We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Ananda Beach Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ananda Beach Home
Ranked #124 of 193 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I and my Husband have gone to Ananda Beach Home Retreat for our Honeymoon on February 18, 2013 for 1 night. This resort is a complete value for money . Its totally different from the daily hectic monotonous hectic schedule. Its just on the beach that is totally private , no disturbances, no interferences. About the property is very simple but an overall new experiences. Hats off to the staff who has always given more than 100% to serve us the best quality. Food was yummy and a memorable place to stay for 1 night.
A big thanks to Mr. Thomas.Inspite of heavy rain next day morning he has done everything perfectly and with great effort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishani22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

A perfect getaway from the hectic life….Wonderfulous & fantabolous!!!!

We spent 10 days in Kerala, it was the most wonderful experience. The food and service was pretty good. The best part was the beach which is a wonderful experience. We would like to come again and spend more time and relax….it’s one of the best beach hotels that we have stayed. Special thanks to Thomas and his team who made our stay so wonderful and felt like home.

We miss the time…wish could come there often…thanks a lot for making this trip so memorable..

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent & good ventilent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Its just an average resort in Alleppey with plenty of other good options however its the amazing experience of hospitality which makes our stay wonderful.

- Rooms are small, clean and descent with just basic amenities, however open bathroom concept is wonderful

- Location is deep into a village with a small but lovely beach just beside the cottages

- Auto charges 80-100 from Allepey market/ BS/ RS

- Superb guest care, all requests are looked into well

- Food is above average in taste and low in price.. Especially breakfast was awesome

- Highly recommended for couples and elderly who wants to enjoy the beauty of sea beach just next to their cottages

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh_Agg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on 26 to 28 December 2012.

FYI, this place is also known as Pozhioram (or something similar) beach home so it seemed a bit confusing at first. The place is about 7 to 8 kms from Alleppey station about 2 kms from Thumpoly church so if you take the pre-paid rickshaw just outside the station, the fare will come to Rs. 60 till the church or Rs. 80 till the home. The place is towards the end of a village gathering and you have to take the small road that leads from the main road to reach this place. On both sides of this road are village type houses.

The place is just next to a small beach and fenced all around. We had booked a non-A/C room at the gound level. The room was smallish, okay and just about functional, nothing great or spectacular about it. I guess the A/C rooms/cottages might be better fitted out.

If you need to visit the town or station, the manager can call an auto rickshaw to the doorstep and the charge will be Rs.100. However if you are in the mood for a small stroll, you can take a leisurely 15 minute walk along the village road to reach the main road and hail a passing auto rickshaw for Rs. 70.

The complimentary breakfast on both days was good, in terms of quantity, quality and variety. We are not very picky about food anyways during our travels as we tend to stay out of the hotels for the entire day for sight seeing.

It can get quite hot and humid in Alleppey (even when we visited in December) and more so in the other months so plan to book an A/C room if you are particular about the climate.

If you need to reach the place towards the evening in a rickshaw (for which the charge will be Rs. 100) after you complete your sight-seeing activities in the town (boating etc), make sure to mention the destination as Pozhioram beach home to the rickshaw driver as it seems they are not aware that this place is also known as Ananda beach home.

You take also take a stroll along the beach road and the fishing village to visit the Thumpoly church.

On the last day, Mr. Thomas was kind enough to let us stay on till about 2:30 pm as our train was at 3:00 pm.
What's more, he even dropped my mother and me to the rickshaw stand on his 2 wheeler and saw us off!

All in all, a good stay.

Room Tip: Try to book the a/c rooms if you are particular about the hot and humid climate of the Kerala plains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijit_roy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

this place was a very wonderful experience for us. the location is right at the beach. we could hear the chitter of birds and the rumble of the oceans at night. the caretaker of the property Mr. Thomas was very helpful and he was instrumental in making our holiday enjoyable. Full marks on the service of the hotel on his efforts. the rooms are all old world charm with modern amenities like ac fitted in. overall the aftertaste of this resort is very good. we are on our way to the airport roght now and i am thinking... maybe i should have stayed a bit longer....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My and my Friend’s family (4 adults & 2 two year olds) visited Ananda Beach Home between 7th and 9th of Dec. It was my second visit to the place and the place was no less mesmerizing than the first time.

Location:
The resort is strategically located close to a large lake and a private beach. The beach is to the west of the resort and one can view a grand summer sunset at its best. The resort has a very pleasant & serene atmosphere with palm/coconut trees uniformly planted across the property with hammocks in the shades of the trees. There is a small Village sharing the beach but the locals do not interfere with resort’s guests.

Proximity:
The resort is in close proximity to Alleppy railway station (3 kms) and an hour’s drive from Cochin airport.

Cottages:
Cottages could use a little face lift in terms of new mirrors & bathroom fitments (Certainly not a letdown), otherwise is compact and very well serves the purpose. The restrooms are clean and well maintained.

Food:
One can expect authentic Kerela home food, prepared by a local woman working at the resort. The food tasted great and exceeded our expectations to a large extent. The food is served at a large open dining area, which I found to be appetizing

Service:
Service was the highlight of our stay, with two small kids (2 year olds) the staffs were bombarded with requests for milk, bread, Jam etc through the stay and was duly attended to. The staffs were courteous and resourceful. The Manager, Mr Thomas took very good care of us and ensured we felt at home. He was very informative and guided us well with respect to all the places of interest around the resort.

Summary:
If you are looking at having a lazy/relaxing vacation, enjoy authentic Kerela delicacy and connect with nature, Ananda Beach Homes is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This was my first time visit to Alleppey. Overall I stayed in River side view resort and the other day in Ananda Beach Home. This Resort is a few kms away from Alleppey railway station, Manager Thomas was very kind and helpful and guided me well to reach the resort. I stayed in the Beach side AC room. Room is very small and there is no wardrobe to place your luggage. The food was not that great, The resort also has a restaurant which is open for visitors from outside who are not staying in the resort. I did not like this, People were boozing in the restaurant. This takes a toll on your privacy, few guys were using the hammock which were set up for us near our room with beer bottles in their hand.

However, the Resort rooms were small and tidy. The beach view was great, there is an entrance to the beach from the resort. Once can go for a walk, you cant call this a private beach as you can see many other people around. Yes I also had to watch out my foot steps to avoid landmines (human droppings) all over the beach side. The Waves thunders the rocks facing the beach side view rooms, it was not an issue for me though. The staff is very courteous & they offered me their bike, I had to go to an ATM.

I still rate this property very good because I like the hammocks tied to the coconut trees, you can sleep on these and gaze at the stars as long as u can.. The beach side view is great, Staff is very courteous & helpful.. The location is simply awesome, but there are lot of areas which require improvement..

Things that I liked :
1) Location
2) Staff
3) Beach side view
4) Hammock

Things that I did not like :
1) Food
2) Restaurant open for outsiders
3) Room with a wardrobe
4) Small Rooms

I would recommend anyone to stay in this Resort.

Room Tip: Take the beach side room, avoid it if u want a good nights' sleep..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live2travelAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.3 mi away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#57 of 67 in Alappuzha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.5 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
10.4 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Paradise Ayurveda Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Colonel's Beach Villa
Colonel's Beach Villa
#30 of 193 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#27 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Beach Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Beach Home

Property: Ananda Beach Home
Address: JRY Road | Thumpoly, Alappuzha, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Ananda Beach Home 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda Beach Home is surrounded by a pristine lush green coconut grove and with a quiet and serene secluded beach.The cottages at our property is built in Traditional Kerala Architecture with Mangalore tiled roof, were you have splendid view of beach and the ocean beyond from Veranda. It is next to the Alleppey beach, and before Marari beach nestled in a lush green coconut grove and with a quiet and serene secluded beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ananda Beach Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing