We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Homestay if you don't expect much”
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Homestay
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Good Homestay if you don't expect much”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed in this homestay for 1 night in Feb 2014. The place is located in a narrow lane after YMCA in Allepey town. The place is very narrow and hardly enough to fit a taxi. During check-in our taxi driver somehow managed to get into the lane as we had luggage, but later in the evening, he dropped us at the starting of the lane and asked us to walk.
As soon as we checked in, the owner Uma promptly gave us the WiFi password for my smartphone and bombarded with all the required info like restaurants, places to visit etc. We booked an AC room due to fear of mosquitoes but we later realized it was wise decision because of the weather which was very humid. so, we left the AC on and went for dinner hoping the room would be cooled when we returned. But, it was not the case.
The mattress were a bit hard, but for the price we were paying it was okay. But, the couple who stayed on top were very noisy in the night as it was a wooden flooring. we ourself found the room lacking privacy and the bathroom looked like a makeshift attachment. No problems with hot water as they mentioned that they would be providing hot water in a bucket and they promptly provided with the required number at the time we requested for.
Overall a good homestay if you are staying for a longer period, else it is better to book an hotel instead.

Room Tip: Choose corner rooms or rooms in first floor as the front rooms lacked privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    123
    21
    15
    7
See reviews for
77
151
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rajkot
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I and my wife stayed at Ashtamudi homestay in February. It is a very well maintained homestay by Uma and Subash. The couple is very hardworking and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable. Bamboo rooms are indeed novel, we liked them too. Breakfast cooked by Uma was very delicious. Her management is excellent. Also, we had gone for overnight houseboat trip which was arranged by Uma & Subash. It was Subash's brother's houseboat. It was a memorable experience with wonderful backwaters & delicious food. The houseboat was very clean. They had also arranged for a beautiful flower decoration for us. I highly recommend Ashtamudi homestay..

Room Tip: Bamboo rooms provide unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drparin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranchi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I came to Alappuzha after my Ernakukula, Munnar & Thekkaddy visit.The season was hot and I was cool down by A Bottle of Chilled water. I felt as if I have came to some one who is Kith and keen to us. Location is good. I liked the food quality at reasonable price. I was astonished to see that farewell tea was ready at 4:45 am and at 5:00 AM Uma was in the Gate before departure.I Don't know how to thank the couple Uma and Subash. God bless them.

Room Tip: Bamboo Room I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subas_ranchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A nice house at a good location, but the best Uma and Subash! It was a real pleasure to meet them. From Uma we received all the tourist help we needed, from checking prices for rickshaw, hiring a boat, buying train tickets and even preparing for us a farewell Indian tea at 6:00 in the morning before our departure! Many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noralib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you are looking for a homely experience in Alappuzha during your trip, go for Ashtamudi home stay...Bamboo rooms are very nice.. feel a different experience staying there..Cannot forget Subash and Uma..Very nice people to interact...Thanks a lot..

Room Tip: Bamboo rooms are very nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JagathSreejith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Located close to YMCA road, probably town's one of main roads, the homestay is slightly interior. While passing through the lane to reach there we were wandering about the stay which turned to be great – indeed homestay. Quickly after simple check in, the owner – manager lady came to us to brief us about the city & route to main places of interest.
The same lady prepared mouth watering dosa & coffee for our breakfast! The room was okay for overnight stay.
This is certainly recommended to experience when the stay is short and you are willing to spend time in town, not just staying in room.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harit_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I Visited this place with my wife and I was more than happy with the amount I spent and above all the hospitality by Uma, her husband Subhash and Subhash's brother...
I stayed in the Homestay for only 1 day. The food was good and so were the owners. You never feel like you are a stranger. They treat you so well. I also booked the Houseboat through them and trust me, this was the best part of my tour. The food on houseboat, the people and their behaviour was exceptionally good.
Thank you for making my trip amazingly wonderful.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiningSun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 68 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#56 of 68 in Alappuzha
71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#47 of 68 in Alappuzha
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#19 of 68 in Alappuzha
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geeyo on the Beach
Geeyo on the Beach
#34 of 68 in Alappuzha
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Property: Ashtamudi Homestay
Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing