We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort for susegad stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed in this resort for a week in the last week of Jan'12. I had a good experience but i never cared to write any reviews. So now when i finally thought to pen down my experience, I was bit surprised to see lot of negative reviews.

I had booked this resort only based on the reviews given in tripadvisor. The reviews that i had read were from average to good. There were no bad reviews.

About my experience -

The resort:
The resort location is excellent. Now this depends on what kind of experience you're looking for. If you're planning to stay for a longer time in allappey, just enjoy the nature, and not much hopping around, then this is the resort to stay. This resort is in an island and they operate their own ferry/boat service to commute between the resort and mainland alappey. Hence accessibility is limited. So not good if you're planning to just stay over in alappey for a night or two. If you want to stay put in Alappey - this is the resort!

Rooms-
Rooms are good! I did not have any issues as far as hygiene is concerned. Now this could a subjective factor ( i did not experience any leakages -as there are no rains in Jan- or infestation at least). But the best thing about the room (which gave me the best experience in Alappey) is the large balcony that opens on to the backwater. The beauty of alappey is in its back waters and this resort is the best option you can get (for the price you're paying) to enjoy the real beauty of Alappey - its backwaters. You could simply do the bird watching from your balcony, watch the house boat (I hate hose boats - explained later) and canoes plying in the back water of Allappey- all from your room. It is such a susegad experience!
The location of the rooms are also amazing. There is a vast paddy field on the east side (you can watch the beautiful sun rise) and back water on the other side (where you can watch the breathtaking sun set and enjoy the colours of Alappey sky!)

Food-
Food is good and punjabi/north indian food is surprisingly good! Kerala gets lot of tourists/travellers from North India. Hence these people here have really learnt to cook good paneer curries. Can't say about non-veg good as i'm a vegan.

Service -
Service was prompt and they did satisfy all my requests. They have a family like approach and take good care of your needs. Shibu (the manager) is a very friendly guy. Sunil is very helpful and responsive.

House boats-
I"ve seen lot of bad reviews regarding house boat bookings done from the hotel. Firstly, before booking any house boat please do read the blogs about house boat (in general). Avoid house boats. They are only commercialized to earn money and are not at all good. There are hygiene issues and they also cause lot of environmental problems. They (houseboats) are largely responsible for polluting the backwaters and affecting the marine life of Allappey. They are run and managed by lobbies only to make money (at any costs). The real beauty of Alappey is in the narrow canals back waters, Houseboats DO NOT ply on narrow canals but on wide lakes. Go for canoeing (that goes through the narrow canal) which can offer you the ultimate experience of Alappey.

The location of the resort is so scenic that lot of houseboats get parked (night halt) around the resort.

So over all it was a great experience. I stayed in this resort for a week and was more than satisfied. I hope they do maintain the same quality of service and facilities that I had experienced.

One major drawback that I would like to mention is the hotel receives lot of groups (students, employees etc) who come for half day (lunch to dinner). Now the groups and the commotion they cause could really spoil the tranquility and serenity that you would want to enjoy. This can become frustrating. During my week's stay there were two groups that had come and had really frustrated the hell out of us. Based on my complain, the manager (Shibu) in fact stopped the music that was being played on the speakers (much to the disappointment of the group). But i appreciated this move of his.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gl0bal_yatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

The location of the resort by the riverside with water on all sides is excellent.A small boat ride to the resort ignites your excitement.We stayed for a couple of nights from 13th to 15th June2012. You get a real experience of God's Own Country with a lot of greenery and water coupled with a complete village environment.Truly relaxing stay for all those who want to escape from the crowded city life and not wanting spoils of luxuries.The accomodation is basic and good with rooms having good views of the waterfront.More facilities are under construction.There are few independent cottages by the water.Food is also good but do not expect too much.I recommend the local delicacies.Service is also good with the manager Mr.Sabu being very helpful. A vacation here during the monsoon time can be more exclusive and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sridharan_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Pls never go to their houseboats, I and my cousin from US booked their houseboat in February for which they took 100% advance and our experience was the worst ever.
The staff did not co-operate with us at all, in fact they were most rude.
Food served was yuk.
Nothing about them was worth recommending and above all since we vacated their houseboat in the evening itself they did not have the courtesy of making partial refund...CHEATERS
Never approach them for bookings, you will spoil your trip and time and shall come back with a very bitter experience.

Ishmeet Khurana, Delhi

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gurukirpa_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Hi all, please avoid this hotel. This is not well maintained.also owners cheated us by booking a house boat for 10500 when the same was available for 7000. Also rooms had lizards. rooms were not clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohitshah1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I was at the Green Palace to celebrate my 30th wedding anniversary and it was a joyous one. Mr. Sabu was very helpful and till the time we went on board the house boat all was taken care by Mr. Sabu and his staffs. The AC rooms were indeed good,We had a pleasant stay and all was well. Mr. Sabu waited for us at the jetty area and also escorted us back to the resort via the transport boat (their own).Their staffs were efficient and we liked their services. Their backup generators were immediately commissioned when the powers went out. Overall, I have decided that we would be going back again next year, InshaAllah.
Best Regards,
Sadayan Ebrams

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sadayankodaikanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A truly amazing location to die for !
A/c cottages are the one to choose for !
The Staffs especially Sabu and dhananjay are very helpful
The main attractive feature is Jiji thomas ,the owner of this resort ! very friendly man and treats like a family
Went there last september with the family and was overwhelmed by the hospitality ,location and arrangements !

Really superb place to visit ! go for the cottages though :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aravindkrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have been to this resort last week along with my wife and really we had a very good time in the resort. I have booked A/c Cottage [C3] during our stay and it is really worth for the money. Manager SABU and staff Dananjay are really very good guys and they make our stay very comfortable.

Vegetarian food given in the resort was also very good. I would recommend other to stay in this resort if you get a chance to stay in alleppey.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajeevnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.5 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
6 mi away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#13 of 70 in Alappuzha
73 reviews
27.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#22 of 70 in Alappuzha
57 reviews
7.5 mi away
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Palmgrove Lake Resort
#16 of 70 in Alappuzha
219 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#19 of 70 in Alappuzha
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palace Kerala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palace Kerala Resort

Address: Chempumpuram P.O., Alappuzha 688505, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Green Palace Kerala Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Palace Kerala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Palace Kerala Resort India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing