We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purity at Lake Vembanad
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We so enjoyed our stay. The staff, especially George, were wonderful and so attentive without being intrusive. The food was fantastic, the lakeside location great and the recently refurbished cottage suite a delight. Hopefully, the 8 room extension soon to be opened will not disrupt the almost perfect harmony of this lakeside retreat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The cookery lessons were fun; not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    39
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here for one night for a day and night of pure relaxation, arriving from our houseboat that we had stayed on the night previously.

The decor was vibrant, modern but very comfortable. We loved our room which was spacious and immaculately clean but we particularly made the most of the pool which felt private while still had a view onto the lake. The staff were very attentive and kindly arranged a beautiful surprise floral decoration on our bed (the duvet was covered in fresh jasmine and blossom) on hearing we had just got married.

There wasn't so much to do in the local town but the hotel itself was enough to just relax in for a day or so. The food was fresh, delicious and well priced with the al-fresco dinner in the courtyard being particularly romantic. Certainly worth a trip to get away from it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennyblack259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
575 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The rooms are not very sophisticated but this is a great experience. The service is perfect and the people are nice. We had a dinner al fresco served with smiles and the food was very good. The location is excellent and the view is stunning. Surprising but a lot of good memory.

Room Tip: The location is surising but after an hour you are under the charm of the place. In the evening you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I stayed there in January 2012. Within half an hour I had changed my flights to take in 3 nights instead of the two I had planned. This place is just one of the nicest , cleanest and well run hotels I have ever had the pleasure to stay at.
The manager is so professional whilst finding out what you are really looking for at Purity. Nothing was too much and on our first night we happened to be the only couple for that night. They layed on a candlelit supper right by the lake which was just lovely. The staff too are wonderful and they look after you in a way that other big hotels do not give...but should learn from.
It's a gorgeous setting and very romantic. The gardens are well groomed and the pool too is nice and not too large. Overall you will find this place totally relaxing and you feel at home here and away from the Rat race.The food too is amazing and the chefs get great pleasure telling you the ingredients and to listen to their passion is a delight.
The manager got us a long boat (plus wine) and we went through the amazing backwaters which I urge you not to miss! The next day we took the overnight stay on their River boat with your own cook, waiter, and staff pamper you like I have never seen before. Also if in your budget I would urge you to do...an experience I will remember and treasure for life.
The decor with its ancient artefacts and antiques make this a really special Place.
A truly wonderful Hotel and if you are a couple and want /need to get away BOOK HERE.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Went there for a family getaway. The hospitality was excellent. I highly recommend this place especially as an alternative to a typical hotel large hotel. They definitely give you the individual attention that other hotels miss.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank run4ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Purity has a beautiful setting on Lake Vembanad, though getting there is rather a mystery tour to the backend of nowhere. The hotel is beautifully designed and is currently being extended. We stayed, for just one night, in the suite which looks stunning though did suffer from a damp smell.

The gardens run to the waters edge and candle lit dining by the water was a delight. All the food was excellent. We ate lunch, supper and breakfast and were delighted to find an innovative young Indian chef with his own inventions on the menu. Much to our surprise and delight there is less of a mosquito problem in the backwaters than in Kochi. We sat out comfortably in the evening.

My wife enjoyed a wonderful sunset canoe ride with a local fisherman. Like most Keralans his English was excellent and they spent the trip discussing their different day-to-day lifestyles in a fascinating conversation. This was a complimentary excursion organised by the hotel.

The only negative was the large population of crows that were on the noisy side.

Our houseboat arrived directly to the hotel's waterside the following morning and we embarked directly with the hotel staff waving us off.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Lake Vembanad is the way the world was supposed to look--lush, tropical, mysterious The very small staff is talented and friendly. The food was the best that we had in Kerala and Vineeth, the manager, is intelligent, thoughtful and has a fund of information. The conoe trip with a local fisherman was a highlight. I did suggest they get a couple of plastic kyacks for self propelled touring. Recommend trip to Aleppy by cab for the feel of a non-touristic Kerala town, have lunch using only your right hand at the Indian Coffee Shop. They are building eight additional rooms -- the site is shielded so it doesn't affect ambience -- I hope that it does not affect the intimate feel of the place

Room Tip: There was one extraordinary suite on the second floor which our friends occupied but we were quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelSHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
4.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
640 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
4.2 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,641 reviews
6.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#3 of 67 in Alappuzha
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity at Lake Vembanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity at Lake Vembanad

Property: Purity at Lake Vembanad
Address: East of Muhamma Police Station, Alappuzha 688525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purity at Lake Vembanad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking lake Vembanad at its widest point, purity is 50 km from The Malabar House and 70 km from Cochin International Airport. Accessible by car & boat, it is the starting point of our backwater cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Purity at Lake Vembanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity At Lake Vembanad Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing