We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and spot on in every way :-)”
Review of Bella Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Homestay
Ranked #4 of 204 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon, after a day of touring and washing elephants :-) There was still a bit of sunlight to let us admire the beautiful garden. As we waited for the mandatory electricity cut out between 1830-1900, we enjoyed a welcome drink sitting outside, entertained by Jackie the adorable pug.
Our room was on the ground floor... Spotless! ... and so was the bathroom, modern and spotless.
We ordered take away food for dinner which was delivered to the house in great timing.
Biju organized our houseboat trip for the following day, and a tuk tuk ride in the morning to do some errands before the boat. Breakfast... delicious!!! Homemade keralan pancakes :-) and nice real coffee :-).
When we returned from the overnight houseboat trip, it was a most pleasant surprise to find Biju on the dock waiting for us, with the car he'd organized to take us to our next destination.
To meet Natasha and Biju in person, it was easy to feel the warm and genuine welcome. They are passionate about what they do, and it shows.
It would be so easy to stay longer :-) Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurasian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have stayed at Bella Home Stay twice this year Feb and March 2012. Bella Home Stay is run by Natasha and Biju and opened last year in October. Very clean is an understatement, you will not find cleaner. Really lovely garden where you can sit and relax. Natasha and Biju have a lot of experence in running Home Stays. This really does show in the type of accomadation and standards they provide at this Home Stay.
The beds are comfortable with extra pillows, the rooms are very tastfuly decorated and are very pleasent to stay in. Bella home stay is in a really lovely area of Alappuzha and is set in lush green area which is very quiet.
Breakfast is provided in the price and you can have a really good Keralan breakfast. Biju is a really good person to arrange trips on Rice Boats plus other trips, as he is local and full of good honest information.
I really cant find any thing negitive about Natasha and Biju and their lovely home stay they run. Its top notch and the best place ive ever stayed in India. Thankyou guys so much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We thoroughly our stay here, highlighted by the friendly and helpful service from humans (Natasha / Biju) and canines (Jackie) alike! Stayed two nights in an A/C room that was very clean with a comfortable and relatively large bed. They helped us to book a nice backwaters canoe day tour that we were very happy with. Location is very close to a ferry stop and a nice, reasonably priced ayurvedic massage place. Not a whole lot to do at night in Alappuzha, but the town center is a short tuk tuk ride away. Definitely would recommend Bella Homestay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inorv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Do yourself a favour and stay here! Brand, spanking new and immaculate, Natasja and Biju's home opens it's doors and welcomes you to India! Friendly, informative, helpful and just downright nice, this couple will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Oh yes, there's a cute little doggy here too (he likes chocolate...I'm just saying), a terrace for drinking lassies and beer, fresh rooms and finally a place that feels like a home away from home! Let Biju recommend and arrange canoe trips, houseboats, local beaches and the local Ayurveda center (simple but great!). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here mid-March 2012 for one night before heading to the backwaters the following day. We felt so much at ease, and it was fun to meet other travelers who were also staying there. Natasha and Biju are passionate about making you feel at home. Biju helped us arrange our backwater tour when we arrived, which went very smoothly. There's so much praise I could give this place, but all the other reviewers beat me to the punch. If you have an extra night in Alleppey that's not spent on the backwaters, stay at Bella!

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C if you travel in March and later. Kerala is really hot this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ebablevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Bella in March. Owned by a very happy, helpful, friendly couple and their pug. The home is immaculate and modern. Rooms are spacious (upstairs room on the left is the best and has windows on 3 sides of the house, allowing good air flow). They have good coffee and wifi. We received a delicious cold ginger drink upon arrival. Breakfast seemed a bit of a struggle (maybe not morning people?).

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

.. we fear it will always be booked in the future! Modern, very clean and comfortable rooms. The owners Natalie&Biju are always happy and put a lot of love into their home. I`m still dreaming of the ginger-lime-juice.. so refreshing. There was always something new to choose from at brekki. We really enjoyed our houseboat-tour too. Excellent place to stay at, we loved it. Nicole&Keith

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiccOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 69 in Alappuzha
722 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 69 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#13 of 69 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 204 in Alappuzha
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Homestay

Address: | near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point, Alappuzha 688013, India (Formerly Bella Art & Meditation House)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £31 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique homestay with a personal touch, a garden, comfortable unique rooms with AC, hot water, WI-FI and free breakfast. Perfect location for backwater tours, very close to lake and boat terminals. Walking distance to center but away from city noise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing