We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Homestay
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was such a lovely place. The host family and staff were very nice and gave us lots of help and travel advice. The bus dropped us off at 4:30 am and they opened up and checked us in most graciously. We left our computer on the bus and they did everything they could to help us get it back. Uma organised our back water trip which was wonderful! One of my top 10 travel experiences in 50 years of travelling. We came from 5 star hotel in mysore that was not nearly as nice as this modest home stay. Don't be fooled by the price, this hotel should cost much more than it does, simply because the family are so nice and the environment is memorable. Also make good coffee and breakfast if you ask nicely. :)

Room Tip: There is no pool. Downstairs rooms have nice bathrooms. Some rooms aren't advertised online so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessie_Byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I'm not one for exaggeration but this hotel was the best place my brother and I stayed in India. It's a family run place and they are extremely helpful and honest. They can help you arrange various tours at fair prices. The rooms upstairs are very nice but the highlight is the friendly staff who provide service far beyond what you expect for at a modestly priced guesthouse. Sound too good to be true? It isn't.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Although we stayed for a night at Asthamudi, we had an unforgettable experience. We took an AC room on the ground floor and it was very clean, comfortable and pocket-friendly. Our hosts Subhas and Uma were exceptionally polite, helpful and provided all the necessary support. We spent some good times chatting and the food served by them was finger-licking good, especially the chicken curry in Kerala style and home-made dosa, which we could not stop eating. The location is very good in the heart of Alleppey town. If we visit Alleppey again, Asthamudi will remain our choice of stay and would love to opt for the bamboo rooms instead; they are simply awesome. We would highly recommend this place, especially for those seeking to savor the taste of traditional Kerala. Undoubtedly, the best homestay in Alleppey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchyfeet_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The best place to stay with low rates and WITHOUT SACRIFICING ANY FACILITY AND SERVICE!!
Recommended for Couple,Friends,Family etc, all and any reason
No one can give you such things in very low rates!!
Minimum 500Rs to max 1000Rs depending on the type of room you select!
*FREE WIFI , :)
From this place you can cover many beaches of north and central kerela,also the famous St. Mary's Forane Church shown in Tamil Movie : VTV, Telugu movie : Ye Maya Chesave & Hindi Movie : Ek Tha Deewana
Its located at polimcunnoo!

I suggest this place for everybody!!
Try Bamboo house instead of normal cement-concrete RCC house like we always stay in!!

Room Tip: Try Bamboo Rooms or Boat house!! That's specialty of Kerela!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Azee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

It was an okay kind of hotel. We stayed in the bamboo-hut kind of rooms on the first floor (non-ac). The rooms were okay, and the bathrooms clean. The location is good, near to the boat jetty road/canal from where people go for boating to the nearby lake. The service from the staff was passive, but okay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joydpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Ideally located, close to the boat jetty, this homestay is a heaven for budget travelers like me. The place offers all the facilities at very reasonable rate. The hosts are always ready to help; make sure you take at least one meal at this place. They arranged for boat ride around the backwaters at a reasonable rate and were happy to provide us with all the information about places in Alleppey. I am planning to visit Alleppey very soon and this will sure be the place I will be staying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pranay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Hotel is situated on a inner side road and if you are in a car it hardly pass from the street. I booked this Hotel amongst the Hotel shown on tripadvisor site. I booked this Hotel through Make My Trip. I was surprised when the room was given us on ground floor is hardly of 6-7 feet by 10ft. in size. AC was not in function. toilet is not good, no hot water was available. Actually it was opposite of my imagination as I booked bamboo room but hotelier said that our orgiinally booked room is not in condition to allot us. During evening electricity was not there and they do not have the facility of Generator. Avoid North Indian food here.

However inspite of all these problems one thing is good that the family who runs this property is very good and guide you the best for local visit and other things.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Panwar957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.2 mi away
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
Tamarind KTDC Easy Hotel
#48 of 68 in Alappuzha
9 reviews
12.7 mi away
Suvasam Lake Resort
Suvasam Lake Resort
#29 of 68 in Alappuzha
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#34 of 68 in Alappuzha
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 68 in Alappuzha
56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Shanthitheeram Lakeside Heritage Resort
0.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £9 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing