We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our Kerala trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelpura Heritage Homestay
Ranked #21 of 201 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at Nelpura for three nights as part of a trip around Kerala and it was the best experience of our holiday. The professor and his family were very friendly and welcoming as was Kumar, the caretaker. The food was amazing and extremely plentiful with different dishes served for breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner each day. The accommodation was unique - just three rooms in a 160 year old authentic Keralan building which had been beautifully restored, though air conditioning was a very welcome modern addition! The village location was lovely, surrounded by paddy fields and miles of waterways with everyday life going on all around. The professor arranged some great activities for us. The canoe trip at sunset and the tuk tuk tour of the village and countryside shouldn't be missed but our visit to the village school was definitely the highlight. This was the real Kerala, warm and friendly people, stunning scenery, delicious food, and we were privileged to have this experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Go2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Nelpura Heritage Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our family of 6 stayed here for 2 nights in January. Mr Chacko and his family were so welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the setting is just beautiful. We enjoyed the canoe trip at sunset, cycling and walking around the village and a wonderful cooking demonstration from Salimma (which we have re-created at home already!). My brother's girlfriend had her birthday at Nelpura and Mr Chacko and his family embraced the celebrations - they provided chocolate cake and decorated the room beautifully. Nelpura Homestay was the highlight of our visit to Kerala. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We found it hard to decide between booking a house boat or staying on land, making trips through the smaller canals. We decided on the latter and chose Nelpura because of it's consistently good reviews. I'm glad we did. Yes, staying on a houseboat would have been a lovely addition to our stay but they are limited to the larger waterways and don't give you a feel for the real life of the area in the way that the smaller canals do.

From the moment you are picked up by canoe and travel down one of these waterways to reach Nelpura you know you are in for a fascinating time.

When you arrive you usually stay in one of three rooms in a beautiful re-built timber home that is around 150 years old. It has a great deal of charm and many an hour can be spent lazing on its delightful verandah.

But the best thing about Nelpura are the charming family and staff who do everything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. Most evenings Professor Chacko sits with his guests and he is a fund of information about the local area where his family have lived for several generations. The meals are excellent and varied. The professor's wife likes to provide guests with new flavours and tries to match meals to the interests and likes of the guests.

I would happily stay in Nelpura if I were to return to the area - maybe even throwing the romance of an overnight cruise on one of the houseboats that the professor owns along with his brothers.

The only thing that stops me giving five stars to this homestay was a few issues with fans and hot water not working at all times. This could annoy some guests, but (mostly successful) efforts were made to rectify issues quickly when they arose.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank baliboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our first experience of a home stay in India and can throughly recommend this one. The meals were excellent and we took the opportunity of visiting the local market to but the food and witness the meal being cooked in the kitchen.

A canoe ride around the backwaters and using the bikes to ride around the paddy fields was all part of our experience.

Nothing was too much trouble for the Prof and his wife, both teachers at the local school.

A tranquil setting and just the place to stay for a couple of nights

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gallythemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at Nelpura during a 3 week visit to Kerala and Goa. Loved every minute of it! We came from Perth and met family from England who are used to a two wk package tour in Goa and I wasn't sure if a quiet, traditional homestay was quite their thing but at the end of the trip they too thought that the 2 nights at the homestay was the best part of the trip. Chacko and his wife are lovely. They organised car transport for us all and a trip to the local primary school (very interesting- well worth it!) The food was great and Kumar, the caretaker will organise beer on request ( watch out for him- he's quite a character!!) The village is so peaceful and the backwaters scenery delightful. Lovely to see the villagers along the riverbank and the sunset cruise is another highlight.not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I returned to Kerala wanting to sample good traditional food and hospitality. Our agents Transindus, recommended Nelpura Homestay. We spent 3 delightful nights there and we can only praise Prof Chacka and his charming wife, Salimma, for their warm hospitality and amazing food. Nothing was too much trouble and we sampled the delights of bicycling around the local area and exploring the maze of local canals by boat. This is a quality property and highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms and all are equally charming.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank togozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Chacko and his family for 2 nights in their homestay and it was the best way of really experiencing the backwaters. The 3 beautiful and clean rooms are located in a separate house, just beside the family house. Meals are taken in the family house and Chacko and his wife are always around in the evening at dinner to chat. They are very nice and welcoming people, we felt at home in their home. Chumar, the caretaker is also a very very nice person who helps you with everything you need. The food is delicious and typical.
The homestay is located in a very peaceful place, close to different small villages along the small canals. Just walking around the homestay along the small canals you can see the daily life of the people in the backwaters. You can also cycle, go on a boat-ride or learn how to cook typical food on weekends with the cooking class.
We liked it so much and found the backwater experience so authentic that we abandoned our plan of a night on a houseboat after the homestay because you see so much more of the backwaters in this homestay.
Definitely worth it!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Romana222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
26.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.7 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thevercad Homestay
Thevercad Homestay
#10 of 201 in Alappuzha
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
#17 of 201 in Alappuzha
122 reviews
7.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
817 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#26 of 201 in Alappuzha
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelpura Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelpura Heritage Homestay

Address: Edayady House | Monkompu P O, Alappuzha 688502, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £81 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelpura is one of the top ten Homestay in India (Guardian paper Sept '10) It stands calm and serine on the bank of a canal leading leading to river Pamba. A perfect getaway from the din and bustle of every day life, the idyllic premises of Nelpura is an ideal retreat into the soothing lap of nature.The building showcases the fine features of traditional Kerala architecture and wood carving.What makes Nelpura special and unique is the serine dignity it gains from the proximity of a happy home.The meal plan is AP- lunch, dinner and breakfast of Kerala cuisine.Activities. Village walk, bicycle ride, narrow canal cruise, visit to ancient churches and temples, cooking class, ayurvedic massage, motor boat trips etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelpura Heritage Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing