We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I adored this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrindavanam Heritage Home
Ranked #56 of 200 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's like a little hidden wonderland of relaxation and tranquility. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and cheerful. Some of our party joined in with their game of cricket in the lovely courtyard garden, which is a huge part of the charm. To sit out under the stars on big slouchy cushions, surrounded by twinkling fairy lights and my wonderful family being served with a cold beer and a really great curry will be a long lasting memory. I think we paid around £5 per night for this fabulous place and I would have been just as impressed paying a lot more. The rooms were basically done but with a nice colonial touch and are very roomy. I must also give mention to the strange fluffy chickens that roam around the gardens, adorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrie-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Vrindavanam Heritage Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

It is not surprising that earlier reviewers have referred to Vrindavanam's "chillaxed" atmosphere and "vibes". They are referring to the hotel's main courtyard, which is transformed in the evening into a 'chillout' garden, reminiscent of the quieter corners of Glastonbury Festival, with music and lighting to match. If you're recreating a hippie trail for yourself, Vrindavanam should be on your itinerary. But even if you aren't the hippie type, the mood is irresistibly relaxing; it is the pleasantest place to spend an evening in Alleppey that I have seen, and really you needn't bother leaving until well into the next morning -- and you won't be urged to.

The food is very good, as long as you aren't in a hurry, and the service is excellent all-round. The young manager we dealt with was keen and quick to meet every request and spoke excellent English. Other staff were less chatty, but very smiley, and seemed very happy in their work.

Ours was one of the non-air-conditioned rooms and, due to the nature of the 'heritage' building, it was humid all day and all night. One reviewer has already mentioned the mosquitoes which, it is true, the considerate staff do everything in their power to protect you from: nets in the bedrooms, and regularly replenished combative incense in the garden. But we also met some other, rather larger insects and lizards in our room, especially in the bathroom, which less thick-skinned travellers may find traumatic. They are harmless, though, and ought not to put you off visiting one of the much better 'heritage' hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRJFear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

When heaven locates itself on earth it is bound to have the serene and exquisite ambience as well...That was my experience at Vrindavanam Heritage Home.

The physical environment was really exotic and had the traditional vibes for a relaxing vacation.

The food was simply delicious and flavoursome, customised to suit to individual taste. A friendly and happening place.

Overall it was an experience to be cherished and longed for...

Room Tip: The sea food variants are really yummy...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meeravivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this place to anyone! Extremely tranquil vibes and friendly folk! Great location and can also sort out any boat trips you may want to do, we originally came here for dinner and after seeing the hidden courtyard decided it would be stupid not to stay! Great food, great staff, great vibes, and affordable. A++

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank theh0neym0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I visited Vrindavanam again recently after about 4 years and it was wonderful to go back. This place has a way of becoming what you want it to, a shack on a beach, a charming courtyard getaway in a bustling town, a heritage home that invites you into another time. All of this is the result of a combination of place and people. the gardens, the hammocks, the lily white family of felines, the staff, the trees, the stars, the food from the kitchen.

If you have been to Alappuzha (Allepey) but haven't been to Vrindavanam then you need to go back.

Room Tip: all the rooms aren't the same so let them also know if you want a room in a quieter or more live...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aniltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

As a frequent traveler to Kerala, i do visit this lovely place at least 2 times a year. They have improved a lot with a fantastic restaurant & a Perfect Coffee Shop & keep on improving year after year. I can see & feel the remarkable effort from the Owner & Staffs to make the place cool and pleasing.

Its a very friendly & warm stay each time i reach there, i strongly recommend people to try this place one time and you will get addicted to this place : )

Cheers guys for a wonderful stay & thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skarim003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Cheap, clean, beautiful surrounding with warm and attentive hosts.
Stayed at the end of November and were recommended this place by an auto driver. We were slightly dubious as they work on commission but when we arrived we were so happy.
Cute room set in a floral courtyard, we loved it upon arriving. The hosts were busy renovating but it didn't disturb us that much. The chef was outstanding and made some of the best curries I had in India.
Bargain rooms at only 500 rupees a night or 1000 for AC - VERY cheap for Alleppy.
The hosts gave us good recommendations of things to do - I.e.. don't go for the extremely overpriced boat cruises, you can get a public ferry for 7 rupees each - I'm not joking, 7 rupees - that will take you all around the backwaters and back within 3 hours which leaves enough time to see other sights.
Mosquitos were a nightmare but that's not their fault. They did their utmost to alleviate the problem. At night they decorated the garden with fairy lights and played chilled out music.
Location in Zachariah Bazaar is great. Most travelers don't go our this way but its located in a mainly Muslim area with lots of small shops and only 5-10 mins walk from the beach.
Would definitely visit this place again.

Room Tip: Go for the fan rooms - they are perfect.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dazzle Dew
Dazzle Dew
#46 of 200 in Alappuzha
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thoms Homestay
Thoms Homestay
#9 of 200 in Alappuzha
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage Home
Mantra Heritage Home
#16 of 200 in Alappuzha
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#20 of 200 in Alappuzha
92 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ayana's Homestay
Ayana's Homestay
#7 of 200 in Alappuzha
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrindavanam Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrindavanam Heritage Home

Address: Zachariya Bazar, Alappuzha 688001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 200 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £7 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The dream house of priceless memory" Heaven of Alleppey Rich, mystical cultural heritage that spans back through the ages: Alleppey opens its secrets to those who wish to leave behind the stresses and worries of everyday life. Situated close to the beach, Vrindavanam Heritage Home epitomizes Alleppey's true spirit and flavour. As the sole Heritage Home approved by the Govt. of Kerala (KTDC Alleppey), every day is a celebration of music, dance, fun and elation at Vrindavanam Heritage Home. Vrindavanam Heritage Home offers the best in accommodation and cuisine with plenty of facilities and services to play the perfect host. With 20 well appointed, spacious guest rooms and expansive options for dining, from Pan Asian to delectable Kerala cuisines, Vrindavanam Heritage Home promises an exemplary experience with a plethora of recreational tour packages for you and your family so that the fun never stops. Beautiful and exotic a place is Kerala, best known for its sun-kissed beaches, serene blue seas and lush greenery which has been very well maintained; you find a reflection of the same at Vrindavanam. This Heritage Home also boasts a meandering garden area that stretches across the property, making for a location that is a grand sight to behold. Being the only Heritage Home, we continue to offer our guests the best of service and amenities. A unique abode in the land of Alleppey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vrindavanam Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vrindavanam Heritage Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing