We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy We Chose It”
Review of Venice Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Venice Castle
Ranked #2 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy We Chose It”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

As others have said, it's close enough to walk to the main street but fairly quiet because it's surrounded by trees and gardens. House pet Julie the dog is sweet and docile, not a nuisance at all. Clean, quiet, good A/C, decent TV, tasty breakfast plus tea and coffee available often. We were pleasantly surprised by how few mosquitoes there were, given that we were there at the tail end of monsoon. Our room had excellent velcro-ed screens on the windows so we had the windows open at cooler times and A/C when we needed it. One bonus was how knowledgeable and articulate owner Matthew was. We were there for the annual Nehru boat races and he gave us perfect advice about when and how to go and what to expect. Other guests said he helped arrange excellent boat trips - but we had already done ours. He also gave us great advice on where to eat dinner and where to shop. Try Dreamers cafe on the beach. (You'll need to take a 'rick). We had two rooms and yes, one of them had a tiny lizard (eg no thicker than my baby finger) in the bathroom. I guess I'd rather have a lizards than mosquitoes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfinnToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    64
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
206
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed one night before getting a houseboat. Rooms are nice and clean. Manager/Host is very polite and accommodating. Wifi is so so (no streaming or video downloads). Within walking distance to everything. Breakfast simple but good. They also helped us find a houseboat that we loved (great rickshaw/guide) for a good price. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tappleton21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This place is in the narrow roads and is difficult to access. The place gives you a home feeling with clean rooms and bathrooms. But if you hate LIZARDS, then think twice before staying here. The structure of the house is modern not traditional. The manager is very accommodating and helping. Breakfast served was simple and tasty.

When took a round of the town, we realized that there are better homestays available with traditional outlook.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaza Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

At 1500 a night (off-season) this place is an absolute steal. Rooms and bathroom could do with a lick of paint but are very clean and tidy. There is also a really nice balconied seating area which would be a great place to have a few beers. Breakfast is either plain omelette and toast or Keralan breakfast, simple but at this price just fine. The hotel is set down a side street next to a Hindu temple and a mosque (more on the mosque later!) and therefore there is minimal traffic noise if any. This place is much more hotel than homestay, but the family that run it are wonderful. Wifi works in the room!

I was violently ill on my second night in Alleppey (nothing to do with Venice Castle!) and spent the whole of the next day in bed with a fever. My wife didn't want to go out on her own, so the mother made us a load of toast, jam and tea (all I was capable of eating) at around dinner time, which was a real lifesaver! Matthew and Thomas (the main hosts) weren't there during the day on that occasion (I believe they were visiting family) but enquired after my health that evening and offered to take me to the hospital. Matthew, Thomas and mum were incredibly kind and polite - nothing was a problem (Thomas even put my beers in the fridge for me, and brought them to me on a tray with some glasses when I asked for a coupes out of the fridge). We did our laundry here, and two big carrier bags came to 500 rupees - we tried to offer more, and give them a bigger tip, but they wouldn't take it, a very rare thing in India! Finally Thomas organised a very reasonably priced backwater tour which we loved. Perfect hosts in every way.

Niggles - mosque next door so obvious issue at 5am! (But only lasts for a couple of minutes) Shower a little temperamental (tip - run the hot on its own then add a little cold water at a time, then reset if it stops again - Indian showers don't seem to like hot and cold water being mixed). Walls a little thin - were woken up by late arrivals on the last couple of nights. TV was a little skittish. There's always niggles and at this price and with such wonderful hosts I'm almost a little embarrassed to mention them.

Room Tip: Front two rooms on the first floor seemed the best, minimal traffic noise if any. Had aircon and fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrannosaurus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

One thing which makes this place good is their hospitality.
Rest they have homely environment, breakfast was good and not limited..eat as much as you can.:D. Beds are cozy and big, Toilets are clean. What else you can ask for.

If you are not particularly looking for see facing or near to backwaters then you must go there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Located close enough to the heart of Allepey city as to be easily accessible, but far enough from the main road as to seem set apart from the bustle of civilization, Venice Castle is a great getaway.

We were able to find our way there easily, and the two days we spent there were comfortable in all aspects. The rooms were pleasant, the food was made to our taste, their chai was out of this world, and the owner recommended perfect places to go for sightseeing and eating, after listening to what we were looking for.
They also have a small but lovely selection of books - English, Japanese, German and French - and we spent half a day just browsing and reading comfortably, lounging about on the upper floor.

The only points of concern are:
1. The AC in our room was a bit too cold, and the remote did not allow for it to be controlled properly.
2. They have an overly friendly dog which is quite likely to jump on you when he first sees you. If you don't like dogs, do ask the owner to tie him up before you get out of your vehicle.


Overall highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TigerPandaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We loved staying at Venice Castle (from 2nd may to 6th may 2014).Owner Mr. & Mrs. Mathew, his mother, his son Joseph and staff Mr. Thomas are very friendly and helpful.i highly recommend this home stay and will definitely stay there again. House is situated very near to bus stand, Boat jetty, beach.The TripAdvisor awards they have on display are clearly well-deserved.------ V.Kannan Advocate High court, Madurai. 9443154058

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellaivkannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
21.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.5 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 195 in Alappuzha
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalappura Homestay
Kalappura Homestay
#6 of 195 in Alappuzha
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Castle

Property: Venice Castle
Address: Opp.to D.T.P.C Office | Behind CANARA Bank, Boat Jetty Road, Alappuzha 688011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venice castle is the home stay of your dreams It is ideally located in the very heart of the town. Yet, Venice castle is cut off from the din and bustle of the town by wooded surroundings that lends an ambiance of the country side. The home stay is set in large of lush green plants, landscaped premises and a well mowed lawn with garden lights.Peace and alms prevails over the place which is broken only with the chiming of soft bells from the nearby temple, the chirruping of birds or the playful whistling of the squirrels in the tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Venice Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Castle Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing