We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those who appreciate the 'boutique' experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Park on Vembanad Lake
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Park Hotel on Vembanad Lake for 7 nights during the last week of March. We have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by a member of management and made to feel extremely welcome. Our room (we received a complimentary upgrade) was exceptional - colourful decor, immaculately clean, contemporary furnishings, comfortable bedding, and quality toiletries. The view, which was directly over the lake, was also one to behold, particularly first thing in the morning.

The staff were superb. Always able to give good advice on what to do and where to go, they were very knowledgeable and went to great pains to ensure that all of our needs and requirements were completely accomodated. Transfers to and from the airport were promptly arranged, as were excursions to the beach and the backwaters (both excellent experiences and well worth doing). Mr. Karthik in this respect was particularly helpful.

Our room was cleaned twice a day, which we thought was a nice touch. The gym was small, with a limited amount of new-ish equipment (1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer, dumbell set up to 20kg), and just about met my needs for the week (although a recumbent or upright bike and a multigym would be a personal requirement for a longer stay). The infinity pool was clean and had a jacuzzi, which meant lazing around by the lake's edge was a pleasure.

For me personally, the best part about staying at the hotel was undoubtedly the food which was served to us by the chef in charge, Mr. Sinu. I have no doubt that Mr. Sinu's creations would be worthy of any restaurant in London. My advice would be to dispense with the 'standard' hotel menu and leave the choice of dishes (be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner) entirely to Mr. Sinu's discretion. Our requests to eat "whatever chef is cooking today" never failed us, as we were served fresh lake fish, prawns and clams accompanied by a lovely array of vegetarian side dishes and breads. Always a nice touch was Mr. Sinu personally coming out to see us to talk in detail about the dishes he had served. The photos attached give an idea of the variety and quality which was served, but I doubt they will actually do the whole experience of eating what Mr. Sinu was able to cook for us any justice. Truly outstanding.

The hotel itself is unusual in that it doesn't actually feel like a 'resort'. In reality, we felt as if we were living amongst the villagers themselves. If you looked out of our window to the rear, you would see the locals going about their daily business in their own homes - cooking, cleaning, working, relaxing - and so the experience felt slightly more 'authentic' than staying in a 'resort'. Some might find this too much of a dose of reality, but for us it was exactly what we were looking for. We also enjoyed walking around the village and taking in 'normal' life going on around us.

All in all, a wonderful 7 days in a beautifully lush and green part of the world. I can see now why the Keralans refer to their state as "God's Own Country". We will be back, and would be glad to stay again at the Park Hotel, given the tremendous care and consideration it obviously affords its guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ash_tank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a perfect stay at the hotel. Your review is a source of inspiration for our team, which constantly strives to attain excellence in guest satisfaction. We value your motivating comments about our team members.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park Hotel across the country.

Regards,
Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

I stayed for 4D3N with my wife and 8yrs old daughter. They just have 10 rooms-nicely furnished. We can see the beautiful sun rise, as this resort is facing lake in the east. Can wake up hearing to singing birds. We can order choice of break fast and lunch. One day we asked for Kerala traditional lunch, they served 16 items in a banana leaf. Chef is an expert, you can ask anything, he will make it for you. Room service is very good. I used to have my morning coffee looking at the lake, in the balcony of the room. Walk on the grass in the morning. Watch birds flying around. Can see fishermen going early on their boats, on sun rise background. Got good snaps of them. Got an LCD TV in the room with 100over channels. Have choice of DVD's to watch. Can make the room fully dark and sleep till the evening after a heavy lunch at their restaurant. Evening, in the garden they play gazals, and set up buffet dinner. A swimming pool, small Gym to work out.
On the top of all, the ambience is so nice, we didnt feel like coming back. very quite and peaceful. If you really wanna relax, It's the best choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kishorekvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The team at The Park Hotels constantly strives to offer its guests a perfect stay and a review like yours motivates us to deliver higher service standards at all times.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Park hotels across the country in the near future.

Regards,
Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

we did not know what to expect when arriving at this hotel. we found the rooms exellent. clean and well decorated. the staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. on arrival we were greeted and taken to our room. within a few hours the chef had come tio greet us and find out what type oif food we would like. the meakls were created fdor our taste and appitite. This is not a place to go to if you want late nights and discos, which was a relief to us. Relaxatiion was the hotel's speciality. the hotel was just a 10 minute walk away from the local village whichg was wonderful. the walk to the viullage was interesting, watching the local fishermen and chatting to the children. we were treated like royaltt throughour our stay. would definately recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your valuable feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Nestled in the backwaters of Kerala, The Park on Vembanad Lake endeavors to offer all its guests a memorable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Park on Vembanad Lake for another memorable stay.

Regards,
Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on a 3 week jaunt around kerala, and this was definitely our favourite hotel.

First, it's small with just a handful of rooms. This means the hotel feels very calm, the staff are able to cater to your every need and give you a high level of personal attention (eg they helped us plan our days, organize onward hotels, spent time explaining local customs etc), and you feel like you've totally escaped.

Second, the chef - Sinu - is truly excellent, and was perhaps the nicest and most helpful person we met on our whole trip. We ate some of our best food here, he catered to our specific tastes and needs (we're both vegetarians and my wife is gluten-free), gave us a one-on-one demonstration of local keralan cooking in the kitchen and was an all-round aid on everything indian (advising good hotels for the rest of our travels, explaining local festivals etc that we might want to check out...)

Thirdly, the hotel is immaculately clean, comfortable and well kept. Our room was large and very well designed with its own balcony facing the lake, the infinity pool facing the lake is beyond idyllic, and we appreciated having a gym.

Was a perfect little place and I'd recommend to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at The Park on Vembanad Lake, I would like to personally thank you for such a detailed feedback about our hotel and its services. A feedback like yours is heartening for the team that works so very hard to make our guests smile.

Regards,
Mr. Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The Park Vembanad is an absolute delight. Both ways transfer was a great idea as I enjoyed the picturesque view. My stay was in a Deluxe Room and I must appreciate the way they are maintaining their rooms. The aqua pool was also an exclusive retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your feedback. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you at The Park Hotels across India in the near future and assure you of a great experience at any of our hotels.

Regards,
Mr. Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

It was an amazing stay at THE Park Hotel. Very kind and trendy staff. Shuttle sevice was superb, the driver was well educated. The rooms look luxurious. I spent good time at this hotel, they did not made me feel that I am a solo traveller.
GOOD JOB PARK!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varun9777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Park on Vembanad Lake and your valuable feedback. We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you at The Park Hotels across India.

Regards,
Mr. Pravish Kutticat
Operations Manager
The Park on Vembanad Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I stayed at the classy and stylish Kerala backwaters hotel. It was wonderful to be welcomed with fresh jasmine flowers garland. The luxury rooms are very cozy and nicely built with the traditional Kerala décor. My room had a beautiful view of the lake Vembanad. The hotel is also a “docking station” for the luxury cruiser of the hotel. The gym was okay and the restaurant served nice traditional Kerala and continental cuisine. Some of the rooms are on a luxurious house boat and you can opt to stay there too. I just loved dining on he cruiser and getting a complete Kerala experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkVembanad, Manager at The Park on Vembanad Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know you had a good time at The Park Vembanad Lake. The Park on Vembanad Lake is constantly appreciated for its location, decor & view and your review encourages the team to keep up the standards of service at the hotel. Our team across all Park properties constantly strives to deliver guests with the best stay experience.
We look forward to having you patronize any of our ten hotels across the country during your next stay.

Regards,

Stay Inspired™

Mr. Pravish Kutticat
General Manager

The Park Vembanad Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emarald Pristine Island Floating Resort
0.0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#53 of 70 in Alappuzha
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park on Vembanad Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park on Vembanad Lake

Address: Puthenangadi, Muhamma Panchayat, Alappuzha 688525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: £70 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park on Vembanad Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park on Vembanad Lake in Kumarakom West, Kerala Backwaters is the sophisticated docking station for the Apsara. With a total of ten luxury rooms and a deluxe room lake view room, the resort exudes elegance and style.The Resort offer very private stay offer complete serenity.In food we offer traditional Kerala cuisine along with complete range of Indian and International gourmet to choose from.Aura Spa keeps one relaxed and helps in rejuvenation.The M.V.Apsara Built on two levels, the Apsara consists of eight rooms, a crew cabin, a galley, saloon and dining area, a sundeck and a picturesque forward seating area. The interiors of this luxury cruiser have been designed keeping in mind the luxury and comfort that the well-heeled tourists and leisure travelers require.Apsara Backwaters Cruiser offers contemporary and modern amenities offering inspiring design, innovative dining, sensuous entertainment, instant connectivity and edgy art. The onshore gym and the tented spa offer Ayurvedic and international treatments.The dining area and salon, situated on level 1, with their grand décor create an ambience of luxury. The corner sofas with cushions and tables on level 2 provide ample space for guests to sit back and enjoy the panoramic view of the backwaters. The impeccable services extended to the guests combined with the enhanced display of sophistication makes the voyage memorable.Enjoy this unmatched abode in a perfect eco-setting - a pleasant escape to the lap of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park on Vembanad Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park On Vembanad Lake Hotel Alappuzha
The Park On Vembanad Lake Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing