We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THE PARK VEMBANAD" is "THE PLACE" to Unwind..!! Location == Absolute Stunner..!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Park on Vembanad Lake
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"THE PARK VEMBANAD" is "THE PLACE" to Unwind..!! Location == Absolute Stunner..!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Well How can I Start...!!!

A Bit of Shaky Start during Check in:
Me & My Wife Stayed here for 3 Nights in Feb 2014. This was our honeymoon trip soon after our wedding & we had booked the Vembanad Suite. It was a bit of a shaky start. When we arrived at the hotel, A member of Staff at the reception came running to us, to let us know, there were maintenance works taking place at the resort, and requested if we can be transferred to Lemontree or Deshadan Resort a few kilometres Away. We insisted we only wanted to stay at the Park and finally we were checked in to our room.

Soon After we checked in: we found the there was no water in the room. But can't blame the Park management as this was due to some local unions in the area, not letting resorts, function smoothly.

But All this ordeal was just for a few hours....!!! What followed this was a memorable experience as narrated below...!!!!!!!

* The Suite was impeccably clean and offered absolutely amazing views of the lake.
* The Food was just top class. Delicious, Healthy. Special Mention about the Kerala Delicacies they prepared for us. Vegetable Mappas & Kadala Curry. Aloo Paratha during breakfast was the best I have ever tasted.
* The Members of Staff : Very Courteous, Very Friendly & Helpful. Absolutely Nice People.
* Special Thanks to Sanjay, who was at the reception & the one other friend who took care of us during dining everyday. Sorry I forgot his name.
* The location of this resort is another absolute stunner. Waking up to the sunrise & watching the Houseboats pass by is an absolute treat to the eyes.
* Me and My wife couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon, and we are so satisfied, we made the best choice.

Special Thanks to Sarah & the team at The Park Vembanad
You are a bunch of absolutely amazing people, who took care of us to make sure, we were Happy during our Honeymoon. Speechless about your service and the place as me and my wife loved everything at the Park.

To Sign Off: You have given us the best memories which we can cherish for the rest of our lives and I would love to visit the park once again...for another beautiful journey....!!!!! Cheers Guys...!!!

Room Tip: All rooms in the Hotel offer great views of the Lake. But the Vembanad Suite room is the closest one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krish0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    33
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
33
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
INDIA
Level Contributor
305 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was here with my wife for one night and we had booked a deluxe room and another room for my parents.Its a relatively small property and was very peaceful as it looked like most of the rooms were vacant. Its located at Muhamma, one has to take a left turn in front of the Federal Bank branch onto a narrow lane to reach the Hotel. Of course having ones own transport is a blessing as getting public transportation from the Hotel will be quite difficult.

The hotel is located adjacent to the Vembanad lake and all rooms do have a slightly distant view of the lake. There is a swimming pool, which I personally felt was too small and it had these architectural designs within, which further limits the area where one can swim freely.

Overall the hotel is in dire need of maintenance. As a large area next to the pool and within the rooms have wooden flooring which is all breaking and are worn out & need to be replaced. The bathroom mirrors are stained and needs polishing, some of the pillows were stained too. The toilet was stained and we had to call someone to get it cleaned. Some of the lights in the rooms weren't working.

Our room did not have a electric kettle and though I had asked for it twice, it never came. Oddly for a double room there was a single bath-robe. My parents room didn't have any but had an electric kettle and tea/coffee satchets!

Their chef comes over to your room to get the lunch/dinner order,which is great; however food was just about average and is a bit pricey for that quality. Also the breakfast was a major let down. The food was all cold and we had to remind the waiter to get water, hot sambar, eggs etc. I never expected a hotel of this stature to serve such below average fare.

The service was overall alright, with people always being courteous and helpful. Of course they seemed to be under staffed as my requests for the electric kettle was missed and there was only a single waiter in the restaurant. He had to run down to serve in the rooms as well.

Well, I had a high expectation from the Park Hotels, as I have been to their Hyderabad and Delhi properties and been impressed. I would suggest that you try and book a room at the Lemontree Hotel few kilometers down the same road, as I found them to be much better than the Park!

Room Tip: If possible take a room in their boat- Apsara
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed aboad the Yacht for 3 nights as part of a Soul of Kerala Tour. We did thoroughly enjoy our whole trip especialy the Apsara. Food very good. Service very good. Cabins, very good too , large by boat standards and beds very comfortable indeed. Our excursions on the Lake and the backwaters were very enjoyable and we loved the peace, and quiet and the wildlife. The pool at the hotel and the restaurant again was very good.
My only negative comments are that the boat has seen better days and needs some TLC it looks tired, especailly the dining room, carpet, stained ( they make you take your shoes off) and chair seat covers too were stained . Also they could make better use of the upper sun deck which they ignore, quoting health and safety. Many holiday makers from Europe enjoy sitting in the sun and there was no opportunity on board. More could be made of this area, which could be made delightful, especially to enjoy the views of the Lake..

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suesw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice peaceful and serene location, very good view of lake. Amazing sun rise view and then moon lights on lake in the evening. Well done rooms. Good staff, decent food. Maintenance required in certain areas. As its only 11 room property, dont expect much action and crowd. Little far from alleppy town - so less crowded but needs vehicle to move around

Room Tip: All rooms are lake facing and same but first floor rooms are better for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sulabh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

a small 10 room property, located right by the vembanad lake,all rooms face the lake,large rooms, modern toilets,swimming pool,fitness centre,free wifi. restaurant served limited choice ,but good food. do not expect a very high standard of service ,but staff are friendly and try to do their best, no bar. if you are looking for a simple ,quite stay with limited expectations,, choose it...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourdesigners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

MV Apsara and Park Hotel

Our three nights on the MV Apsara , our second stop of five as part of a fortnight’s Kerala tour, was a wonderful experience.

The en suite cabin was appropriately compact and once we got to grips with controlling the fiercest air conditioning I have ever encountered, proved quite comfortable .

We cruised Vembanad lake and whilst stopping at St Mary’s Florence old catholic church came across a wedding, which was very interesting- we even got invited to the reception but sadly our schedule meant it wasn’t possible to accept- but how kind of people to invite us .

On the first day ayurvedic massage was available on the boat . We transferred to a rice boat for a morning for a different experience and on our last day we used a small shikara“ motorised canoe “ to enable us to get down the small side canals to see village life at close hand.

Also on the second day we had a birdwatching expert to help the” twitchers” in our tour party identify exotic creatures.

As well as a breakfast buffet of cereal, fruit plus croissants/ muffins, eggs & bacon were cooked to order on the boat. Lunch was on the boat and evening meals taken outdoors at the Park Hotel where we moored each night.

We also had Indian cultural dancing before the meal and then live Indian music played throughout the four course table d’hote meal. There were two options available one meat one vegetarian available. Very nice food. The chef gave a cooking demonstration.

We did not see the hotel rooms so cannot comment on those.

The Park had an infinity pool which was very pleasant and a small gym - which I managed to avoid!

All the food and the staff were excellent. A relaxing and interesting couple of days

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEETfinderGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed in The Park on Vembanad lake for 1 night in month of dec 2013, the hotel has just 10 odd rooms , the hotel is extermely dull and boring . Hotel staff was very good but the poor environment killed it .. i would not recommend this hotel untill unless you have large group and you hire all room .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prateekgupta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#15 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#21 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park on Vembanad Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park on Vembanad Lake

Property: The Park on Vembanad Lake
Address: Puthenangadi, Muhamma Panchayat, Alappuzha 688525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park on Vembanad Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park on Vembanad Lake in Kumarakom West, Kerala Backwaters is the sophisticated docking station for the Apsara. With a total of ten luxury rooms and a deluxe room lake view room, the resort exudes elegance and style.The Resort offer very private stay offer complete serenity.In food we offer traditional Kerala cuisine along with complete range of Indian and International gourmet to choose from.Aura Spa keeps one relaxed and helps in rejuvenation.The M.V.Apsara Built on two levels, the Apsara consists of eight rooms, a crew cabin, a galley, saloon and dining area, a sundeck and a picturesque forward seating area. The interiors of this luxury cruiser have been designed keeping in mind the luxury and comfort that the well-heeled tourists and leisure travelers require.Apsara Backwaters Cruiser offers contemporary and modern amenities offering inspiring design, innovative dining, sensuous entertainment, instant connectivity and edgy art. The onshore gym and the tented spa offer Ayurvedic and international treatments.The dining area and salon, situated on level 1, with their grand décor create an ambience of luxury. The corner sofas with cushions and tables on level 2 provide ample space for guests to sit back and enjoy the panoramic view of the backwaters. The impeccable services extended to the guests combined with the enhanced display of sophistication makes the voyage memorable.Enjoy this unmatched abode in a perfect eco-setting - a pleasant escape to the lap of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park on Vembanad Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park On Vembanad Lake Hotel Alappuzha
The Park On Vembanad Lake Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing