We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt cheated”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alleppey Beach Resorts
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Saw the misleading reviews on Tripadvisor and booked a room for family. Had booked a cottage a/c room through Makemytrip, which is supposed to be most expensive, but was packed in a small, corner room on the first floor, which was smaller than the ones on the ground floor. On asking the manager was informed that it was cottage a/c. I really felt cheated as the photographs on their website show them as something else.

Room service was poor. Most of the equipment on the playground needs maintenance. Restaurant food is below par.

Good thing was the location and the courtesy of being given hot water for my infant on late arrival by the manager.

Otherwise, I would recommend that travellers look at established brands of hotel to stay in rather than such run of the mill hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imransayedxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Manager at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Sir
thanks for he sharp observations, yes we are looking into your suggestions, we have only beach benches and hammocks which are recently acquired, some rough use occurs and it gets spoiled we will definitely change the items, the booking was for a/c room and not a/c cottage that 's why the cottage was not released, we try to give good quality food and short commings will be addressed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had planned to stay for 3 nights but the air conditioning and fan did not work in the room. We asked to change rooms or a discount and manager shouted at us and was awful. We moved to Casa Maria which was 50m away, and is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

the accommodation was simple and soothing with the beach facing us. the hotel was found extremely clean which was an added attraction. the boat ride arranged was fantastic and the beauty of nature of unbelievable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_mridulaprem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It was a bad experience. .. one good thing is, it is just in front of beach. ... rooms are costly.... and food sucks.... v could have got a better and best stay than this... cos nect day v got to kw tat.... by then v left to boat house ... these resort ppl are so selfish for money tat they said boat house stay is 10k but it was actually 8k as it was not season but they took it as commission. .... wadte fellows... never visit...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank ANILA023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A quiet and peaceful resort in a heritage building........... Excellent view of the sea and beach from the balcony at first floor...........Having our tea and breakfast viewing the sea and hearing its music with the chirping of birds and cries of crows...... The beach is at the backyard of the resort.

Having a swim or walk in the beach is wonderful and they have a shower arrangement with fresh water before entering the resort from beach.....They have provided water tap for cleaning the sands and sandals at the entrance of every room.

Our room was 20 feet by 20 feet with a height of 20 feet. All antique furniture with a big fold-able window without any grill. Totally a royal stay in a heritage building.

We totally enjoyed two days in this resort, after a horrible overnight stay at a nasty boathouse.

Room Tip: Ask for the family non a/c deluxe room on first floor; but don't get scarred with the walk in wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakshinlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Manager at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Sir
It's heartening to read such a simple and down to earth observation you have made.We here are really happy and contented lot after reading your views, thanking you for the wonderful feeling you have generated in us, this gives a lot of courage and enthusiasm in our life. thanking you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Really enjoyed staying at this lovely beach front resort. Enjoyed the food, staff were friendly and helpful and rooms clean.
Very peaceful and serene setting.
But did not enjoy the Ayurvedic treatment they sent me for, it was very disappointing and I will never go back. The massage room was dark and dingy, the head massage oil was rancid, the bathroom dirty and the therapist had no feel for her work.
A very unpleasant experience at a high price.
Please find a better Ayurvedic centre as this one was very off putting!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjarn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Manager at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Sir
sorry for not responding earlier, PEACEFUL --------- THANK YOU FOR THE SAYING SO, this is what every one is seeking for , if we could be a facilitator for that it's rewarding , we do not have much to offer but it is a state of mind to seek and find satisfaction
About the massage we have talked to the owner and will surely do the needful, really sorry for the bad experience , would really make amends if at all you haven to pass this way
sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We recently stayed at Alleppey beach Resort on January 29. This was one of our best stays as the resort is beautiful and very well located. Everything right from the old architecture to the private beach entry is fabulous. The rooms are quite spacious and offer a great view. The room service was also very good and the staff was well-coordinated. We are sure that we will visit it again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mankab091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surajarays, Manager at Alleppey Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear SIr
Nice of you to share your feeling, we are trying to preserve our heritage and keep it as simple as possible, the kind of good will on your countenance as you were leaving was what we all work for ,your comments are indeed a pat on our back. a word of thank you is not enough for this, still we join our hearts to say THANK YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
6.4 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#36 of 70 in Alappuzha
87 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#19 of 70 in Alappuzha
167 reviews
1 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#28 of 70 in Alappuzha
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleppey Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleppey Beach Resorts

Address: Beach Road, Alappuzha 688012, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £25 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleppey Beach Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alleppey Beach resort's was my Husband's ancestral Home.In the year 2000 we converted this huge house on the beach into a small Resort.The resort is on the beach and we have one a/c cottage, three a/c rooms on the ground floor, two a/c rooms and three non a/c rooms on the first floor and one non a/c room on the ground floor . we also have an in house restaurant serving authentic food with no gimmicks. we use only home made ingredients for our dishes.Access to the beach is direct and the beach is as far as possible kept clean ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alleppey Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Alleppey Beach Resorts Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing