We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palmy Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmy Residency
Ranked #21 of 191 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value and great service!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Palmy for one night in February and really enjoyed our stay. The location is ok, but the service of the helpful manager is great! He organised a great canoe trip on the backwaters for a good price at limited notice as well as handing out a map with lots of helpful info about resturants, etc. the wifi is good and the sitting room is nice. The rooms are great prices starting at 550Rs!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallymceniry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    67
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
75
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Having stayed in Alleppey previously we can compare fairly and this was excellent.
The service was very good and not pushy over backwater canoe trips as some were.
Very knowledgeable about the town and food places, both of their recommendations, Hot Kitchen and Indian Coffee House being First Class.

Clean, comfortable good sized rooms, we had one with a sit out which was appreciated. No problem with mosquitoes as nets provided. We didn't have the breakfast on offer, jam and toast I think, adequate if you like that sort of thing but we preferred the Indian Coffee House within easy walking distance.

No hesitation.. stay here but book ahead it was always full occupancy.

Room Tip: Book ones with a sit out it does get steamy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff. Good tour of backwaters in a punted boat including lunch stop and village visit. Neat basic rooms (bed, table and chair) but no sheet/bedding provided apart from base sheet. Cute balcony. Good location near bus depot and just off the road in a lovely green setting. No hot water but do have a generator for during powercuts. Free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munnar
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Palmy Residency is in a quiet back street 50m off the main road north of the north main canal. The few rooms are clean and comfortable, the better ones are larger and come with a marble tiled terrace. There's free WiFi which sometimes doesn't work because of the few scheduled power cuts in Alleppey. A nice and simple breakfast is also available. It seems to be constantly full so book ahead!

The owner and staff are extremely helpful. We had no reservation and it was full but the owner helped us find another place close by for the first night - not as nice but okay. The second night we were lucky and got a room at Palmy.

We also booked a canoe tour with Palmy and had a very quiet and relaxing ride through the backwaters. All in all: highly recommendable!

((Stayed there in Jan 2013))

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay. Awesome location, lovely large clean rooms and bathrooms. Cable tv, nice grounds and friendly staff. Very low price for what you get. Organised a canoe backwater trip thru them too which was FANTASTIC!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holschier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

THIS is what budget hotels should be like - basic and good. Perfect place and highly recommended. Despite the low rates this places does "basic" well. Large clean rooms, a little veranda to sit on, landscaped gardens, friendly and helpful staff. The bathroom only had cold water but we were ok with that. Happy to have found this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalaland0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Really don't expect too much from the rooms which are large, clean enough but basic. We came to really like this place because the staff were so helpful. We booked a house boat & a canoe trip through them and both were very good (especially the lunch on the canoe trip!) In the end l was abit sad to leave Alappuzha even though when first arrived from Varkala l thought l wouldn't like it at all, l put that all down to this place and the staff's genuine desire for us to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suellene3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.6 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 191 in Alappuzha
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alapatt Homestay
Alapatt Homestay
#27 of 191 in Alappuzha
63 reviews
1.9 mi away
Thoms Homestay
Thoms Homestay
#8 of 191 in Alappuzha
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#18 of 191 in Alappuzha
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mantra Heritage Home
Mantra Heritage Home
#15 of 191 in Alappuzha
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Yoga Retreat
Paradise Inn Yoga Retreat
#88 of 191 in Alappuzha
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmy Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmy Residency

Property: Palmy Residency
Address: Palmy Residency Opposite Matha Jetty, Alappuzha 688003, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palmy Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmy Residency Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing