We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in alleppy”
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Homestay
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Bangalore
1 review
“Nice place to stay in alleppy”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Nice people,homely atmosphere,warm welcome..neat and clean ..what else you need !!
People are really friendly and go beyond call of duty.The location is perfect to travel to other places from alleppy.I had a nice time with my family.I hope you too will have....if you chose Ashtamudi Homestay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somnath_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    123
    21
    15
    7
See reviews for
77
151
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Ashtamudi is a great place to relax. It has a nice rooftop terrace to hang out. The rooms are clean with plenty of space. The staff is very nice and helpful arranging backwater tours and providing information on buses. A good place to stay in Alleppey.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This place was fantastic! The rooms are really lovely and the whole place has a nice homely feel to it. The people that run it are so kind and welcoming, and very helpful. They organised a very cheap backwater tour for us too. Highly recommended! Just make sure you order your food early :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskia_athlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Ashtamudi is a nice place well set up with very enthusiastic owner/managers (Subhash and his wife) They looked after us like we were royalty. Subhash also organised our river cruise which was a highlight of our stay in Kerala, the boat was beautiful as were the crew and the meals were fantastic. Thank you again Subhash. "Pappa"

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greytoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We had been two nights in the Ashtamudi Homestay and were really leisure. The place is very clean, the food is incredible, and the location is great, but the best thing is the staff! They woke up at 4 a.m. to go outside and look for a ricksaw to leave us in the bus station. And always with a smile. Thank you very much for your help and for two increbible days! We highly recommend this place and also the day trips.
The two spanish girls :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Had an amazing time in Kerala and can't recommend this place highly enough. The homestay is clean and has a very warm, welcoming feel. The rooms were kept clean, with AC and mosquito net for comfort (cheaper bamboo rooms may not have AC). The bathroom was also clean - no hot water but you don't need that for kerala. There is an upstairs lounge area where it's easy to meet other backpackers/travelers. There is no wi-fi but 2 computers on the premise with internet. Aside from what's been said, other huge pluses about this place:
1- location: it's located a bit off the main road so it's quieter, and it's very close walking distance to the jettys
2- backwater tour: they arrange an AMAZING backwater village tour with a local man named Anthony that I highly recommend. He takes you to his village and lunch at his home - you get a much more intimate experience than on the large houseboats and it's also way cheaper
3- food: the food is delicious and prepared fresh. takes a while to come sometimes but is worth the wait. the egg masal and fish fry were excellent.
4- hospitality - Uma is the sweetest woman ever and a great host, will do anything she can to make sure your stay is comfortable.

It was a great value for everything you get (it was one of the cheapest accomodations we found in Alleppey). Alleppey is a wonderful place and I would stay here again if I came back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The rooms were clean and conveniently located to the main road and town. The food was great and the hospitality over the top! We were stranded in Alleppey around New Years and needed to get to Goa and the very kind owners helped us to get a way there even with everything booked. They let us use a room during the day at no cost, gave us rides to places we needed and he waited and made sure we got on the right bus and everything. If we hear of anyone headed to Alleppey we know where to tell them to stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keljhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 68 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
175 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#56 of 68 in Alappuzha
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#46 of 68 in Alappuzha
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
Treebo Palmyra Grand Suite
#19 of 68 in Alappuzha
33 reviews
12.7 mi away
Suvasam Lake Resort
Suvasam Lake Resort
#35 of 68 in Alappuzha
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Property: Ashtamudi Homestay
Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing