We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Nearby Hotels
Deshadan Backwater Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punnamada Resort(Alappuzha)
US$175
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The World Backwaters(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Citrus Retreats Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmgrove Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$26
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
203
44
11
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
44
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalabar housegarden suitestepping stonesbeautiful boutique hotelrelais and chateauxfloor suiteindian artpieces of artwould love to return one daycanoe ridemorning yogacomplimentary yogasmall infinity poolopen courtyardthe chinese fishing netshuge bedroomwatching the birds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Lake Vembanad is the way the world was supposed to look--lush, tropical, mysterious The very small staff is talented and friendly. The food was the best that we had in Kerala and Vineeth, the manager, is intelligent, thoughtful and has a fund of information. The conoe trip with a local fisherman was a highlight. I did suggest they get a couple of plastic kyacks for self propelled touring. Recommend trip to Aleppy by cab for the feel of a non-touristic Kerala town, have lunch using only your right hand at the Indian Coffee Shop. They are building eight additional rooms -- the site is shielded so it doesn't affect ambience -- I hope that it does not affect the intimate feel of the place

Room Tip: There was one extraordinary suite on the second floor which our friends occupied but we were quite satisfied with our suite and our sense was that all of the very few rooms were quite fine
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelSHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We spent 2 nights here and it was the best accommodation of the whole trip.
Great room, lovely view and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
We sampled the Ayurvedic treatments too, which were completely different to anything else we've ever experienced!
The yoga was taken by a 75 year old Yogi, who was delightful.
Make sure you go on the sunset canoe trip and also go to the kitchen for a cooking lesson - all in all a very lovely memory.

There are one or two more negative observations I could make, but the positives outweigh these.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly0502011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

we stayed three nights at the Purity. The hotel is very modern, nice, clean, comfortable, luxary and stylish - but at the same time it is purely indian and very charismatic. It´s location at the lake is just amazing. The service was perfect, the staff did everything to meet our requirements, and they did that very successfully - a perfect service. The food was that good as well. As far as we are concerned, this was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were lucky enough to enjoy three nights at Purity and had the place completely to ourselves. As is often the case in these tucked away pieces of Asian paradise, the dirt road leading up to Purity belies what you find at the end of it.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Vineet, the hotel manager, along with a yummy and refreshing mocktail. Vineet informed us they had just finished a complete refurbishment and the arrival 'lobby' was chic and welcoming. You walk out to the main courtyard which surrounds a main water feature. It was in this spot that we enjoyed our breakfast and dinner each day, although there are a number of spots available for dining, as you can be served where you desire.

The staff were so friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Each evening we were able to arrange our meals off menu, discussing what was fresh and available with the chef. The hotel bar is limited with only Indian wines and Kingfisher beer. The latter was thoroughly enjoyed by the boys in our group, however the Indian wine has an acquired taste. That said, the team at Purity were happy for us to bring our own, which we did.

We stayed in the suite which was spacious and finished to a contemporary style. The bed was very comfortable indeed. We saw some of the other 'deluxe' rooms and these certainly will not disappoint. Everything has been done to a stylish standard.

The only complaint, and it certainly didn't spoil our stay, is that the hotel is in the process of expanding, so building work next door is in progress which we weren't made aware of when booking. However, my husband and I successfully blocked this out to background noise and it in no way upset our stay.

We swam in the lake and the pool. Highly invigorating and lots of fun!

There are a few little touches which will elevate Purity to the next level: candles, background music, cocktail list.. However as it is the room rate, and indeed F&B onsite represent amazing value so we would highly recommend a stay here.

Not to forget the Purity spa. Specialising in Ayurvedic treatments, we all enjoyed massages during our stay. One of our group also experienced a private yoga session with a local yogi who comes to give early morning classes next to the lake.

Big thanks to all of the team at Purity. The Malabar House owners and management should be proud. Special mentions to Vineet, 'The Doctor' and the incredibly kind and patient Anup! You helped us all recharge our batteries and we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bekah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a very large suite. Very grand, the enormous bathroom with sunken bath and large separate shower but the hand basin with an enormous crack running down the front.
The few staff, so very pleasant but very inexperienced. The swimming pool and the surrounds not clean and and by mid morning, the loungers not cleaned with the used towels from the previous day still heaped upon them. When the 'touring manager' turned up and he was, in now uncertain form, told about it, he himself started to clean the area.

Yes, having dinner served in darkness by the lake very romantic until you realise the large prawn you have just started to eat not properly cooked and raw in part, but you cannot see what you are eating as so dark.
The aircon. in our sitting room not working, we were told (without any member of staff coming to look at it) that we cannot have air in bedroom and sitting room.
Building work, to enlarge the property, appeared to take most of the staff attention. Perhaps it will be better when when this is complete.

Room Tip: Wait until ready for guests.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews