We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Must visit. Awesome Experience. Good coordination”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Genesis Houseboats

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ravik4000
1 review
“Must visit. Awesome Experience. Good coordination”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a single night stay. it was so nice to be with them. The crew is excellent. very helpful. The booking channel is so nice. very simple web booking system in their website. gets the confirmation via email immediately. Mr. Kevin made a call for the confirmation as well. Had a very good coordination for the entire management. the boat is well maintained. food is so nice. hospitality is so also so nice. over all Genesis houseboats had given an excellence trip for me.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
Hi Ravi,
Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.

Thank you very much for your review and stay with us.

We are glad tho know you had a good stay with us.
It's our pleasure to have the best to you in the way you would like to be.
Thank you very much
Looking forward for your next stay with us .

Kevin Jose
For Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalayFiro...
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Confused about which houseboat company to choose? Go with this one! Read our detailed review to find out why.”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
4
people found this review helpful

We knew we wanted to stay in one of Kerala's famous houseboats, but choosing the right one was more difficult than we thought. There are so many players, both big and small, offering very similar amenities for widely different prices, that we were confused. On top of that, many of them cannot be booked directly online, and need to be contacted directly for price quotes. We looked up reviews of the biggest companies, and found that although they had the most reviews, several recent reviewers had had negative experiences with them. On top of that, when we called them for details, they just asked us to email them instead and gave us price quotes via email.

That's when we came across Genesis Houseboats. As a smaller company with only two houseboats, it didn't have a lot of reviews, but the reviews it did have were all positive. The website was also well-designed, and offered an online payment portal (including PayPal as an option), which felt more secure than simply transferring money to a company bank account as the bigger companies wanted. I gave them a call, and spoke to Kevin, who was extremely helpful and polite. He answered all our questions patiently, and helped us choose which trip would best suit our needs. We made the payment online, received an electronic confirmation number via email, and Kevin called us back to make sure we'd received it.

Closer to trip, Joseph, the other manager at Genesis Houseboats, called us to check our dietary restrictions, the meals we'd prefer on the houseboat, and directions to their boat dock. Since we were driving there ourselves, he also sent the location on WhatsApp, which was really useful for navigation. Once we got to the boat and started our trip, we had the pleasure to meet the captain of the boat and Mohandas, the cook. Mohandas was a really warm, friendly and charming person. He talked to us about surrounding areas, made sure our every need was well taken care of, and also gave us our privacy when we needed it to enjoy the cruise.

Mohandas is also an excellent cook, and at his recommendation, we bought some local prawns and blackfish from a fishmonger and he cooked them for us to perfection. We also took his advice and went on a short canoe ride into the small backwater channels, which was truly spectacular. In addition to the ride, we also got a brief tour on foot of the paddy fields near the backwaters. The canoe ride is relatively expensive, at Rs. 600 for an hour, but the fee is paid directly to local boatmen from the surrounding villages, and we are grateful for their hospitality in letting us visit their neighbourhoods. At night, we docked at a nearby village, walked around near the river and enjoyed another sumptuous meal cooked by Mohandas.

The one-bedroom boat we took with Genesis Houseboats for Rs. 12,000 is relatively cheaper than comparable tours with similar amenities from some of the bigger companies. In addition, unlike some of the other boats we saw on the water, ours looked better maintained, and had an open front deck (rather than one sealed off with windows) which was far more enjoyable. The boat also ran very smoothly at the hands of our very capable captain, so the chances of getting seasick are very low for most people. Our room had all the amenities of a regular hotel, with a comfortable bed, side-tables, ample lighting and electrical outlets, plus a clean, full-sized bathroom with an attached shower! If one didn't look out the bedroom window, one could almost forget one is on a boat!

I mention all these details because it's the little touches, such as a well-designed online payment portal, helpful and communicative staff, well-prepared meals and clean rooms, that make all the difference between a good stay and an excellent one. We could not have asked for a better time on a Kerala houseboat, and would highly recommend Genesis Houseboats to anyone!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Dear MalayFiroz,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.

Thank you very much for the rating...
We are really surprised and would like to Appreciate the time and pain you spend to make this review for us...
We are so glad to get a very Valued guest like you... And also glad that you had a great experience for your stay with us...
On behalf for all from Genesis Houseboats Family i would like to express our Thanks to you..

THANK YOU VERY MUCH...

Looking forward for you next vist to us....
Thanks and Regards
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sameer N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

It was a beautiful experience staying on this houseboat. Chef Mohandas and the crew were great and very helpful from the time we boarded. An additional tour of backwater canal in a small canoe was beautiful. From booking to end everything was managed well. Mr Joseph took time out to get in touch the day before and to find out the dietary needs as well. As I had to check out early next morning, Mr Joseph even went out of the way and organized an early Check out with breakfast at 7.30am.

We had a great time on your houseboat. Thank You, Mr Joseph.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
741varuns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A must to go when in alleppey”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Absolutely loved the houseboat and the staff. It was a very nice experience,staying there and trying the local food .The services were just too good and the staff was really caring and welcoming . Also they served us with an amazing masala tea which is something you crave while you’re in South India.
It was a wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoffreyw...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kerala boat trip.”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a 3 night trip on the boat over new year with 3 friends. On arrival we found the boat to be quite old and needing a great deal of updating, especially the bathrooms. Ours was dirty and constantly leaking pipes meant to had a puddle on the floor for the intire trip. Bathroom tiles broken in places and in a poor state. The crews galley was probably in the worst state and very dirty. If it had been inspected by the uk food hygiene authorities it would have been shut down. It need to be stripped out and rebuilt. I have to say though nobody was ill during the 3 days but feel this was probably more luck than judgement. The only good thing about this trip was the crew, they tried hard to keep us happy and if asked always did there best to accomadate. All 4 of us were terrible disappointed with the boat trip not only because of the boat but also the terrible state of the lakes and back waters. They are so polluted with so much rubbish everywhere both in the water and river banks it was hard to concentrate on anything else. The Indian authorities and local people should feel ashamed of themselves for allowing such a national treasure to fall into such a state.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Dear Geoffrey,
Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you for you rating and stay with us.

We are sorry for you had an unpleasant experience. But also surprised to see your review with the one from your co traveller who say he feels much better.
We are trying hard to get better and good service to our guest.
Sorry for you are not happy.
Being you had 3 days on boat i feel like it may made you bit hesitating as well. You are your first guest who came for 3 nights booking. We assure you that we will keet things updated to make our guest the best experience.
Thank you for making us growing better with suggestions.

Thank you very much for your understanding.
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NO_HS2
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family 3 night stay ”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Excellent contact from booking to boarding house boat. Arranged pick up away from usual congested Appelley boat yard. Nice touch. Very warm welcome from crew which continued to grow throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Our route the first two days took us a long the quieter canals. Seeing many sites and friendly locals. Celebrated New Year’s Eve on boat with crew who again couldn’t have done enough.
Food excellent and plentiful. Tea and coffee only had to ask.
The boat is a little tired. Mattress hard. The wash rooms remind me of a hostel.
Not one mosquito bite as crew ensure nets are down before sunset. We did wear repellent.
A very memorable trip and glad we had 3 nights. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Hi,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.
Thank you for your review and glad you had a good stay with us .
Sorry for inconvenience. We are trying our level best serve you in a better way.

Thank you very much for your understanding.

Regards
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDRANIL...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

I along with my family had booked the houseboat on the Christmas Day.Right from boarding to the end of the trip we had a great experience.All the rooms were extremely clean and well decked up.The staff especially Mr.Mohandas was extremely courteous and helpful.All the meals were very sumptious and at the night the fireworks post dinner was like a cherry on top.Thanks Mr Joseph and Mr Kevin for gifting us with this memorable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Dear Indranil,

Greetings from Genesis Houseboats.

Thank you so much for your rating and reviews.

Being a Valued guest we are so glad that you had joined us on the Christmas Day and had a great stay with us....

It's our pleasure to have you and your family with us ... Thank you for being the a part of Genesis family.

Looking forward for your next arrival.
Regard
Kevin
For Genesis Houseboats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing