We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent if you need a good bed to crash for the night”
Review of Tamarind Alappuzha

Tamarind Alappuzha
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tamarind Alappuzha
Reviewed 21 December 2012

On a 2 week trip to Kerala, the shortest stay for us was in Alleppey where we reached around 1pm and left the next day. Keeping that in mind I didn't want to spend a lot on an expensive hotel here. What I got from this hotel was way beyond my expectations. When we arrived here we were greeted very warmly by the receptionist, who was a govt employee because this is a KTDC hotel. I asked him if there was extra bed for the kids and he just smiled and responded that he had seen my requirements in my booking and he has taken care of it. When we entered the room, I could understand why he smiled at me... It wasn't a room, it was literally a hall with a double bed and another single bed at the other end of the room and a neat huge bathroom as well. That's exactly what we needed for this night - a good nights sleep.... And I paid just 1500/- for that when I booked on KTDC website. The only slight issue was that pillows were very hard. I had read reviews that its noisy because it is on the highway but I didn't face that issue, probably because our room was not on the side of the highway, it was on the opposite end.

Room Tip: Book for two adults and two kids, you will get the hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kush K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

It is 'good value for money' hotel located on a busy highway about 4 km away from the main bus stand and boat jetty. We had booked their A/C Deluxe room which was very small for three of us. Luckily, we could upgrade to their A/C Premium room which is essentially a spacious three bedded room. It has a separate bathroom and a toilet, which is very rare in modern hotels. The rooms were clean and tidy. Though the noise from the traffic did not disturb our sleep, the noise from the loudspeaker across the highway did. There is temple opposite the hotel which plays loud music as early as 4 o'clock in the morning. This was very disturbing. The staff was overall helpful and it was one amongst them who suggested that if we wished we could upgrade to their A/C Premium room. They do have a restaurant, which is good but with very few options. Luckily, just 3-4 minutes walking distance is Hotel Prince which looks pricey but has a very good restaurant which serves reasonably priced, tasty food. All in all, it is a good budget accommodation for those who wish to stay in Allapuzha to experience the Kerala backwaters.

Room Tip: Chose a room not directly facing the highway/temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shashank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The value for money accommodation is a good option for travelers who want to stay overnight before checking into a houseboat or something. Rooms are large and clean. They provide an extra bed which can come handy if you are traveling with kids. Located near a main road but not a very good surroundings. The restaurant is non-AC and provides limited options for food. Food is also not very good. Best bet is to walk down for 4-5 minutes to Hotel Price which has much better food option. Dosas are very good there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolakaNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here for a night before we had to check into a Houseboat next morning.
I must say the rooms were unusually huge, clean with extra beds. Had good furniture inside the room. The bed and bathrooms were comfortable.
The KTDC eatery inside served good food at damn reasonable prices.
The noise from the highway did not reach the rooms, it could be only heard when you are down at the gate. And, it wasnt the usual highway which has a lot of traffic, so dont worry about noise. We had good stroll after the dinner in the compound and it was really peaceful.

Next time if I come back and I am on a budget spree, I will definitely choose this even for a longer stay with my extended family, because it was really great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advait6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

good clean hotel ,courteous staff and an excellent restaurant attached were u can get good kerala food and being a govt run resort rentals are reasonable and they have 3 bedded a.c rooms .
the only negative is it is situated on a busy highway with a lot of traffic a bit noisy ,a nice temple opp the resort must see

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goaway11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

There is only one other review for the KTDC Tamarind hotel in Alappuzha and I generally agree with them on most points.This is one of the budget hotels run by the Kerala government.I've stayed at two other KTDC hotels but much more upmarket ones.Across the board though, whether budget or premium the hotels are quite well run and they are always clean.The Tamarind Hotel is no exception.It's a simple one story hotel flanked by some mature trees and you'll find it on a very humdrum suburban street.There is a well-frequented restaurant annexed to the hotel .Despite it's dated 1980's colored plastic look,the restaurant served good,fresh South Indian food.

Our room was located at the front overlooking the road and it amply accommodated the three of us,in fact it was one of the larger KTDC hotel rooms we stayed in.The room was very traditional with the colored concrete floor,cotton bedspreads and a big metal wardrobe or almirah.It was an extremely clean room.The staff were pretty low key and helpful when needed.

There is a religious center directly across the road and yes we did hear audible chanting and see bright lights flashing at different times of the day and early morning.
We were basically interested in using this hotel as a pit stop between different cites and also as a launching point for finding a backwater houseboat.Alappuzha is right on the backwaters and well known as a place to rent houseboats.Without the advantage of your own houseboat you can also visit the backwaters on a cruise or even more reasonably on a local ferry.There's a major bus stop just outside the Tamarind hotel where we easily caught a bus down to the canal.

So,this is a very modest hotel,but for someone who wants a clean ,cheap residence for a short stay this could fit the bill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travlalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Tamarind (Motel Aaram) is a low cost hotel operated by Kerala Tourism (KTDC). The rates are low and you get your money's worth. Rooms are a bit small but have a queen bed, AC, ceiling fan, phone and a cupboard. Bathroom is reasonably sized and is equipped with western fittings. Hot water is available in the mornings.

The motel however is right next to a busy road and the sounds of vehicles at night could be disturbing. Moreover, it is directly opposite a big temple and on the night I stayed there, the priests there started playing very loud music as early as 4 am.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NemoNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.9 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
398 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
1.8 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
832 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
190 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Alappuzha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Alappuzha

Address: A S Road, Alappuzha 688001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 177 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: £11 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarind Alappuzha 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tamarind Alappuzha Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing