We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay with friendly people”
Review of Palmy Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmy Residency
Ranked #23 of 198 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice stay with friendly people”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

we enjoyed the stay at palmy as rooms are simple but spacious and very clean. seating area outside room was great! breakfast available at good price but nothing special. the people though are incredibly friendly and helpfull!

booked a housboat tour through them as well which was ok. we did like the boat and food bur were disappointed by the cruise - was more a lake tour than exploring backwaters but I guess this applies to most houseboat tours...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daebischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    69
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
75
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband stayed here at the beginning of this year when we could not get a room out our first choice. We were pleasantly surprised given the low cost. This place is no-frills but refreshingly quiet and very clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5tace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in January with some friends we met travelling, and it was a pleasant stay. The rooms are all individual little huts with a seating area outside which is lovely. We booked a houseboat and canoe through them, which I would strongly recommend you do not do. They quoted us a lower price for the canoes, which jumped up once we'd booked (maybe an oversight) and both trips had minimal sailing time (out of 24 hrs on the houseboat, ŵe got 3 hrs sail time). There were also roaches on the houseboat, gross!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is probably one of the best value places to stay in Southern India. Rooms are spacious and clean and very reasonably priced (650R-850R). The shower only seemed to run to lukewarm but to be honest it really wasn't an issue as Alleppey is ridiculously hot and humid!

We arranged to do a half-day canoe tour via the hotel (600R per person for 5 hours). It was OK value compared to some of the houseboat options but it wasn't great - 5 hours is quite a long time in an uncomfortable slow moving canoe but you don't get far outside of central Alleppey (which is pretty grim!) in that time. The hotel assured us that the benefit of going in a canoe rather than a houseboat was that we would get to go down the smaller, less touristy canals however this was just not true, the canoe did exactly the same route as the bigger boats and really was more of a paddle around the big lake.

For the same experience for a lot less money you could just get the ferry from Alleppey to Kottayam which runs every 2 hours (9:30 onwards) and takes 2.5 hours - it does pretty much the same route as the canoe trip (we know because it passed us several times!)

Room Tip: Your room may not have a mosquito net when you arrive - just ask at reception for one as they have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Mathew's Palmy Residency is the best place we have stayed in India. Hidden down a small road, this place is incredibly peaceful, and truly lovely to look at. We had a room opening out to the courtyard, and spent much time sitting on the porch, reading and enjoying the view. The room was gorgeous, with Italian marble floors and dark wooden beds. I found myself taking many pictures! The beds were perfectly comfortable, and the pillows were excellent. After a few days our sheets were changed and towels replaced! The bathroom was spotless. The staff was very friendly, and always helpful. Very calm and delightful people to be around! There was free wifi, which was a plus, and there were cheap bottles of water.
The only complaints I have are that the room could get very hot at night, though there were plenty of windows and a fan. And there was some noise during the night, mainly music from the street and the calls of a muezzin or two around 5:30am.
A wonderful place to come back to after exploring Alleppey! And a great deal. Absolutely love Mathews Palmy Residency! Cannot wait to come back.



Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torreyandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

One frustrating aspect of the otherwise excellent Tripadvisor is that in my opinion reviewers should be able to mark a place out of 10, rather than five, as so many places warrant fives, sevens or nines. Palmy Residency I believe deserves a solid nine. We spent just two nights here recently as a base for exploring the famous backwaters and had a delightful stay. Our room was big, bright and airy, and the little personal outside seating area was a special and enjoyable touch. I have to admit that whilst the backwaters were fascinating, I wasn't too fond of Alleppey itself, so it was wonderful to be able to retreat to this peaceful little hotel, set away from the frenzy of the town centre. The manager was very helpful and organised a gorgeous boat trip around the backwaters for 950 pp. For that we got a small private boat expertly navigated by the excellent Raju, and our wonderful lunch alone would have cost at least half the price of the trip in a city restaurant. Another excellent aspect of the trip was that, although it generally runs between 9am - 4pm, they were willing to be flexible about this so, not being a morning person, I arranged for our tour to run between 11am - 6pm, which was simply perfect. I see that some people were able to get a room here for 600 R, which would be amazing, but what we got for our 850 R was very good indeed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Palmy residency for 4 nights and we got a large double room for 600r a night which was immaculate and came with an ensuite bathroom and a fan in the room. There was a decent amount of mozzy protection on the windows but it could really do with repairing as its all coming away from the frame and becoming pretty pointless.
There were 400r double rooms available with en-suite but they didnt have TV's which was pretty much the only difference
The staff there were really nice and helped us sorted out a canoe trip and gave us information on the boat to Kottayam.

The canoe trip we booked cost us 1600r with us leaving at 8am and being back in the room by 3am. It started by getting a boat up the the first lake/lagoon where we were then taken to our drivers house for a delicious breakfast. His house was right on the water and in a stunning location, it was also really nice to meet his family who were lovely. We then got in the canoe and were taken around the backwaters which were stunning. The trip was good but probably way to long as it becomes very repetitive and you move along very slowly. Even though this is relaxing at first, it can become quite uncomfortable and slightly boring, i would recommend a 3 hour trip at most unless you are doing the house boat. At the end of the trip we were given a huge and delicious thali meal on a banana leaf and then went back to Alleppey on the boat.

For the boat to Kottayam it runs pretty much every 2 hours and costs around 15r each although when we went we were dropped 9kms away and had to get a tuk tuk.

Near the hotel there are a few good and dirt cheap places to eat although there are surprisingly few considering the amount of tourists that must come through here.

You can get wifi for free in the hotel and it reaches all the rooms.

Overall, i would recommend this place if you want cheap and clean accommodation in a good location. I wouldnt recommend too long in Alleppey though as its not a very nice city and there isnt anything to do other than the backwaters which only require a day or 2.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are great and have a big balcony seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.0 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
1.6 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#2 of 198 in Alappuzha
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Springs Inn
Springs Inn
#29 of 198 in Alappuzha
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
0.2 mi away
Alapatt Homestay
Alapatt Homestay
#27 of 198 in Alappuzha
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#1 of 198 in Alappuzha
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmy Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmy Residency

Property: Palmy Residency
Address: Palmy Residency Opposite Matha Jetty, Alappuzha 688003, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmy Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmy Residency Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing