We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful homestay”
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Homestay
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really wonderful homestay”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Ashtamudi whilst we were in Aleppey. We stayed in a a/c room which was very spacious and clean. Staff are prompt with housekeeping and always smiling. The wifi connection was very fast (uncommon in our travels). We were both sick during the week stay in Alleppey and Uma (and staff) were fantastic, checking in on us, making lemon tea and offering to call a doctor, or show us where the hospital was. These guys also were really understanding when we had to cancel our houseboat trip due to being sick. Uma was really helpful with restaurant recommendations (listen to her recommendations- we went to an Unrecommended restaurant and got sick) and lots of useful info about trains.

The balcony upstairs is a great place to chill out and they do a yummy breakfast on request. The place has a really good feel to it.

I would highly recommend staying here.

Katherine

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    123
    21
    15
    7
See reviews for
77
151
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Bamboo rooms and bamboo floors was a new experience..though the rooms were comparatively small ,with comfortable mosquito nets n 9 mbps WIFI fr 24 hrs ; though no breakfast was provided. The owner provides one bucket of hot water for two and waits for you to ask for more! The approach is confusing, narrow lane once miss easily..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dprasadji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

we stayed for just 6 hours but felt like home. Ms Uma takes good care of her guests by helping them out with nearby places and getting tourist attractions at reasonable prices. She is very warm in receiving her guests and making them feel at home. The hotel has been given a bamboo based decor that makes it beautiful and Gives it Indian beach kind of feel. overall good experience. And best part is the dirt cheap rate at which this comes, its a steal in even budget hotel genre.

Helpful?
Thank Charu1007
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and the best part of the homestay was the location.

this has to be the worse homestay I have ever had the misfortune to stay in! Yes I know it's cheap but even I expected a few basics! This hotel is decrepit and dirty, some staff did their best for you but the reception staff did not make you feel welcome and any request made was an inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adaml187892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Ashtamudi homestay is the perfect place for stay in alappuzha it is located at the centre of the town.Rooms are cosy and clean we stayed in a large AC room which was very comfortable.The host Umma and Subhash are genuine people.The hospitality was excellent and warmth shown to us was touching.Suggestions made by them about places to visit were really good.The arrangement of shikara ride ,spa & transport was done by Umma & Subhash at reasonable price.Overall great place to stay in alappuzha.Great value for money and time.

Room Tip: Large AC Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddharth555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We loved our stay there! Rooms are cosy, and there are lots of common areas that are great to chill out. The owners are the loveliest people in the world, very friendly and helpful.
Definitely great value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed a week at Ashtamudi Guest house. And wished we could stay longer. The owners Uma and her husband are awesome with a top sense of humour. Very friendly and gave us plenty of tips and tricks for getting around Alleppey. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very homely. The common area upstairs is very comfortable with loungers and cushions which made chilling out a breeze. Internet was very quick was even able to stream a All Blacks game over a couple of cold beers. We booked a day trip through Uma and it far surpassed our expectations, the boat was great and the boatman professional. Umas cooking was fantastic, we had breakfast at the guest house everyday and ventured into town for dinner. Location is also fantastic being 3km from the beach (a cheap 50rupee rickshaw and you are on Alleppey beach). One of the best places we have come across on our travels through India. Would recommend Ashtamudi to anybody coming through Alleppey looking for a good value, good service guesthouse.

Room Tip: Bamboo rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 68 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#56 of 68 in Alappuzha
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#47 of 68 in Alappuzha
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#19 of 68 in Alappuzha
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geeyo on the Beach
Geeyo on the Beach
#34 of 68 in Alappuzha
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Property: Ashtamudi Homestay
Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing