We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable resort by the secluded Marari beach”
Review of Abad Turtle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abad Turtle Beach
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

In God's own country, Mararikulam beach is a hidden gem... wonderful and secluded. The Abad Turtle resort is a perfect match for accommodation to enjoy the beauty of the beach.
A huge property by the beach, with "cottages between the trees" format, a private sit-out for each cottage complete with a hammock and romantic sun-roofed bathrooms. Rooms are big and clean. The swimming pool adjoining the dinning area is good. Huge choice for food ... tastes good too. The private beach is well maintained. The management had arranged an evening of classical dance by the poolside. A perfect setting for spending few blissful days by the beach with the family . One suggestion for the management - the property being huge, the distance between the restaurant and the beach is a good 7-8 minutes walk; So it would be great if they can arrange for a beach shack serving drinks and snacks for guests.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanghamitra_B_Jayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Abad Turtle Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spent 1d1n at the resort .Plenty of trees especially mango trees with lovely cottages,each having a backyard with a hammock.Our hammock was fastened to two mango trees and it was a great experience to have ripe mangoes falling all around us and in the hammock. Cottage had a spacious bathroom with a sun window, again overlooking mangoes on the tree.The pool was good surrounded by curved coconut trees making for a good view. The beach is private and clean and in the mornings, one can even watch crabs. We saw a dolphin as well. There are non intrusive lifeguards as well There is a butterfly garden and an organic vegetable garden to look around. Bicycles can be hired to look around the property.Food was good especially the sea food spread and beer is sold as coconut water ! Overall stay was very relaxing and one can feel very close to nature during stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramaenganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The perfect place if you wish to relax and feel pampered. Just loved staying there and do almost nothing. They have the most amazing restaurant and every day we tasted something new and wonderful. The Ayurvedic center was the best I have ever tried and the sunset was just magical. One day we rented bikes at the hotel, went for a ride in the area and had a lot of fun. The resort is clean with a very friendly and serviceminded staff. Spend a great deal of time in the hammoch wathing the birds, butterflies and ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaPLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I simply loved this resort. Very spacious, well planned and laid out with a clean, uncrowded beach in close proximity. Amazing cottages and the cottage we stayed at had a spacious bathroom with a skylight and a tree growing inside!! Spacious rooms with your own private verandah/sit out as well as a hammock to lie about in.

They has a lovely clean pool, an organic garden, a butterfly garden, ducks in the pond and a lovely sit as a restaurant which added to the feel and look of the place. Highly recommended to stay there just for the ambience. The buffet breakfast spread is simply awesome and healthy.

The staff ever smiling and helpful. On the downside, no room service is offered at this resort. I wonder why??

I definitely plan to visiting the resort once again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IceCandy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for a night with family, by the end of May and the place was full with ripe mangoes falling every where. We had a great time eating fresh mangoes as they fell,specially the traditional naadan varieties , which reminded me of my childhood days. The Check in was smooth, with fresh juices as welcome drinks, we had a great villa, close to the beach and the beach was well maintained and manned. The pool was nice too, and my kids had a lovely time. The butterfly garden was nice, though there werent much other activities being an off season. The check out was smooth too, though they were checking in a large group by the side. Overall a good quality family outing !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaisonac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The best part of our stay was, we got upgraded to a Villa from a cottage...But the worst part was room service. They made us wait 1 hour for check-in and check-out, unlike any other Abad property. Apart from that, the property is awesome, you can spend all your time just roaming around. The resort has a private beac, which is just a 5min walk away and yes the beach security is very good. The beach is violent so its not advisable to swim, but you can enjoy seeing the waves sitting on the hammocks or chairs. Food was good. Room was perfect with all amenities in place. The cottages are spread across the proeperty amidst white sand, having hammocks. There is also a butterfly garden and organic vegetable farm inside the resort which are worth spending time on. You can also hire a bi-cycle to go around the property. We loved the moonlit night walk from our villa to the restaurant. We loved the place so much that we wanted to extend our stay here.

Room Tip: Only 2 villas have beach view. So do not expect to see the beach from your room. But all offer good...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratyusha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We visited the property with extended family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The beach is spectacular and the resort provides a private access to the beach. Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms modern. Loved the sunlit roof in the bathroom. The staff was very friendly, yet not intrusive and were willing to accept a request or two with a smiling face. They have bicycles available on rent, a platform for fishing, a play area for kids, the pool is small but well maintained. The butterfly park and organic garden are worth a dekko.

The restaurant is small, but serves a decent variety of fresh food. While the non-vegetarians will have a ball, vegetarians also had a great selection of food to choose from. The breakfast buffet was fresh and offered a pretty good variety. Lunch and dinner are a-la-carte and we had a great time eating at the restaurant.

Go to Abad Turtle Beach Resort for a decadent, laid back holiday with friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breaksfromblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
1.0 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
305 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
8.2 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
685 reviews
5.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Turtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Turtle Beach

Address: Varankavala, Pollathai P.O. Mararikulam | Mararikulam, Alappuzha 688567, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £62 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abad Turtle Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread across an area of 13 acres of land, Turtle Beach Resort is ideally located at Mararikulam, a fishing village about 30 kms from Kochi. The resort overlooks the white sandy Marari Beach and has a rivulet flowing on one side. Stretching across the expansive area are 16 cottages comprising 29 beach cottages and villa. Facilities: The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned with en-suite toilets and individual patios. Room are equipped with TV, telephone, fridge, tea/coffee maker and individual safe deposit locker, Ayurveda centre, doctor on call, currency exchange, credit card accepted, travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abad Turtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Turtle Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Abad Turtle Beach Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing