We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The World Backwaters
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

welcome was good room was spacious i stayed in the room 404 lake view room though it was raining in between but very good view from room balcony food was bit costly breakfast was good spread only with out local driver finding out hotel will be difficult from hotel alapuzzha is far but i suggest go for this hotel peace and calm .

Room Tip: go for 404 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep_hyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about our Resort on TripAdvisor. we are happy to note that you had a wonderful time with us . Let me thank you for staying with us and for your great review about us . we look forward to welcome you to our Resort again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    113
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
170
91
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Awesome environment so peaceful and relaxing. My 2 days stay at this place was a stressbuster. I loved the ambience, staff is good, food is average. If you wanna relax this is the place you wanna be. Totally loved it.

Room Tip: Book the room facing the backwater, its quite a view to enjoy sipping a coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about our Resort on TripAdvisor. We are happy to note that you had a wonderful time with us . Let me thank you for staying with us and for your great review about us . we look forward to welcome you to our Resort again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Check-in was smooth. They provided us with a welcome drink. The bellboys and the front-desk lady were extremely efficient and courteous throughout our stay.

Travel desk was a big let down, because they were unable to provide us with the best/reasonable rates. They charged us INR 2200/- for a drive from Allepey to Kottayam and back. They also gave us a bloated estimate of INR 4500/- for an Indica Vista from Allepey to Munnar, and we got a better deal (read: INR 3000/- for a Logan) from an independent contractor. While the Shikhaara ride arranged by the travel desk was pleasant, it was certainly overpriced at INR 800/- per hour for a couple (Note: Avoid visiting the virgin island, since it’s just laced with random flora and fauna and would hardly interest anyone other than a seasoned botanist).

Laundry service was prompt and was delivered within 36 hours. However, there is no First Aid kit at the facility and given the resort’s proximity to the closest town, one is advised to carry basic medication, prescription pills and the like with them.

We stayed at The World Backwaters for eight days. During this period we lived in two different rooms – the Lakeview room (503) on the first floor and a ground floor room (401). Both rooms were extremely well-maintained, had good beds with comfortable mattresses and extra pillows, nice storage space, air-conditioned, with a functional mini-fridge, TV with ample channels, basic kettle and tea/coffee kit that was replenished daily. Even the bath linen and bed sheets were changed daily. To add to this, the housekeeping staff did a very bang-up job every time they came over to clean the room. We noticed that the rooms were also fumigated and sanitized after every checkout and there was no insect/pest problem whatsoever. Another big plus was that The World Backwaters offers wifi in case you are carrying your laptop with you. So, despite being miles away from home, we were always connected to the rest of the world.

The bathrooms are well-tiled and clean. However, the salt water from the backwaters could be a concern for a few. Bath accessories like shower gel, shampoos and moisturizers were also replaced daily. While there is a solar heater powering hot water in the bathrooms, it is not enough to sustain for more than 10 minutes at a stretch.

The swimming pool is a decent sized pool, but it is not cleaned daily. However, the view from the swimming pool was unbeatable, given the adjacent lake and the fact that there were ample pool chairs and towels. However, they don’t serve any food or beverages in the pool area. Also, one must note that there is no alcohol served at The World Backwaters, but you can definitely carry and drink your own libations on this property.

The restaurant was a bit of a mixed experience for us. The food was slightly above average. While the breakfast buffet was sumptuous, not all a la carte items that we ordered were that great. The one good thing about their menu is their Keralite fare (Note: Do try the Kerala Parathas and the local fish items). The in-room dining service was decent and the staff tried catering to all our needs and demands. All orders were delivered within half-an-hour. However, the clearance bit took a while at times.

They do have a namesake (read: sparsely equipped) gym and a full-fledged Ayurveda Centre on the property. However, given the umpteen other indulgences in and around The World Backwaters, neither of these seemed necessary to us. But it was good to know that we had these options.

Our stay here was memorable thanks in no small part to the excellent service where no stone was left unturned to meet our needs. The staff worked relentlessly around the clock to exceed expectations and we really thank them for their wonderful customer service.

Given that the resort itself was our destination, we were enthralled by their friendly service throughout our stay. We would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an idyllic getaway in God’s own country.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback about our Resort. We extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay in The World backwaters. It gives us more strength in furthering our services for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop of our 10 days Kerala trip. After Cochin we stayed at Mahindra property in munnar and thekkady and was bit skeptical about this place....but to our surprise when the cab took a turn towards the resort....it seems like resort is resting right upon the amazing back water. Location was just awesome...... It was right across the backwater....resort was scattered over a huge area and was very well kept with small cottages scattered all over....take the cottage ...with back water view...and entire day will pass by....rooms are spacious one well kept. Foods were very tasty....specially their sea food and pasta was just amazing....resort staff were friendly.... Pool was well maintained and right adjoining back water.....will surely love to go back again

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nibedita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest, Thank you Very much for choosing our resort for your vacation in Kerala. Delighted to know that you enjoyed the resort and the facilities. Hope to be of service to you again. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Superb Location.. View from Swimming pool and Restaurant is excellent..

So Many Positives+++

Unfortunately I did not got sea facing room due to unavailability.

Restaurant Food is Good, but staff is not cooperative.

Room are pretty descent but Air conditioner are bit old.

Due to lack of arrangement by Restaurant staff I did not had Candle light dinner.. Missed a lot..

Room Tip: Sea Facing Room with Candle Light Dinner booking in Advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SathyaPrakash_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback and acknowledging us as a good place to stay in. We have taken note of the matters you have suggested and will make sure of better service next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Amazing location. Comfort stay.stay in hotel for one night but. Wish to stay more.Rooms are clean and spacious. Most of all bathrooms are clean. Staff of hotel is very helpful.Location of swimming pool is very good near to backwaters. Overall nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil4169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about our Resort on TripAdvisor. we are happy to note that you had a wonderful time with us . Let me thank you for staying with us and for your great review about us . we look forward to welcome you to our Resort again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It has one of the locations and we had booked a lake view room. The staff was very cordial and quick on service. The restaurant staff was new and short staffed but the manager more than made up for it. The swimming pool along side the back water is an icing on the cake. The food was average. the rooms were clean & spacious. The entire property was well lit up and well maintained. Could not try the Ayurvedic spa, would love to visit the next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anirantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback about our Resort. We extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay in The World backwaters. It gives us more strength in furthering our services for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well to Kerala. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
14.5 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#6 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#7 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
9.1 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Property: The World Backwaters
Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#11 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing