We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exotic experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alleppey Beach Resorts
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Nagpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exotic experience”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We recently stayed at Alleppey beach Resort on January 29. This was one of our best stays as the resort is beautiful and very well located. Everything right from the old architecture to the private beach entry is fabulous. The rooms are quite spacious and offer a great view. The room service was also very good and the staff was well-coordinated. We are sure that we will visit it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mankab091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Manager at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear SIr
Nice of you to share your feeling, we are trying to preserve our heritage and keep it as simple as possible, the kind of good will on your countenance as you were leaving was what we all work for ,your comments are indeed a pat on our back. a word of thank you is not enough for this, still we join our hearts to say THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    33
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We landed in Alleppey with hopes to stay at Pamba Homestay. Unfortunately, the guys at Pamba Heritage couldn't accommodate us as we had landed in Alleppey 24-hours before plan. The initially led us on, got our hopes up and even got us to drive about 5 kilometres to their property before turning around and saying "sorry - we can not accomodate last minute plan changes".

So, we were forced to find a stop-gap night stay place. I called a travel-writer friend of mine and he recommended 3 places. 1 turned out to be over-budget, and the other was plain boring. The Alleppey Beach Resort - the 3rd recommendation - turned out t be out home for the night.

We paid around INR 4000 for the room, and considering it was pretty-much ON the beach, and housed the 4 of us, it seemed like a good deal. The room was spacious, with nothing that could be called luxurious... but it seemed clean. The ceilings were incredibly high - builders in Mumbai would've squeezed three floors into our room. The architecture of the place was obviously steeped in history. This had been some rich dude's house about 70 years ago, I'm guessing.

We requested for dinner to be served to us on the lawn, where we could hear and taste the salty sea breeze. Our request, since we were one of 3 guest-groups in the entire hotel, was entertained. While the food was good, I would've expected sea food at a sea-side place to be cheaper. The 'staff' was one confused waiter who politely tried to understand what we wanted. Dinner set us back around 2000 INR. But it was an all-out, no holds barred sort of dinner. So, I guess we deserved the big bill. We spent some time in a beautifully crafted near the reception. Then zzzzzzz.

Sleep was relatively event-less. The rooms had no air conditioning, which isn't all good since Kerala can sizzle in the summer. In the morning, we went for a walk on the beach. The water and the beach is pristine. Spotted 2 fishermen weaving their morning catch out, off a net. And one meditative European lady. That's it. Might as well have been a private beach.

Things to remember -
1> I think most rooms are not air conditioned. Best to check. Do NOT stay in a non-A/C room in the summer.
2> Wake up early for a beach-walk. It's worth it. Pretty much makes up for the overpriced food.
3> Do NOT come here if you expect the high life. Everything is basic. Except the beach.

Room Tip: I believe ALL rooms are sea-facing. Better to get the 1st floor rooms. Will have a better view. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melvai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Manager at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Sir
It's kind of you to give us a good rating, as you assumed it's an old and historical place carrying along with old memories, we have tried to keep it as it was then , we are trying to keep the hygiene of the place as best as possible, cost of sea food is going up, as you thought nearness of the sea does not bring down the price of sea food and more over sea wealth is depleting and demand is going up , yes a/c is required but there are people who prefer non a/c also,any way its nice of you to remember your stay and write that's what is important to remember your stay , hope you do come back one day
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nice location, Room are neat and clean. Room service is OK. Hot water not available for shower. Food is Nice. Staff is Co-operative. We stay one Night at resort and one night at House boat in Alleppey. Not so much activity in Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmabhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at the alleppey beach resort in December 2013 . The reception staff is badly coordinated and we had to repeat the instructions that were decided at the time of booking.
the property is good but the management is very poor and are short of staff . food is decent but takes time due to shortage of staff. During the stay we had a horrifying experience. My child 5 years old was playing in the play area and we were sitting around and chatting up when she stared crying uncontrollably ..we figured out that she had received an electric shock....we were terrified when we understood what had happenned and after calming her went to the front desk who were very casual about the entire episode...we asked for checking the voltage and we were shocked that it was 220 volts.. there were three poles which were uncovered and on checking we found out that they all carried 220 volts power. the staff kept harping on the same thing that they are unaware of the live wire as it had been disconnected a year ago but such sort of negligence was unacceptable ....and that too in the play area which is supposed to be safe...
no staff had even the courtesy to enquire about the child who was shaken and so were we...they kept us at bay the whole of next day and would not show up until asked for probably fearing the back lash from us....overall very disappointing staff behaviour...and cold
After we returned back home we recd an apology from the manager who pleaded helplessness in regards to what had happened

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Sir
we had already apologized for the incident immediately, really it was a painful and agonizing incident which should not have happened.As already mentioned in the mail to the guest we were under the impression that the lines to the garden lights were disconnected when we had installed the street lights in 2005. we had recently made a maintenance prior to the season and should-have made it a point to verify this aspect for which we had already conveyed our concern. we are once again conveying our anguish over the e incident and if at all the staff failed to alleviate you agony please bear with us, it may be they did not have the moral courage to face you and parents . we have since called the electrician and disconnected the line and capped the poles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My stay at this place was short. Good place to stay. Well maintained and Good service.
Good beach view. We enjoyed. We would like to visit again.
Parking place is less inside resort. Small play ground with Jhoola.

Room Tip: Balcony room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TMManjunath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Sir
The closed door policy adopted by TRIP ADVISOR is hurting my business. I have had interactions with guest who have written to TRIP ADVISOR and they have not been uploaded ,adverse comments are sure to be loaded within short time .My suggestion is that you should let us know if such comments are written and after our views are known , then only it should be uploaded if it is warranted, TRIP ADVISOR should not be used as a portal to vent one's grievance, it is the hotel owner who is affiliated to trip advisor and not the guests, many of the guest leave their manners at home and make demands and get away, the damage destruction caused and borne silently by the management
Review written from our resort by guest were not loaded or subsequently deleted on management policy terms
Dear TRIP Advisor management people , people come stay have a nice time say all sweet words get the best treatment and just catch up with their life's, who has the time to promote others . Please understand the ground reality guests should not take TRIP ADVISOR AS A WEAPON TO DESTROY A BUSINESS AND PLEASE WHERE ARE THE REVIEWS MY GUEST SEND, I REQUEST PROPER HELP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After arriving at Alleppey beach resort, it was interesting to find such a place right on the beach.
Check in was okay, as not speaking much english.

We stay for 2 nights, had a first night in the room nearest the beach.
Cleanliness was okay, but it is India.
Cold shower and one time had to wash in the bucket filled from the outside tap.
Beds were a little hard too.
Second night we were in a double room, same as the beach room really.

Was a great Indian experience.
Food was good and breakfast was good, staff were friendly and helpful.

We took a small boat down the small canals, which we enjoyed seeing the history and woman washing, kids playing in the canals.

Really good stay and will not forget it.
If you like your luxury, then this is not for you.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block probably the best. As had a millipede in the bed with me in the beach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Pictures showed a pool..which there isn't, no wifi in existence for the 24 hours we stayed. Worst reception ever, manager appalling, I have travelled the world for 30 plus years and never had anything like it. Bungalow like a £8 a night dormitory, so basic, tv 8 inches big, mattress 3" high and the hardest ever!!!!! Even for India. Rules, rules rules!!! Totally remote, need taxi to get anywhere, NOTHING on beach, DRY resort and area. Totally misrepresented, and unwelcoming

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Owner at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
The Guest is a walk in customer who came into the presort at 8/45 pm on 7/1/2014 claiming that she had a reservation made on her behalf by " make my trip " , however she did not produce any voucher for her booking.The manager on duty checked up the bookings on the internet and found that there was no booking on the guest's name till that time. The guest insisted that she should be provided a room . Since only the cottage was available it was given to her on condition she pay the room rent next day if her booking was not conformed by the travel portal.She along with her friend went out and returned around 12 midnight. prior to going out she demanded one more mattress and extra pillows which were provided.The next day after having breakfast she again checked for her booking which had not come through. She made the payment and checked out.
We have not till date advertised that we have a pool. The internet was working intermittently and WiFi was also not working that day. occasionally some guests get WiFi and some others do , we are sorting out this issue with the service providers.. the TV installed is a 21 inch
The cottage is the most sought after by all guests and there has been a keen demand for the cottage and all guests who have stayed there have only good words about it .
It is quite unfortunate that after allowing the guest to use the accommodation without any reservation and without any advance which is against the norms, for which the manager has been reprimand, we are at the receiving end.
we have advertised only what we the beach and the solitude , the cry of the sea gulls and the lapping waves , it is what people want and are happy about
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
22.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.3 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 68 in Alappuzha
48 reviews
7.3 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#56 of 68 in Alappuzha
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#29 of 68 in Alappuzha
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#26 of 68 in Alappuzha
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleppey Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleppey Beach Resorts

Property: Alleppey Beach Resorts
Address: Beach Road, Alappuzha 688012, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleppey Beach Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alleppey Beach resort's was my Husband's ancestral Home.In the year 2000 we converted this huge house on the beach into a small Resort.The resort is on the beach and we have one a/c cottage, three a/c rooms on the ground floor, two a/c rooms and three non a/c rooms on the first floor and one non a/c room on the ground floor . we also have an in house restaurant serving authentic food with no gimmicks. we use only home made ingredients for our dishes.Access to the beach is direct and the beach is as far as possible kept clean ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alleppey Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Alleppey Beach Resorts Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing