We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
OG's Beach Bungalow
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Perfect”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We stayed at OG's Beach Bungalow for 3 nights during December. We were on honeymoon in India and we had just flown in from the North which had been hectic. OG's was exactly what we needed. If you want to really get away from it then this is the place for you. it is incredibly remote (a tuk tuk is the best way to get there - our taxi driver had terrible trouble driving down the roads to OG's).

Ajay was our host - he was fantastic. There wasn't enough he could do for you. The food was also very very good. There is no choice on the menu, rather a number of plates (of way too much food) was brought out for us.

Marari beach is beautiful but every place to stay is a resort of some kind. Some have pools and entertainment at night. The beach is also very long and if you wanted to try another place for dinner you have to head back out to the main road and enter most of the resorts from the road rather than the beach.

OG's is quite basic, there are no facilities and we didn't swim because the waves were pretty high but the room we had was lovely (we asked for the one in the photos here on tripadvisor). However, if you want a pool, bar or entertainment then I would stick with the larger resorts.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racheldub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paxos, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

OG's wasn't cheap, but then nothing was on Marari Beach. This place consists of what looked like 3 annexes within one old heritage bungalow & then some fairly modern blocks (which we poked our head into & they didn't really look all that nice to be honest) on the beach front. OG's bungalow must have been a fishermans cottage once & was then restored.

There aren't many places you can stay now in the world where you can literally stay smack bang on the beach & have it virtually to yourself & walk out in the morning & jump in the sea.

Run fairly well by a group of young guys this place, although a tad expensive was one of the highlights of our whole India trip. To wake up "amongst" the fishing families & to see virtually no tourists whatsoever, Marari Beach still has that rare feeling of "undiscovered"
To walk down to the "fish auction" at 8am & watch them auction off the fish to the locals, was a treat.

The only downside of the whole thing was there were a few too many bugs in the room, they really need to take down the bathroom ceiling & refurb it & evict all that is living in there!!

Forgot to mention these guys cook up the most amazing food we tasted in the whole of India, fish curry that you wont ever taste again.

This place should long ago have been snapped up by a big tour operator & long may it stay undiscovered.

By the way, we went to Marari Fishermans village for a massage & weren't really impressed with what we saw, A Beach Symphony looked really nice & Marari Beach Resort was amazing (we went for a Pineapple juice to be nosey) but at the same time it was a large hotel/resort & lacked that feel that you got with the guys at OG's

One point of note, the fisherman use the beach as a toilet (for no 2's) so be prepared for this, was a bit of a shock to begin with, but we got used to it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We had six lovely days doing nothing at OGs Beach Bungalow. These are just comfortable rooms right on the beach with an open dining room serving good home style cooking. Nothing else. No television, no phone, no internet access (as far as we know), without going into the local village. We loved it.

Our room in the modern block was spacious and though very simple, we liked it very much. The bed was big and comfortable, the air conditioning mostly effective (blips in the power supply happen occasionally) with a good shower room and plenty of hot water. It even had good lighting for reading, something often missing from other places.

Without exception the staff are charming and helpful (particular thanks to Anand, Vineedt, Sheba, Daisy and Beena who we got to know best), happy to do to do anything they could to see that we enjoyed ourselves. We felt sad to leave.

It is a local fishermens' area which both adds to the charm and dirties the beach. But the staff kept the area in front of our rooms very clean. The water is a bit rough along this coast but we loved riding the waves in.

If you like fancy resorts this is not the place for you. But if you just want to do nothing in reasonable comfort in a great beach setting with nice people, this is a great place to be. You can always take a tuk tuk to the nearby up scale resorts that are just a few miles away if you crave a blow out dinner and some will let you use their facilities for the day for a fee.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandMarjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Location is everything. But this had so much more. We came without high expectations but in every important way we were delighted. The staff were helpful and really became friends. The food was varied, local and made no attempt to pander to 'western' tastes thank goodness. The rooms are basic but your real room is the wonderful beach. And yet is a working community with the fishermen landing their catch every morning. An Indian guest commented to us 'This is the real India'. Walking the local area everyone was friendly but unobtrusive and we always felt safe and welcome. If you crave the simple life - come here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGlynWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We could not have had a better start to our honeymoon than this place! Totally secluded and away from all the hustle bustles of Indian Streets, we found this amazing place right by the sea! (Ofcourse, it could do with some better street signs!)
Blue Waters, White Sand invites you to Marari Beach! Our Neighbors on the beach were some birds and crabs! :) Not many people know this place. Even in Dec (peak season), there were just 2-3 families. Explore this place before it is completely explored
The OG's Beach Home is less of a Resort and more of a Home. Do explore the place, village and dont forget to cycle around on the beach. The food is good and not an elaborate meal like the Star Resorts.
This is a place where you have to run away - if you wish to do NOTHING! :)

Please remember to book the Front Room of the Heritage Wing of the OG's. The Other Cottage are brick and mortar. Does not have a lot of character.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhruv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My husband, 15month old son and I stayed at OG's for a few days at the beginning of the holiday. The resort manager Anand Paul is a huge asset to the resort. He is extremely courteous, friendly and attentive and made our stay very special.

The second fabulous aspect of our stay was the cooking - the food was amazing - incredibly fresh, varied and delicious - we've both travelled extensively and my husband is of Indian origin and we have rarely tasted such delicious food.

The third fabulous aspect was the ayuvedic massage that we indulged in, organised by Anand at a nearby resort. I was massaged for 2.5 hours by Suda. I'm a qualified masseur myself and so am very critical. This massage was mind blowing.

I also wanted to praise the resort's staff on one point in particular. After we left the resort and were back in Cochin I realised I'd left my wedding jewellery in the resort room. I got in touch with my travel agent but Anand at OG's had already been in touch with Radhika to inform them I'd left the jewellery. Anand arranged for the jewellery to be brought to me in Cochin. I wanted to thank the resort cleaning staff headed by Sheeba and Anand for their honesty and efficiency in following up on my oversight.

I highly recommend OGs if you want a laid back, relaxing and nurturing experience. The staff are wonderful.

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I found this hotel (loose word) on the internet and the site looked amazing and promises lots, however the reality is slightly different. The place is very hard to find to start with and could benefit from better signposting, the reception was mixed. We had requested the old rooms in the bungalow which is what is shown on the website, not one in the 2 concrete blocks that lack character and strangely arent shown on the website. When we eventually did get into the old rooms it was lovely however the a/c worked only periodically and generally not at night when you needed it! The brochure in the room also promises lots of different activities which dont materialise. Meals are served in a bamboo hut and if you want alcohol take your own with you.

Having said all that the food was fantastic, the beach deserted and the most amazing sunsets. The staff were great, apart from the manager who has a tendency to hover!!!

If you are looking for a get away type of place which has some comforts, great food and most definately not a resort, I would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GromitManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
0.7 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#14 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marari Leena Beach House
Marari Leena Beach House
#4 of 34 in Mararikulam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marari Beach Paradise
Marari Beach Paradise
#17 of 194 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marari Cleetus Residency
Marari Cleetus Residency
#5 of 24 in Mararikulam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Marari Austin Beach Villa
#6 of 34 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OG's Beach Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OG's Beach Bungalow

Property: OG's Beach Bungalow
Address: Kattoor Post Office | Near Kalavoor Railway Station, Alappuzha 688549, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
OG's Beach Bungalow Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing