We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice middle-of-nowhere hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
OG's Beach Bungalow
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We chose this place with a little trepidation since there was no previous review. But all seemed nice on the website and so we showed up on a humid morning - make sure you have the phone number and directions. Getting there can be quite difficult if your taxi doesn't know the way. Maybe best to arrange the taxi pickup directly from the hotel organisers. So anyway, we showed up in a middle of a fishing village, and there was an isolated beautiful little cottage barely a few meters from the beach.

There are 3 rooms in the main 'heritage' bungalow, and another 3-4 new rooms built a few meters away. Book the front room of the heritage bungalow. The front room has a gorgeous view of the sea right from the bed, the fitting are rustic and rather charming. While we were there, the hot water in the bathroom wasn't working and so we used the shower in one of the other rooms. The place needs a bit of refurbishment though, and a thorough dusting everyday. The owners would do well to keep a closer eye on the place - it's needs a little lovin' ...

Having said that, the beach is paradise. Swimming is possible (but not too far in, we were told) but we didn't try it.. were just so mesmerised by the sitting-with-that-gorgeous-view-in-front-of-us feeling! Be warned though that there are a thousand crabs scuttling around on the shoreline. If you are up early enough, you can watch the fishermen bring in their daily catch, and sort the fresh goodies right there on the beach. A photographer's delight!

Food is basic - fresh and good.. you can ask them to cook you more or less what you want - fish, crabs, lobsters galore! Some specialities might cost extra, so check beforehand. Fixed mealtimes... and we ate in the main dining room. cost 7000 incl of food and taxes. Buy the beer outside before you get there (the staff can get it for you, but they try to charge you 4 times the retail cost!!!) and store it in the fridge (the guestrooms share a basic pantry - it wasn't too clean, though). Then sit out on the sun loungers and you will feel you are almost alone in the world.

This little hideaway is basically like having your own little cottage on the beach. if you want a quiet, private, gorgeous, lazy as hell holiday.. then go here. Else go to an ordinary resort :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travolinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2009

True to its name, OG’s is a three-room bungalow right on the edge of the beach in Mararikulam, a small fishing village about 20km north of Allepy in Kerala. It’s a much less developed area than other beach destinations in Kerala and so asides from a few local fishermen going about their daily business you are pretty much alone to enjoy the really scenic beach and ocean – an increasing rarity in India.

We stayed in what I think is the best room at OG’s- the room that is closest to the beach. The room itself is nice enough – nothing fancy but the view is what really set it apart. It’s an incredible feeling to wake up, look out your window, and see nothing but near deserted beach with only a few boats off in the distance. The other two rooms are similar in size but don’t have as nice a view (though it's still quite nice I'm sure)

The food was excellent and fresh (especially the seafood) and the staff service was reasonably attentive. After asking, we arranged to have our dinners served on the terrace in front of our room, overlooking the ocean, instead of their rather staid restaurant a few meters away.

There is not much to do at OG’s, which can be a good or a bad thing depending on what you are looking for. Asides from swimming (strong rip-tide), walking along the beach, tanning and lazing about in the hammock, the staff can arrange for free bicycles to explore the local village and can also set up a paid fishing expedition (which we didn’t do).

A word of caution though - OG’s appears to be expanding. We saw two or three new bungalows that had just been built. While they probably have just as good a view as the original bungalow, they don’t seem to have verandas and don’t look as nice. If you decide to stay at OG’s, I’d recommend asking to stay in the original bungalow, in the room that is advertised on their website.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolly_Bengali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guillaume G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoupieBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel45000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 70 in Alappuzha
666 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
6.6 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
196 reviews
6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
805 reviews
5 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OG's Beach Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OG's Beach Bungalow

Address: Kattoor Post Office | Near Kalavoor Railway Station, Alappuzha 688549, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 189 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: £32 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
OG's Beach Bungalow Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing