We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome location. Good property..few small steps to become Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The World Backwaters
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome location. Good property..few small steps to become Great”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked 5 Lakeview rooms in early Aug and stayed for 2 nights. The resort location is absolutely breath taking - right on the lake with marvelous views throughout the day - and atmosphere is serene and tranquil, . They have a large pool facing the lake. We found the Resort premises very clean throughout the 2+ days. Food at BF and Dinner were of good quality and taste (mostly ethnic Indian food), but nothing much to right about.

This resort definitely has a solid foundation to become a true 4 star - including a warm, positive and accommodating attitude of every single person working at this property. Better management supervision, a bit more customer-oriented thinking and small investments would make this a 4+ star property overnight.

We arrived by boat (rented by us) the check in evening. Feedback 1>The Hotel's boat was parked at a location from where you can easily get off a boat, but instead of moving the hotel boat and let our boat dock there, they chose to get us out over the slippery boundary wall which was awkward.

Due to the incessant monsoon rains, the small path to the room from the common walkway was dangerously and seriously slippery! Feedback2> Better supervision would have revealed this before guests arrive. After couple of kids+adults slipped (fortunately without hurting themselves) and 2 calls, they spread a special mix of bleach and sand which helped. I believe it should be scrubbed clean every other day to prevent what can be serious accidents.

Rooms are spacious, well furnished, good taste and clean. The Linen and Towels clearly show a poor quality Laundry system. While the bed linen looks good quality, there were visible stains! Same goes for Towels. Feedback3> Invest in a good Laundry system! As the Kerala saying goes, after investing in an elephant, no point being miserly on the chain you buy to tie the elephant!

Bathrooms were sufficient (not large compared to the room) and mostly clean. The glass enclosed Bath area can do with a bit more cleaning, especially at the corners/edges. Feedback4> Inside the bath area there are no soap holders or shampoo shelves!!! A simple mistake that can be corrected at almost no cost.

Apart from the above, this hotel is safe and recommended. Overall we had a really good time and were happy with the choice

Room Tip: Definitely choose the Lake-view rooms. So called Stream-view is a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShamVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback about our Resort. We extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay in The World backwaters. It gives us more strength in furthering our services and give more attention to the arias you have pointed out to provide a comfortable stay for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    114
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
172
93
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spent 2 nights in this resort in Alleppey. The hotel is in a remote location and even the local drivers find it hard to spot, however, after you go inside you will feel in a different place specially if you book the lake view rooms. This place has got a fairly large pool which we enjoyed at most. Also the service and food quality is good. Overall peaceful place to stay in Alleppey.

Room Tip: Try to book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saptarshi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words of appreciation about Our Resort . We are delighted know your enjoyed your holiday with us. We do sincerely hope to see you again when next in Kerala. It will be our pleasure to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was last day of our five day trip covering Munnar, Thekkady & Alleppy. And we reached this place pretty late in the evening. It was dark and the access road was not that well lit. But once inside the property a cool breeze welcomed us and took away the fatigue from our travel worn bodies... The location of the property is very good. Just on the side of Vembanad lake, the place is very tastefully done. Rooms are beautiful, But bathrooms are cramped. Rooms facing the lake have a great sun set view. Rooms facing inside have a garden view. The staff was very polite & the food served had good menu. Strawberry milkshake was very yummy.
The boat ride arranged by the hotel was very comfortable and good fun.
In door games & cycling was nicely provided to the guests.
Luvly experience....

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor and facing the lake recommended....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruptiVRane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest, Absolutely great to know you had a nice stay with us and thanks for your appreciating words about our facilities and services. Your encouraging words about our Resort is very much appreciated. Wish to be of service to you next time as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

welcome was good room was spacious i stayed in the room 404 lake view room though it was raining in between but very good view from room balcony food was bit costly breakfast was good spread only with out local driver finding out hotel will be difficult from hotel alapuzzha is far but i suggest go for this hotel peace and calm .

Room Tip: go for 404 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep_hyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about our Resort on TripAdvisor. we are happy to note that you had a wonderful time with us . Let me thank you for staying with us and for your great review about us . we look forward to welcome you to our Resort again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Awesome environment so peaceful and relaxing. My 2 days stay at this place was a stressbuster. I loved the ambience, staff is good, food is average. If you wanna relax this is the place you wanna be. Totally loved it.

Room Tip: Book the room facing the backwater, its quite a view to enjoy sipping a coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review about our Resort on TripAdvisor. We are happy to note that you had a wonderful time with us . Let me thank you for staying with us and for your great review about us . we look forward to welcome you to our Resort again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Check-in was smooth. They provided us with a welcome drink. The bellboys and the front-desk lady were extremely efficient and courteous throughout our stay.

Travel desk was a big let down, because they were unable to provide us with the best/reasonable rates. They charged us INR 2200/- for a drive from Allepey to Kottayam and back. They also gave us a bloated estimate of INR 4500/- for an Indica Vista from Allepey to Munnar, and we got a better deal (read: INR 3000/- for a Logan) from an independent contractor. While the Shikhaara ride arranged by the travel desk was pleasant, it was certainly overpriced at INR 800/- per hour for a couple (Note: Avoid visiting the virgin island, since it’s just laced with random flora and fauna and would hardly interest anyone other than a seasoned botanist).

Laundry service was prompt and was delivered within 36 hours. However, there is no First Aid kit at the facility and given the resort’s proximity to the closest town, one is advised to carry basic medication, prescription pills and the like with them.

We stayed at The World Backwaters for eight days. During this period we lived in two different rooms – the Lakeview room (503) on the first floor and a ground floor room (401). Both rooms were extremely well-maintained, had good beds with comfortable mattresses and extra pillows, nice storage space, air-conditioned, with a functional mini-fridge, TV with ample channels, basic kettle and tea/coffee kit that was replenished daily. Even the bath linen and bed sheets were changed daily. To add to this, the housekeeping staff did a very bang-up job every time they came over to clean the room. We noticed that the rooms were also fumigated and sanitized after every checkout and there was no insect/pest problem whatsoever. Another big plus was that The World Backwaters offers wifi in case you are carrying your laptop with you. So, despite being miles away from home, we were always connected to the rest of the world.

The bathrooms are well-tiled and clean. However, the salt water from the backwaters could be a concern for a few. Bath accessories like shower gel, shampoos and moisturizers were also replaced daily. While there is a solar heater powering hot water in the bathrooms, it is not enough to sustain for more than 10 minutes at a stretch.

The swimming pool is a decent sized pool, but it is not cleaned daily. However, the view from the swimming pool was unbeatable, given the adjacent lake and the fact that there were ample pool chairs and towels. However, they don’t serve any food or beverages in the pool area. Also, one must note that there is no alcohol served at The World Backwaters, but you can definitely carry and drink your own libations on this property.

The restaurant was a bit of a mixed experience for us. The food was slightly above average. While the breakfast buffet was sumptuous, not all a la carte items that we ordered were that great. The one good thing about their menu is their Keralite fare (Note: Do try the Kerala Parathas and the local fish items). The in-room dining service was decent and the staff tried catering to all our needs and demands. All orders were delivered within half-an-hour. However, the clearance bit took a while at times.

They do have a namesake (read: sparsely equipped) gym and a full-fledged Ayurveda Centre on the property. However, given the umpteen other indulgences in and around The World Backwaters, neither of these seemed necessary to us. But it was good to know that we had these options.

Our stay here was memorable thanks in no small part to the excellent service where no stone was left unturned to meet our needs. The staff worked relentlessly around the clock to exceed expectations and we really thank them for their wonderful customer service.

Given that the resort itself was our destination, we were enthralled by their friendly service throughout our stay. We would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an idyllic getaway in God’s own country.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback about our Resort. We extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay in The World backwaters. It gives us more strength in furthering our services for our esteemed guests. Hope we can be of service to you on your next visit as well . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop of our 10 days Kerala trip. After Cochin we stayed at Mahindra property in munnar and thekkady and was bit skeptical about this place....but to our surprise when the cab took a turn towards the resort....it seems like resort is resting right upon the amazing back water. Location was just awesome...... It was right across the backwater....resort was scattered over a huge area and was very well kept with small cottages scattered all over....take the cottage ...with back water view...and entire day will pass by....rooms are spacious one well kept. Foods were very tasty....specially their sea food and pasta was just amazing....resort staff were friendly.... Pool was well maintained and right adjoining back water.....will surely love to go back again

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nibedita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldbackwaters, General Manager at The World Backwaters, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest, Thank you Very much for choosing our resort for your vacation in Kerala. Delighted to know that you enjoyed the resort and the facilities. Hope to be of service to you again. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
14.5 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
691 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
594 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Backwaters

Property: The World Backwaters
Address: Kannankara Post | Thanneermukkam, West Kumarakam, Alappuzha 688 527, India (Formerly Ilona Lake Resort)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#11 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The World Backwaters 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE WORLD BACKWATERS (formerly know as Ilona Lake resort) a 4 star Resort in West Kumarakam, Nestled amidst this scenic landscape of 'God's Own Country' and on the banks of Lake Vembanad, is the perfect getaway for every weary traveler. The resort renders you an unparalleled view of the seemingly boundless Vembanadu Lake with a panoramic spotting of a beautiful island called Pathiramanal. The resort is tucked right into the soul of a real village in Kerala called Kannankara; away from the hustle-bustle of the City, but yet close and accessible to all functional comforts and luxury of a classy resort. Local attractions include Thanneermokkom Bund, Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary,Pathiramanal in Vembnadnad Lake, Alleppey beach,Alleppey, musuem, Ambalapuzha sri krishna temple,Marari Beach, Vaikom Mahadeva Temple and Thirunakkara Mahadeva Temple services and facilities :Multi cuisine Restaurant|| Banquet /Conference hall || Board room || Lake side Swimming Pool || Lake side garden || Fish pond || water Stream || Gym || Ayurveda Treatment center || Gift shop || Free parking ||24 hrs Front desk || Daily Housekeeping in room || Round the clock security service || Kids play area || Travel Desk || Soft bar in room || Wi Fi || Backwater cruise || Paddle boat|| Cycling || ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The World Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The World Backwaters Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing