We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pamba Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I am struggling to write this review because we had such a good time, I fear my words won't do it justice.

Pamba was the ideal place to fully immerse yourself into the Keralan setting (in fact, so ideal, Rajeev's home was actually used as a film set for a Malayalam movie currently in cinemas!). Whatever's been said - the tranquility of the backwaters with its hypnotic ripples reflecting rows of coconut trees amidst other lush greenery under a orange-pink painted skyline - it's all true, if not more.

We also did a bit of running around the village of Nedumudy. Our little feet took us through acres and acres of paddyfields, past houses and shops, on canal pathways, untarred roads; during which we were always greeted by friendly smiles and hellos. It was breathtaking! You can then always jump into the river to cool off ;)

The highlight of our stay however, was the hospitality shown by Rajeev, his family and his helper Charlie. The communication was great from the start - Rajeev was extremely responsive to emails and guided us in our planning (e.g. transport, and helping us arrange a night on a houseboat - which deserves another review by itself). He was an easy-going, humorous fellow and we all had some really nice conversations together. Extremely helpful and friendly, a truly outstanding host! Food was homecooked by Rajeev's mummy and her meals were some of the best I've ever had. And Charlie was simply fantastic - he'll take good care of you.

It was a pleasure getting to know the people at Pamba. I missed just chilling out on the porch, watching the river boats go by and having casual banters with Rajeev and Charlie. Would I visit again? Most definitely!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
64
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Pamba Heritage Villa is one the best places that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

We were picked up by canoe, taken to Rajeev's home which is directly on the river. As soon as we saw the hammock's, the house boats and were greatly warmly by Rajeev the outside world simply disappeared.

Rajeev was welcoming and arranged for us to take a walk around the village and explore a little. Charlie, was one of the highlights of the trip, took us around, showing us how they fish, the workers on the fields, and also taking us to a neighbour for some fresh coconut juice. He was extremely knowledgable in the surrounding area, and I could not have wished for a better guide.

The food was authentic and home cooked, and outdoor showers (using a door from the bedroom) is a great touch!

Fantastic place to stay if you want a real experience, and to be able to truly kick back, relax and forget anything outside of the Kerala exists.

If your needing to get away from the manic's of the world, or even just the hustle and bustle of travelling around India, Kerala is the place to go, and The Pamba the place to stay!!

Thanks a million to Rajeev and Charlie!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bus1Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here recently with 2 friends of mine and I cannot recommend Pamba Heritage enough. The scenery is stunning, with the lodge being directly on the River. We was collected by canoe which was great! Rajeev (the owner) arranged for us to take a walk around the local village with his staff member, Charlie who is equally brilliant.

We stayed for one night and the cost is very reasonable @ Rs. 6000 as it includes breakfast, lunch and dinner too. There is an outside shower in each room which I thought was an amazing touch. The next day Rajeev arranged a house boat for us via Ever Green Tours @ Rs 8500...again, amazing value for money. We stopped at a local market and bought some fresh seafood which was cooked to perfection on the boat.

We had a fantastic time here and I would recommend to all friends and family in future. Thank you to Rajeev for going the extra mile for us too and assisting us with our onward travel! If you are looking for a friendly, scenic, traditional trip to experience Kerala, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletch1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for one night only and were really impressed with the beauty of the location, the village and the friendly staff and owners.

This is a family run home stay and it was truly a great experience.
Great outdoor showers offer a natural cleansing session accompanied by chirping birds, a fabulous way to kick off the morning.

Charlie took us on a tour to the village, exploring the rice fields, meeting locals on the way and even introduced us to coconut beer. He was at our beck and call literally all day and made 110% sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. Lovely gentleman and a pleasure to have met him.

The food was very traditional and it was great. A must is the Kerala prawns from the fish market. At an extra cost, they are definitely worth it and Charlie was more than happy to get them for us. Grilled and prepared to perfection they were the best prawns I have ever had!

The home stay is on the river and we really enjoyed lazing about in hammocks in the luscious garden looking out to the river and the passing boats.

Raj organised our boat with a company called Evergreen. It was spectacular and luxurious. Worth every penny. He also assisted me with organising my transport to Trivandrum a d arranged for a tuk to fetch me at 5am to take me to the bus stop. The family is so welcoming and really helpful. It was a pleasure to have met them and we are extremely grateful for their hospitality and kindness.

A must stay if you are going to Allelley!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kami838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our recent stay at The Pamba Heritage Villa really was one to remember. The hospitality was excellent and we felt relaxed and at home Rajeev's beautiful home. The food was excellent, a true taste of traditional Keralan food (we ticked it all off in the Lonely Planet guide!).

Rajeev was an outstanding host, arranging tickets for the boat race, a river cruise and various other excursions for our group. And then you have Charlie! Charlie was basically our tour guide for our stay, he took us on a walk through the village, on a boat trip to see an old Hindu temple and caught our dinner from the river one evening (this is to name but a few of the things he did for us over 5 days). So, overall, the service was 5*!

This place was a real experience, the location on the river is lovely and we had an excellent time! I would definitely recommend this homestay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Rajiv and his family for five nights and enjoyed every minute. It was a fantastic opportunity to relax, get to know a wonderful family and taste a wide range of traditional Keralan dishes. The outdoor bathroom, took some getting used to and the rooms although basic, were comfortable. Rajiv and family friend Charlie went out of their way to arrange boat tours and helped us to get tickets to the annual Nehru Trophy Boat Race. If your priority is to experience backwater life, this is the place. The location was perfect, on the river surrounded by rice fields, with dirt tracks and walkways to the nearest jetty for access to Allapuzha. This experience made our trip in India!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topping30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the homestay for 3 days while travelling through south india. It was a bit tricky to find initially, but a bit of help from Rajeev and we made it there. The lodging is very comfortable with AC and clean bathrooms. The standout factor is the food. Amazing food that is not watered down for tourists. Authentic flavours and generous portions. We really enjoyed the hospitality and conversations that we had there over a few drinks late into the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas-238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
26.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
2.7 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
11.7 mi away
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Purity at Lake Vembanad
#1 of 158 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
805 reviews
3.2 mi away
Xandari Riverscapes
Xandari Riverscapes
#3 of 158 in Alappuzha
285 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pamba Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pamba Heritage Villa

Property: The Pamba Heritage Villa
Address: Kanjooparambil-Umbukadu, | Nedumudi Jetty, Alappuzha 688503, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pamba Heritage -a most perfect blend of old world charm and modern amenities. The antique wooden structures "Ara" and "Nilavara" which were originally used for storing grains have been restored for modern living.This is the home away from home, which is sandwiched between the silver cascading Pamba River on the western side, and emerald carpeted paddy fields on the eastern side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Pamba Heritage Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pamba Heritage Villa Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing