We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, lovely people”
Review of Sona Tourist Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sona Tourist Home
Ranked #59 of 198 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, lovely people”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The house oozes with character and the rooms are clean and big. My room was cleaned and sheets were changed without me ever having to tell them. The big four poster beds looked a little daunting at first sight but they turned out to be very comfortable. There's wifi (that works) on the patio and a verandah overlooking a very well maintained garden where one can laze about, socialise or finish that big novel. The town center with all the restaurants and shops is either a 10-15 minute walk or a cheap rickshaw ride away.

Sona and his family are among the most welcoming and friendly hosts I have ever come across in a homestay. They gave me ample amounts of privacy but were always around for a chat when one feels like having a conversation. When I next come to Alleppey (and if they have a room free), I'm never going to any other place.

Room Tip: I took a tour of the house and the rooms in the house seemed to have more character. But any room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
26
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for the last two days of our Kerala trip with friends from the US. Easily walkable into town - about 10 minutes, and set in a lovely garden, with a peaceful covered verandah. Breakfast is a little extra - but great, and the whole place is very very reasonable. Mr and Mrs 'Sona' are really kind, very chatty - and bent over backwards to welcome us at the crack of dawn, and waited up to see us off to the airport late in the evening. They organised a car and driver for us with no problems to the airport. They also organised for us to go out with a colleague of theirs James for a day on the Backwaters - swimming, wandering around villages and eating amazing fresh fish and prawns! Liz and I had a great massage from the centre down the road. What a lovely end to a lovely holiday!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms across the garden - these were basic, but very clean and very pleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeonbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A lovely old house, with loads of character. We stayed for 3 nights, which was about right for Alleppey. Joseph and family were really friendly with lots of great information and stories. Nice spot out of the busy part of town but not far or much in a tuk tuk. The boat trip with James was great, the backwaters are amazing. Good breakfast too. Excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The location is good and rooms are a decent size. There is wifi but the connection only goes as far as the covered patio. This place would be good value for the price, however, watch for bed bugs. It ruined my memories of the beautiful backwaters.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BCSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Last month I had a great lonely stay here for 3 days. The rooms are great value and more important: Joseph and family will make you feel at home.
Despite the fact that I was the only guest due to the low season, I never felt alone and i enjoyed the conversations with the owners. Definitly one of the best places to stay in Kerala, and don't miss the boat trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerhenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here about a week in December of this past year and really enjoyed it. Our room, with its colonial decor, was in the block outside of the main house. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also quite large. Outside on the patio we had a table and chairs where Sona served us breakfast in the mornings. Although not included, breakfasts were very reasonably priced and quite good. Most mornings included an informative chat with Sona and occasionally his father, which we enjoyed. The guesthouse is located slightly outside of the main part of town, so it's either a cheap tuk tuk ride or a healthy walk to local restaurants. Wifi didn't work in the room but did work at various spots along the communal patio.
Sona did not try to sell us a houseboat trip, in fact he seemed to be trying to dissuade us. We did book a trip on a motorized boat with his friend, James, which was great fun. We loved sitting on the top of the boat cruising down the smaller canals. Then, because we had come to Allapey primarily to do a houseboat, we booked that too, again through Sona. Although we enjoyed the houseboat, we had to agree that the trip with James was actually more fun and better value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chixcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Room and bathroom were large, quite, cool and clean with shared verandah to sit out on. Breakfast was good and included in the price. Wi Fi is available in certain locations. Only 5 mins autorickshaw ride from town centre and river. We went on a 3 hr boat trip (organised through Joseph) - seemed expensive compared with trip we did out of Fort Kochi but we didn't shop around, there may be cheaper options. The garden was lush and lovely but this meant there were quite a lot of mosquitos. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmcint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
3.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#3 of 68 in Alappuzha
178 reviews
8.4 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raheem Residency
Raheem Residency
#34 of 198 in Alappuzha
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
0.3 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#25 of 68 in Alappuzha
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sona Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sona Tourist Home

Property: Sona Tourist Home
Address: Finishing Point, | Thatampally Post, Alappuzha 688013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sona Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sona Tourist Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing