We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reasonable home stay”
Review of Dazzle Dew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dazzle Dew
Ranked #51 of 210 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Too much of mosquitoes in the lawn area Except that it is an decent home stay and the rate is also acceptable.The rooms are clean with equipped with all the basic requirements.one more draw back is that there is no shops in and around the home stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tofiq U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hai Guest,

Thanks for your feedback.For the outside mosquito we cant do anything.Sorry.Some small shops are nearby.But you came on sunday .So the shops are closed.

Thanks Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Pros :
close to bus-stand, boat jetty
valuable advice/help from tony. He helped us to be on time for doing the 2hr govt site-seeing boat ride, this was much cheaper and fulfilling.
Decent home-made food from Tony's family.
(once we had meals from Abdullah's opp to boat jetty, it was good, In allepey we cdnt quickly find a good restaurant though)
Auto on call arranged by Tony
though all places are nearby, auto charges were slightly high (atleast this is what we paid)
Rs.100 to railway station, beach
Rs.50 to bus-stand, boat jetty

we went with our 3yr old daughter. Was worried about insects as bathroom is open. But faced no problems, though we did use at night.

Nice balcony, with a thoughtful fan on top.

Very high value for money, comfortable. i will recommend this place for any of my friends/family.

Cons
-----
Tony talks about solar water heaters in future, until then use a bucket to ferry your hot water.
we had trouble for around 2 hrs, with water from tap being dirty, so check with Tony if the water tank is been recently cleaned.

Room Tip: all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hai,

Thank you very much for your feedback.O.K solar water heater we are installing this season ..And about the dirty water ,we clean the water tank that morning and some dirty water are there in the pipe .Dont worry we clean the Tank every sunday

Thank you Tony and Swapna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

An auto ride from the railway station will set you back by Rs 60-80, but the peace in the homestay is worth the ride. The accomodation is in sets of two cottages each, away from the main house.

Pros:
1. Quite near to the finishing line jetty road from where most of the Shikara/houseboat rides start, should cost Rs 20-30 by auto.
2. Novel open-roofed bathroom arrangement.
3. Wi-fi available, though sometimes a bit spotty.
4. Tony, the owner has a real good knowledge of the area and his tips were usually spot on.
5. Good home-made food.

Cons:
1. No running hot water, would need to lug a bucket back from the main house.
2. Chances of entry of mosquitoes if the doors are left open for long, but the mosquito menace is common throughout Alappuzha.
3. There's a temple out nearby, the sounds from which may disturb only the most sensitive of sleepers in the morning.

All in all, a very enjoyable and hospitable stay with good value for money.

Room Tip: Prefer a cottage with the adjoining one vacant, as it would help in providing privacy. Otherwise all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adityaanand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hai Guest ,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your valuable feedback

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms are in nice little cottages with chairs out front. There is wifi and the rooms have TV. The bathrooms are open-roofed so rather a lot of insects but clean. There was no hot water. Tony the owner was often not around but usually available by phone and his wife was as helpful as possible (and everyone incl children and grandmother very friendly). We spent an afternoon with a very nice tuc tuc guy who took us around town and to beautiful Marari beach for a swim. The next day Tony organised a canoe tour for us which was a great way to see the backwaters. The only downside was that the guide spoke almost no English (even though Tony claimed he did) so it was almost impossible to ask questions about what we saw. The guest house is difficult to find - even with the instructions in Malayalam they provide for drivers. It is about 3km from the canal (to the ferry dock) and 6km from the beach. A bicycle would have been great...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaele_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback..We know very well that Open Bath room have advantages and disadvantages are there..Any way we can't enjoy the open bathroom everywhere.So PLEASE ENJOY and ADJUST.

Because of the highly restricted electricity problem we remove the water heater from the cottage and now the water heater we fixed in my house just opposite to the cottage and every one can take HOT WATER 24 hrs by Bucket.
Guests Our new DELUXE Rooms are coming by next season ( ( BEDROOM and DRESSING ROOM with 275 sq feet ) and we are fixing Solar Water Heater and the problem will be solved

To the Lake -- 1/2 km just 5 min walk ,To the main crowded street -- 1 k.m ,To the Bus station and government ferry jetty -- 3 km. To the Beach and Railway station 6 k.m

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in November. Tony and his wife are very friendly and helpful (he arranged a shikkara boat trip for us which was a highlight). We had food one night and it was really good. Tony also got hold of some beer and kept it in the fridge for us which was great. The cottages, set in some land adjacent to the main house, are very basic and very small. I was looking forward to the open bathroom at the back but it was covered in a piece of blue polythene which had collected a lot of dirty rain water. It's in a quiet area of Alleppey which was really interesting but quite a way from the town and shops on foot. It's also really hard to find and has no sign outside. I probably wouldn't choose this place again, mainly because of the location.

Room Tip: There are 2 semi-detatched cottages which as all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.Some of the Indian families don't like the open Bathroom.That is why we temporary close one of the bathroom with sheet..Unfortunately we give that room for you..If you just tell me to open it's a matter of 1 minute and you can enjoy the open bathroom. We are making a new sign board ,so we remove all the boards.SORRY for the inconvenience.

Dear guests as you know Dazzle Dew is not located in the crowded street or at the busy side of lake .From Dazzle Dew
To the Lake ---- 1/2 km Just 5 min walk,To the main crowded street -- 1 km,To the Bus station and government ferry jetty -- 3 k.m,To the Beach and Railway station -- 6 k.m

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed there in October 2013 for two nights. Thoroughly enjoyed. Comfortable room, homecooked traditional kerala food, very close to the jetty. North Indians may find its half open bathroom not to their liking but it was a good experience. Tony arranged clean, comfortable Shikara and canoe. The cottage is away from Tony household. Quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended

Room Tip: There are two cottages with two rooms each. If possible, choose a cottage with the other room empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroranuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrossu, Owner at Dazzle Dew, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Anuj and family,
Thank You for staying with us and for your feedback.See You Again .THANK YOU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed last month with my family.Very nice room. Clean, Quiet.Home cooked food very tasty and also the best food we have .( Special Thanks to Tony's wife Swapna and mother ).And the BATHROOM very funny with half top open (Very good Experience) Tony is very helpful for finding a boat and the boat he arrange is very EXCELLENT .

Room Tip: Enjoy The Front Verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itoop a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Emarald Pristine Island Floating Resort
0.0 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#32 of 70 in Alappuzha
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Gardens Resorts
Lake Gardens Resorts
#64 of 210 in Alappuzha
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dazzle Dew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dazzle Dew

Address: East of Cheramankulangara Temple | Thathampally p.o, Alappuzha 688013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £15 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 4 rooms with a/c and non a/c facilities. Looks like traditional Kerala cottage with a front open veranda to get a good view of garden and with a top opened bathroom. Only homely food we are serving.Our Location is in a very good Residential Area between town center and lake side Distance from Bus Station and Government ferry 3 kmFrom Railway Station 6 kmTo Lake side 5 min walk (1/2 km)To Main street 1 kmTo Beach 6 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dazzle Dew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dazzle Dew Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing