking you for your Cruise with Genesis Houseboats.We are expecting you with us on your next trip...

Thanks and Regards
Management
Genesis Houseboats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraneshS6
1 review
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 26 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We Family of five spent a night in Genesis houseboat, it was a great experience and most relaxing trip we ever had. Thanks to the crew members they were very cooperative and nicely looked after us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
"Dear Pranesh,
Thank you for your review. We are gld to hear that you had great stay with us..It's our Plesasure to serve you in the best way you like.
Hopping you wil come again..
Thanks
Genesis Houseboats"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing