We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashtamudi Homestay
Nearby Hotels
Punnamada Resort(Alappuzha)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The World Backwaters(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citrus Retreats Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deshadan Backwater Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
212
123
21
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
123
21
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr subhashhome stayhomely atmospheredosasexcellent hospitalitycurryumabamboohomestayhouseboathostbangaloreoperativecrew
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Rooms are ok but bathroom is not good at all. No water coming from toilet tap and no hanger in bathroom. Rooms and balcony are very nice and decorated. Bugs were falling from ceiling and bed is not comfortable for sleep

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mritunjay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The charm of this hotel lies in the wonderful interior and the warmth of Subhash and his wife. The upstairs is a massive chill-spot with bamboo walls and big wooden doors with vintage locks on it. The service is the best I ever had in a hotel/stay. Subhash and his wife are two sincerely warm people who are always ready to help you out. They arranged a canoeing-trip through the backwaters of Allepey for us that was one of the most beautiful moments of our journey through India.
The downsides of this place are the mosquitoes, but nobody can do a thing about that. Besides, it was monsoon. There are mosquito-nets in the rooms and Subhash tries to kill all of them in the day, so this they do everything in their power.

Location is very good.

Overall: wonderful stay in an exceptional place with a great staff, keep it up!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lars C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had zeroed in on Allepy for our anniversary and wanted a short and sweet, no frills holiday for 3 days. TA again came to our rescue in selecting this place. The reviews were good so booked a month in advance. Was exited about the bamboo rooms but didnt take a chance with the heat so booked the ground floor AC room ( I think there are only 2 or 3 of them). The lady in charge was very prompt and courteous and confirmed our online hotel booking over the phone and agreed to give us an early check in. (Some 3/5 star hotels act as if u are speaking french when you call them about online bookings and then you keep going in circles).

The location was perfect, all the major restaurants and the houseboat jetty within walking distance. The beach was also very near. The maids, the caretaker and the neighbors, everything gave us a sneak peek into the local life of Allepy! They quickly guided us to the best restaurants nearby instead of asking us to use the in-house kitchen, also arranged for a surprise Anniversary cake on my wife's request.

We booked a Shikara through them since we didnt have much time to spent on a houseboat. Also a Shikara trip offered more customization and access to the narrow backwater canals. The shikara ride was excellent and offered the same experience as that of a houseboat at 1/8th of the price. We kept the houseboat for our next trip!

The next day they also arranged a bike on rent for us from one of their neighbor and we covered the whole city on it. We got a chance to visit the legendary India Coffee House, the not to be missed Revi Karunakaran museum, the 150 year old lighthouse, and satisfied our crave for seafood which was long pending from Goa.

All in all it was a very memorable stay! Thanks to the owners! The three day stay felt like a week long holiday since we were able to pack in so much! Like I said this was a no frills stay so its better you pack your towels and toiletries!

Room Tip: You can use bamboo rooms if you are travelling in winter else you better book the ac rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subrat108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are a budget traveller this is the best in Alappuzha.
simple clean rooms.walkable distance to the city centre.
Uma the host is very kind to arrange backwater tours
Kerala traditional style of breakfast is memorable one
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tajgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we were welcomed as walkins , due to unexpected change in plans for a couple of hours, and yet had a great experience .Very authentic breakfast , served hot and fresh, good service , clean accomodation .........i would definitely reccomend this place and yes if i had a chance to revisit i know where i will be staying

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews