We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family 3 night stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Genesis Houseboats

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
geoffrey...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kerala boat trip.”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a 3 night trip on the boat over new year with 3 friends. On arrival we found the boat to be quite old and needing a great deal of updating, especially the bathrooms. Ours was dirty and constantly leaking pipes meant to had a puddle on the floor for the intire trip. Bathroom tiles broken in places and in a poor state. The crews galley was probably in the worst state and very dirty. If it had been inspected by the uk food hygiene authorities it would have been shut down. It need to be stripped out and rebuilt. I have to say though nobody was ill during the 3 days but feel this was probably more luck than judgement. The only good thing about this trip was the crew, they tried hard to keep us happy and if asked always did there best to accomadate. All 4 of us were terrible disappointed with the boat trip not only because of the boat but also the terrible state of the lakes and back waters. They are so polluted with so much rubbish everywhere both in the water and river banks it was hard to concentrate on anything else. The Indian authorities and local people should feel ashamed of themselves for allowing such a national treasure to fall into such a state.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Dear Geoffrey,
Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you for you rating and stay with us.

We are sorry for you had an unpleasant experience. But also surprised to see your review with the one from your co traveller who say he feels much better.
We are trying hard to get better and good service to our guest.
Sorry for you are not happy.
Being you had 3 days on boat i feel like it may made you bit hesitating as well. You are your first guest who came for 3 nights booking. We assure you that we will keet things updated to make our guest the best experience.
Thank you for making us growing better with suggestions.

Thank you very much for your understanding.
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NO_HS2
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family 3 night stay ”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Excellent contact from booking to boarding house boat. Arranged pick up away from usual congested Appelley boat yard. Nice touch. Very warm welcome from crew which continued to grow throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Our route the first two days took us a long the quieter canals. Seeing many sites and friendly locals. Celebrated New Year’s Eve on boat with crew who again couldn’t have done enough.
Food excellent and plentiful. Tea and coffee only had to ask.
The boat is a little tired. Mattress hard. The wash rooms remind me of a hostel.
Not one mosquito bite as crew ensure nets are down before sunset. We did wear repellent.
A very memorable trip and glad we had 3 nights. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Hi,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you for your review and glad you had a good stay with us .
Sorry for inconvenience. We are trying our level best serve you in a better way.

Thank you very much for your understanding.

Regards
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDRANIL...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

I along with my family had booked the houseboat on the Christmas Day.Right from boarding to the end of the trip we had a great experience.All the rooms were extremely clean and well decked up.The staff especially Mr.Mohandas was extremely courteous and helpful.All the meals were very sumptious and at the night the fireworks post dinner was like a cherry on top.Thanks Mr Joseph and Mr Kevin for gifting us with this memorable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Dear Indranil,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.

Thank you so much for your rating and reviews.

Being a Valued guest we are so glad that you had joined us on the Christmas Day and had a great stay with us....

It's our pleasure to have you and your family with us ... Thank you for being the a part of Genesis family.

Looking forward for your next arrival.
Regard
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemal D
1 review
“Customer delighted service”
Reviewed 25 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Warm welcome by the whole crew. Food was good and cook's nature was also very good (MOHANDAS)and was very informative.The boat's captain was also of helping nature. In short, service was very excellent.
The Owner of houseboat was also very good person.
The houseboat was clean and well furnished like our home.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2017
Dear Hemal,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.

We are so glad to hear that you had a great time with us.. it's our duty to provide you delighted services.
Thank you very much for being with us ..

We are looking forward to have your next visit to us...

Thank you...
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very relaxing, comfortable, good food and good view”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It was a very nice experience!! We felt so comfortable and the crew took good care of us. The boat was clean (except of the 3 cockroaches in the bathroom) and the food was delicious. In sum, it was really relaxing and we would recomend it to everybody, who wants to see the backwaters.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Hi ,
Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you very much for your Stay with us and your rating.
Thank you for giving a corrective measure as well. We will take action so that no one could have that issue .

We are looking forward to see you again ..

Thank you very Much
Regard
Genesis management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priyanka...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a very good stay at genesis. Mr Joseph and his team took good care of us. Very nicely maintained houseboat. Clean cosy. The staff is very friendly.. only improvement suggested is to provide evening snack along with the tea they serve.
Otherwise very courteous staff..catering to all our needs and requests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Dear Priyanka,
Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you very much for your stay with us and your review as well.. we are pleased to know you happy and had a great stay with us.

We do provide snacks and tea in the evening, but we are taking your suggestions to make them more effective...

Thanking you very much and looking forward to have your next trip with us soon ....

Regards
Genesis Houseboats Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camron S
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with Genesis houseboats in March 2017. The owner and team were all very welcoming and helpful.

The food served was the nicest we tasted during our trip to India, freshly prepared by the onboard chef. We stopped off at a fish market stool to buy our fresh fish for dinner. The team provided an excellent service throughout the trip, going above and beyond to make sure everyone was happy. The captain pointed out different sights along the backwaters and insight into the daily life of the locals.

The bedrooms were clean and comfy, equipped with aircon and fan. The boat even had wifi onboard!

Before our trip, the owner was very quick to respond to any questions we had, and even arranged a taxi for our onward journey.

I highly recommend booking your holiday with Genesis Houseboats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Dear Camron,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats..

We are glad to hear you had an excellent stay with us.. it's out responsibility to serve our guest in the way you would like to be..

It's our pleasure to have you onboard with us.Thank you for choosing us. And thanks for your reviews too.
We are looking forward to have you again with us on your next arrival to India..

Thanks and regards.
Management
Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;