We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms for a good price”
Review of Palmy Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmy Residency
Ranked #27 of 199 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms for a good price”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Of all the places we contacted prior to our stay Palmy Residency offered the best price and when we arrived had us collected from the bus stop. Our room was nice and clean with a good amount of space and a view of the garden. Secluded down a short track it was quiet on a night yet within walking distance of the town's amenities.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a balcony room upstairs, or like we did go for the cheaper ground floor option...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    69
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
75
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We found this place using our Rough Guide. Used a tuk tuk to find the place; on first appearance we weren't sure at all. Once we went inside the place we were pleasantly surprised, nice clean open lobby, airy room and decent wet room. Free wifi and breakfast available as well. The owner sorted out our backwaters trip as well on a punted canoe for the two of us for only about £7 each (not including lunch)! He also gave us advice about going to Marari beach, probably one of the best beaches we had ever seen... paradise. Overall really friendly and perfect location to explore the beautiful backwaters of Alleppey.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesh1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Palmy Residency during our time at Alleppey. The room was an excellent size for the price and the bed was comfortable. The person running the guesthouse was very helpful and answered all of our questions about Alleppey. Whilst here we met with other travellers we previously had met in other parts of Kerala as well as new people. The guesthouse is the perfect distance from the bus station meaning you are able to walk there. We give this guesthouse a 4/5 as the room could have been ever so slightly cleaner, the bathroom could have a lick of paint and due to not having the option for AC. A great place though for no thrills, cheap accommodation in Alleppey.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This place is one of the few and far between gems you find in India.
We came here on recomendation of our friends and the lonely planet.
The rooms are huge!! They are absolutly spotless and our one even had a balcony. Such good value! If there is no one here, you have tonnes of bargining power.
The breakfast is hearty, convienent and cheap.
We booked a backwater half day canoe ride/tour with the guest house too and it was a great way to spend the morning (500 rupees per person for 5 hours!).
The staff are friendly and sweet - a real treat for India.
You won't be dissapointed with this fabulous place :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We're currently staying here with our daughter. It's basic (hence very cheap), but clean and friendly. Only 5 minutes walk from the bus station. It has moved location, so look out for posters near the bridge rather than relying on the map in the Lonely Planet. We went on a lovely canoe trip through the backwaters this morning that was arranged by the hotel. Great find - glad we came here

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1066cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were supposed to stay one night at Palmy but after trying to get settled for a few hours I just couldn't cope without AC (5 months pregnant and alleppy was stifling hot with no breeze). We were assisted in finding another place at a friend's new accommodation which was such a relief. I would recommend Palmy if you can handle no AC and the location was convenient, however really don't book a houseboat without seeing it first. We had a terrible night on a houseboat and had to go back to Palmy to complain (at 6000Rs its an expensive experience and should be as good as sold). We enjoyed the sailing and the food it was the sleeping (noise from other houseboats - unoccupied so houseboys watching indian tv at full blast and non-continuous AC throughout the night and no ventilation) and poor condition of the boat we were unhappy about and we were not in a position to refuse to board (we had to drive 40 min away to meet the boat as it had been rented for 2 days by previous tourists).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

As a single woman traveling alone, I felt this was a safe location, well situated and convenient to amenities. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean and breakfast was hearty. Staff was helpful & friendly and not pushy.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.9 mi away
Thoms Homestay
Thoms Homestay
#9 of 199 in Alappuzha
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Springs Inn
Springs Inn
#29 of 199 in Alappuzha
59 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palmy Lake Resort
Palmy Lake Resort
#23 of 160 in Alappuzha
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maya Residency
Maya Residency
#18 of 199 in Alappuzha
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alapatt Homestay
Alapatt Homestay
#24 of 199 in Alappuzha
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmy Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmy Residency

Property: Palmy Residency
Address: Palmy Residency Opposite Matha Jetty, Alappuzha 688003, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmy Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmy Residency Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing