We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for the best views of the lake!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“for the best views of the lake!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

stayed there for 3 nights in October, with the monsoons just about receeding..had intermittent rains though..the hotel is located on the vembanad lake at a small village called muhamma, 20+kms short of alleppey..
its a small hotel..we were uupgraded to lake view rooms (deluxe) on the first floor..and the best part about the hotel is its infinity swimming pool at the edge of the lake and the lovely views of the lake from the hotel room..as if somebody has hung a live poster there..!
during our stay all the ground floor rooms were under renovation and the gym was closed down.
they have a small spa at the hotel, didnt look that inviting to try it..the restaurant serves great food..though its a bit pricey..we had a few meals there..the hotel's houseboat was also under renovation..but they have tied up with a local for a shikara ride on the lake at nearly 2-3 times the price for one from alleppey town itself..we took one from allepey for the backwater ride and trust me at less than half the rate, it was luxurious one as compared to the one offered by the hotel.
the hotel has a few (rickety!) cycles, i used them to ride around in the villages. Fishing at the fishing point didnt yield any results. they have movies at the reception which u can carry to ur room. No bar available, so carry your own liquour. the housekeeping staff was efficient, although overall the resort needs to be looked after better..may be after the ground flr rooms, they would take up the first floor.

overall it is the sort of place where u can swim a lot and spend ur time reading a book in one of the loungers by the pool, doing nothing - just RELAX!

Room Tip: lake view deluxe rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bijayanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We continuously refurbish and freshen up our hotels across India, depending on the wear and tear at each hotel as well as the local weather. Currently, our resort is undergoing annual maintenance and renovation so as to provide a more refreshing and comfortable stay to our guests. We are sorry some facilities were temporarily unavailable to you because of this during your stay. While our attempt was to provide an alternate to all the facilities a guest would typically require during his stay, we do hope we were able to look after you. Our renovation process is nearly complete now and we look forward to welcoming all our guests with a refreshingly new spirit.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Nishikant Asthana
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

14 cities. 24 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    334
    92
    47
    42
See reviews for
449
389
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with the rooms. Dull and unwelcoming. There is no bed headrest ... Just wall.
Bad experience at the Resturant ... Ordered a soup took 50 min and comes along with main course. It was raining when we were having dinner and water was inside the Resturant .
I will not recommend this hotel for business stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank KannanMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Room experience: we are sorry the ambience of your room did not meet your expectations. Our attempt at Lemon Tree is to ensure the hotel is fresh, clean and vibrant and we have laid down our processes accordingly. We have noted your observations and are assessing our present standards based on your feedback.

•Service at the restaurant: we apologize for the delay in service at the restaurant. We have re-briefed our staff to follow all predefined procedures at all times and meet Lemon Tree standards. We assure you of a better experience when you visit us next.

•Rainwater: we experienced heavy rains at the time of your visit, and some water did penetrate into the alfresco area and the restaurant. We tried to handle it. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Nishikant Asthana
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

14 cities. 24 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

When I was booking the hotel, I checked Trip Advisor for the reviews and was in two minds whether to go ahead with the booking or not. However, I went ahead with the booking and can only say that it proved to be the right decision. We reached earlier than the check in time of 2:00 PM, i.e. at 11:00 AM. After a bit of wait, we were given the room at 12:00 PM and that too an upgrade on our booking, i.e. a Lake view room with a stunning view of the infinity pool and the Vembanad Lake. The room was very spacious with nice wooden furniture with an old world charm, a very spacious bed and a separate bathroom area with a storage space. We did not find any cleanliness issues as mentioned by some other reviewers.

The resort has a decent collection of DVDs and two can be borrowed at a time. Cycling, fishing, boating etc. are the other activities provided by the resort. Some of the activities are free of cost and can be enjoyed by one and all.

Food at the Citrus Cafe was quite good, though a tad expensive. However the staff is very attentive and takes special care to provide the kind of food you would want. The views from the Cafe are stunning. The resort is very picturesque and has an old world charm to it. It is spread out over a large area. However, it is a haven in itself and there is nothing much to do outside the resort except if one wants to go for a houseboat rides on the backwaters for which Alleppey is famous.

Last but not the least, staff is very courteous and goes out of its way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have stunning views. Preferably the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AradhanaVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

First the location of the resort is excellent...specially the pool is very good.They are maintaining the pool like five stars do..but overall each corner of the resort requires face lift..rooms are large...but with some maintenance issues...overall the standard
of cleanliness is average..a lot can be improved.the food is good but the service is very slow...I stayed here in superior lake front rooms,enjoyed my stay...but noticed above issues...if the management doesn't resolve these...then the rating might tumble very fast...the resort was almost fully occupied as people kept coming...so money is not the issue but management's intent is.....they seem to postponing the face lift of the resort...hope they do it fast to survive in future...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaunash N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Hotel upkeep: our attempt at Lemon Tree is to ensure the hotel is fresh, crisp and clean and we have laid down our processes accordingly. We constantly monitor the wear and tear of our assets and are very prompt in addressing any maintenance issues. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time as we are currently undergoing renovation and upgradation. We do hope you have a better experience when you visit us next.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

14 cities. 24 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort is a good place to stay. One of the best resort, I have seen for Relaxing on the Lake side.The level of comfort provided by Resort is Quite Appreciable.

Food is Superb. I do not have words to Appreciate about the Quality of Food.

The Splendid View of Lake from my Room was very Sceneric, Rooms & Bathroom were Excellent & Spacious with a mesmerising View of Backwater on Two Side & Pool on One side. Sun Rise view from the room of Resort is very Attractive. We take steam Bath in Sauna Jacuzzi.

Resorts main Attraction is Infinity Pool with Infinite Sceneric Views. The Pool was very Neatly Maintained, Its really Superb....

The Resort staff was Extremely Courteous & helpful, Specially Rasual & Ritesh sir,

In View of My Splendid Stay, Comfort level, Sceneric Photos, Attractive Rising Sun, Best Quality Food, Excellent Service, Provided by Hotel Staff, Overall Awesome Experience... I have make my mind to Visit & stay again in this lake resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhirajMundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the staff service! Everyone was super nice and makes you feel really welcome. However a lack of ongoing management investment has led to several noticeable and frankly unacceptable hygiene issues -

Conference room where the games were stored was unwelcoming and had mice dropping on the window seal.

Pigeons and crows nesting in the building has resulted in noisy bird sounds, lots of bird droppings everywhere plus these birds drinking straight from the swimming pool.

A damp and mould problem - especially in the building where the kitchen and restaurant is.

Others things:

Each and every wall needs to be repainted and all woodwork needs to be treated and re vanished

The restaurant looks shabby and windows need cleaning. The food was expensive and not very tasty but being stuck on the resort there isn't alternative option.

The room was nice but there was a funny smell, narrowed it down to the very smelly curtains.

There are a few other issues and if you opt to stay here I'm sure you can spot them yourself. I honestly believe this resort was once beautiful and it so easily could be again. The setting on the lake is breathtaking and the staff service deserves top marks however we spent over £600 for four nights and I expected the basics to be the least of my worries.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhavna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes. Specifically:

•Hotel experience and upkeep: our attempt at Lemon Tree is to ensure the hotel is fresh, crisp and clean and we have laid down our processes accordingly. We constantly monitor the wear and tear of our assets and are very prompt in addressing any maintenance issues. We were facing some challenges last December and are sorry that we could not meet your expectations back then. Re the ambience and upkeep of the hotel, we are delighted to inform you that we have almost concluding our refurbishing and upgradation processes now and our hotel is ready to welcome guests with a new vigor. We assure you of a better experience when you visit us next.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.vlr@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Abhilash A Bhadran
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma-West of Kumarakom, Kerala

14 cities. 24 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a beautiful view from room of the lake and pool and great food in the Citrus Restaurant.
Our trip to Alleppey was initially to visit the bird sanctuary and take a boat trip on the lake. On our arrival at the Lemon Tree Resort, after a 6 hour drive from busy Kovalam, we were stunned at the beautiful view of the infinity swimming pool and the lake. The gardens are beautiful and very pleasant to just walk around. Our room overlooked both pool and lake and after a quick swim, we decided not to go out but to stay and enjoy the great pool and just relax as our next destination was a 5 to 6 hour drive to Thekkady. We were delighted with the Citrus Restaurant and were very well looked after by Tino and his team. Also you can loan DVDs from the reception area and just chill out in your room. Thank you Lemon Tree for making our two night stay very relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
14.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
11.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
5.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.6 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort

Property: Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Address: Janasakthi Road | Kayippuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, West of Kumarakom. Unwind at our upscale, full service moderately priced resort. Rediscover yourself at this visually stunning resort situated on the Western shore of Kumarakom, at the very edge of Vembanad Lake with a magnificent view of the calm backwaters. Located in Kayippuram, Alleppey, the resort is easily accessible from both Cochin and Kumarakom. Rejuvenate your spirit with spectacular close-up views of the lake from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma Hotel Alappuzha
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing