We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly Treatment”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We had to struggle a little bit before reaching this place. There are very few direction markers on the road. So when you plan to go here, better reach before 6PM or hire a cab. Once we reached there it took hardly any time to realize why this place is rated #1 on trip advisor.

The staff - To be frank, I had a bit of a bad experience on day-1 when I realized that as part of my package there are are some items in the food menu which cannot be ordered. So my advice would be discuss well on the package before you jump in. Apart from this, the staff were really kind and extremely focussed on the service. The staff on the houseboat, does a fabulous job delivering you quality food and still giving you your private space. Lemontree houseboat is luxurious with a built in jacuzzi on terrace (worth all the money you pay!!).

The resort is pretty small when you compare with any international resports. But when you get the same level of service, the size of the resort hardly mattered for me. The so called spa has only one massage room, so I would recommend this place for a spa enthusiasts at this point of time. Internet is as costly as room rent itself (Rs.200 per hour).

Overall a 5 star experience from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    338
    93
    48
    46
See reviews for
465
393
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Booked 3 nights with this hotel for my Honeymoon..2 Nights in a room, and 1 night in the cruising Villa. We were received by their cab driver at Cochin Airport ..and after around 75 minutes drive, we were at the resort. The cheque in was quick, and we were upgraded to a suite free of cost..Thanks lemontree!!

We were givena pool/lake facing room,,with a four poster bed with a very comfortable mattress !! Nice enough. This resort is a hidden gem,,a bit far away from the markets and crowd..but that is what makes it ideal for Honeymooners..

Coming to the food, the breakfast served at the cafe was awesome and offcourse was complimentary in our case. The maincourse menu, though a big one, had limited options for the North Indian food lovers. However, the cafe staff was very cooperative and they made every effort to satisfy our taste buds..

Coming to the cruising villa..on the third day of our stay, we checked into the cruising villa...one word again to describe this..Awesome. As our boat cruised the backwaters, we were mesmerised by the beauty of the vembanad lake..It rained that day..making the atmosphere very very romantic..the chef on board ,cooked Keralian food for our lunch..and we really liked the dishes, specially the chicken and the fish. We had food of our choice at dinner time.

Even tried fishing..and was successful in catching a couple of fishes :)

All in all, this resort is a must visit for Honeymooners who wish to have 5 star luxury at 4 star prices!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritesht81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

A really great place for a quiet vacation, away from it all; rooms are very good, views are superb (we got the only room on the second floor, which has a ship-like view from the windows on all three sides). Location is increble, think no other hotel (other than maybe the Oberoi or Park) is located right on the lake front. Staff are friendly and eager to help. Restaurant was bright and cheerful, the chef Vijayan was ready to give us whatever we desired, even special items not on the menu. The attached houseboat provides for some relaxed cruising on the lake. For streesed out city folks this is a perfect chill-out place. The infinity pool and the gardens are just out of this world. However leisure activities are few; it is located in a remote village, and a downer was that the fitness centre equipment was largely non-functional. However they do have a selection of DVD's and books (there is a DVD player in the room, like in all the Lemontree Hotels). Note: There is no bar, this was a surprise in a leisure resort of this calibre. It took some effort & numerous requests to get them to organise two beers from the local market.
Overall, a superb stay, we will certainly be back again. Highly recommened.
P.S. This is my sixth stay at a Lemontree hotel, all are excellent hotels & uniformly good value for money, but I am faintly surprised they have no loyalty programme!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sekharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed there this summer and had an amazing time. The place is lovely, our room opened up onto the swimming pool which was set on top of the lake. We also took the house boat out on the backwaters which was very relaxin and a great way to see the place. The only negative point was that the boat cost us tge same as two nights in the hotel, approx £200 which was very expensive compared to other boat hire shops!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggerbuggerparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumant_Jaidka, Assistant Vice President-Operations at Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Dear Madam:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Alleppey. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The pricing of our houseboat - Cruising Villa - is based on the facilities available on the boat which make it a premium and full service option compared to the other houseboats in Alleppey. You would have seen the range of facilities available in our boat i.e. fully air-conditioned, two bed rooms, a covered dining area, DVD players in the rooms and in the lounge area, an upper sundeck with open air jacuzzi. Moreover there is a personal Chef and a butler. The other houseboats available on hire do not offer this product-service mix and that is why they seem cheaper.

May I request you, in future, to email your booking requirements directly to me at sumant.jaidka@lemontreehotels.com and allow me to personally oversee the arrangements.

Thank you once again for your feedback. I look forward to your continued patronage of Lemon Tree Hotels.

With my best regards,

Sumant Jaidka
Assistant Vice President-Operations
sumant.jaidka@lemontreehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We were on vacation in Kerela...Allepey .....but the resort we booked at Allepey turned out to be flop...so we just made last minute reservation @Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort...and were lucky enough to get room quickly. We had no high hopes as our previous day was spoiled and we wanted to end our 1week vacation to be good. The welcome we received at Lemon Tree was so nice..and we were delighted to see the resort....its awesome...they gave us this awesome Suite which was lake facing...
We stayed in Lemon Tree for 3days 2 nights and the experience was JUST AMAZING...the location ...the serenity...environment...everything just perfect ..and too romantic. The swimming pool in just bang on the lake...and it feels great.
The food too was good and tasty...though overpriced....didnt matter to us
Room Service ...hospitality was mind blowing.
All n all the best stay ever......definitely going to go back whenever possible
For me n my husband this was one of the best vacation... and the Lemon Tree was key player.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trup_anu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Everything was perfect. Mr. Kiron, Anthony and all the staff were great. Hope to' come back sooon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastianozanolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Went on a business trip to VLR in August. Was kicking myself the minute I entered the resort, for this was a work trip and not a holiday. If you have any intentions of getting any work done at this place, forget it (of course unless if you are a writer with extreme cases of writers block!). The pure serenity, beauty and temple like ambience of this place blows you away.

Almost stayed up a large part of the night staring out the window at the backwaters!

Add to that really friendly staff and amazing food.

Despite all this, did I manage to get my work done?...yes!...Did I depart with a heavy feeling in my heart!..yes. Did I vow to go back with the spouse for a vacation...YES!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaRajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
14.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
11.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
5.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
335 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort

Property: Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Address: Janasakthi Road | Kayippuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, West of Kumarakom. Unwind at our upscale, full service moderately priced resort. Rediscover yourself at this visually stunning resort situated on the Western shore of Kumarakom, at the very edge of Vembanad Lake with a magnificent view of the calm backwaters. Located in Kayippuram, Alleppey, the resort is easily accessible from both Cochin and Kumarakom. Rejuvenate your spirit with spectacular close-up views of the lake from every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort, Muhamma Hotel Alappuzha
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing