We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Katzmother
Great Bookham, United Kingdom

Serenity on the river - a wonderful experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Oct 2016
I thought I might get fidgety just drifting down the river watching the world go by but it was so relaxing. The crew were so friendly and solicitous. I could not believe how they produced such wonderful food in a cramped space. All the meals were excellent.
The boat was clean and the bedroom small but the bed was very comfortable and I slept well.
The shower was basic but adequate.
A great experience.
Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this review
Responded 25 Oct 2016
Hello there! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. You titled it right; Xandari Riverscapes is about experiencing the 'Serenity on the river'. Our Community members are glad that you enjoyed every moment you had with us. Our Chef is delighted to bring you the best of culinary delights; the real essence of Alleppey is incomplete with out the local delicacies. Love to host you again. Happy travels to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£79
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.2 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
£14
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.9 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
£74
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £74
13.2 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £78
  • ZenHotels.com
    £65
  • Priceline
4.4 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £13
  • Trip.com
3.7 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £84
  • Priceline
9.4 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £119
  • Trip.com
5.8 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Expedia.com
    £77
2.6 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £61
  • eDreams
10.9 miles from Xandari Riverscapes
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alappuzha
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
409
80
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
409
80
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smaller boat upper deck one night night cruise house boat air con unique experience boat crew bedroom boat overnight stay prawns kerala backwaters canoe ride river cruise daily life chicken curry fish market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The service, the food, the houseboat, the scenery...all of it was top notch! Our overnight stay aboard a Xandari houseboat was such an amazing experience. So peaceful and beautiful. You should really indulge yourself in the tranquility aboard one of their lovely houseboats.

Xandari is also follows environmental guidelines and does its best with green initiatives (ie/ no plastic water bottles)

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 712kerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016


Thank you, Keri, for sharing your experience. Indeed you perfectly indulged in the true essence Xandari Riverscapes offer at the backwaters. Happy travels! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

If you want to escape the rat race, be free of internet, t.v & general distractions in life.... then do a river cruise!!!

We were recommended Xandari by a friend. We spent 3 days/nights on this lovely boat. It was a lovely experience for my husband & I, just the 2 of us & 3 staff. The room was well appointed, comfortable & air conditioned between 6pm & 6am... the bathroom was simple, yet satisfactory. We spent the days in the lounge reading & admiring the passing views of rice fields, fisherman & people going about their daily life.

The scenery was fantastic & our driver was very informative.... we learned a lot about life in the rice bowl & Kerela. Lots of great photo opportunities as we watched life on the river.

Our 3 members of staff couldn't do enough to make our trip memorable. Great meals every day, with lots of variety. They even dived for fresh mussels one day for dinner!!

A great way to soak up the south & unwind!! Highly recommend a boat trip if visiting the south.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandrabM5604HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Hello Sandra! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the authentic backwaters experience with Riverscapes. Thank you, for sharing your thoughts here on Trip Advisor. Xandari Community absolutely understands our traveller and bring them the best experience. See you on board soon. Happy travels to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We picked Xandari given their very high TripAdvisor ratings.

We wanted a 3 room houseboat for 1 night with an upper deck and it took several email exchanges to get Xandari to confirm we would get this. The boat arrived on the appointed day and we set off.

The rooms are very nice and the upper deck is a plus . All rooms were air conditioned and well appointed. We had advised Xandari that we were all vegetarians and the crew made sure we were well looked after with excellent South Indian fare through the trip.

The plus:

- the crew of 3 were fantastic (even offered massages)
- the food was very nice
- the boat ride in a small motorized boat through a series of small canals (though Venice of the east this is not!)
- seeing village life as we drift past

The not so greats

- too many mosquitoes
- lumpy mattress
- no hot water for a shower
- the riverways are extremely busy

The unacceptable:

- too many cockroaches in the bathrooms
- no insecticide or repellent provided (we had our own)
- linen was not the freshest

We had booked for 1 night so thankful when we docked the next morning. We did the backwater cruise having heard so much about it..worth a 1 night cruise to to tick off a bucket list...but unlikely we will be going back in a hurry.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank simbaonsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Hello there! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yes, Xandarians bring great experience for our travellers. Our Chef is delighted to bring you the best of culinary delights that you love to savor. The boat ride you had is a one-of-a-kind experience- the essence of Alleppey, the Venice of the East. The simplicity of life at the backwaters. Happy to know that you enjoyed. We would like to let you know that we carry out frequent pest control treatments for all our boats. We are sorry about cockroaches in the bathroom, it will be looked into. We provide all our rooms with mosquito repellants. We have taken note of your comments and we wait to delight you even further the next time.

Happy travels to you!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We were so fortunate to have Xandari Riverscapes on our holiday schedule. The cruise on the Houseboat was fantastic. We saw the backwaters and had an enjoyable 20 or so hours on board. The crew were great and the food was excellent. They even did a superb job of cooking seafood we purchased on the way. Great company and exceptional value. We celebrated a birthday and they just made a lovely cake. This was not pre arranged. A crew member must have heard us talking about the celebration.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GaryRendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016


Hello Gary!
Thank you, for sharing your thoughts on the Xandari experience at the backwaters, we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed with us. The only thing you need to do when you cruise with us is to enjoy the beauty of the backwaters and rest it’s our delight to bring you the best. We love to host you soon. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

First of all I would like to thanks Mr. Sunil J. as because of him only we got a chance to have such a beautiful experience.

All the 3 crew members were helpful n cheerful. Special thanks to chef Rakesh who made tasty dishes for us n Shibu who was driving the boat.

We had amazing experienced & enjoyed each moment in the houseboat.

Will highly recommend this houseboat.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank poojaa495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RM_Xandari, Manager at Xandari Riverscapes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016


Hello Pooja, we're glad you enjoyed the authentic backwater cruise that portrays the true, Venice of the east. Thank you for remembering our Community members, it's a kind thought. We would love you host you more of such; see you on-board again. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews