We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Bella”
Review of Bella Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Homestay
Ranked #4 of 211 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Bella homestay definitely deserves its name.
Beautiful house and garden situated in a quiet street short walk from the houseboats habor.
Very clean and nicely decorated rooms, very comfortable bathroom, tasty food, friendly and helpful hosts Natasha & Biju, adorable Jacku, perfect houseboat trip arranged by them. Big thank you for everything. We higly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmadry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Located away from the hustle in a quite corner, this small boutique House is the perfect base to explore allepy. Host Biju & Natahsa went extra mile to make us comfortable.
+ Beautiful Location
+ Great House (Highlight being the porch)
+ Neat and clean rooms
+ Spic & Span Bathrooms
+ Jacky cutest pet ever
+ Yummy Food
+ Safe place
Stayed at few of the 5* properties during my holiday in kerela but this being a homestay was not far behind in overall experience. The car arranged by them for our entire kerela trip was not only reasonable but were provided with the best chauffeur in Sony.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nishitshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This place is amazing, and one of the nicest and most comfortable places I have ever been at in India, my husband and I just looked at eachother with a big smile when we found this place. The owners are an amazing couple with incredible recipes for tropical juices, which they make for you on arrival and at breakfast! You can choose either western style breakfast or South Indian, both of which were amazing. We can't say enough good things about this homestay! It is a diamond in the rough! A breath of fresh mountain air in the smog, etc, etc;)

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Where do I start, the rooms are immaculate and individually styled and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. There was a slight odour from the water, probably because it is fresh water pumped from the ground, this in no way detracts from the pleasure of the shower. The porch, the seating area and the breakfast patio were lovely. The hosts were so helpful, I cannot praise them enough, they helped us find a houseboat (a very memorable trip), stored our luggage when we were not staying another night, called our next accomodation so that we could arrange things, arranged pickup from the station. Our only regret is that we should have stayed longer. Special mention to Jackie, he is adorable ...

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This homestay was one our favourite places we stayed at in India. The place itself is situated in a fairly peaceful area, with lots of trees and birds in the attractive garden. This is where breakfast is served, with a choice of continental or Keralan style. Every day they would make a different breakfast - the Idli was particularly nice. The location is within walking distance to the town centre and very close to the Snake Boat races (in August). The room was really well decorated, and quite large for the price. The bedroom and shower room were without a doubt the cleanest that we stayed at in India. Natasha, Biju (and Jackie!) were fantastic hosts and genuinely friendly and helpful people. If you get the chance, ask them to organise a canoe boat trip for you. The guide was awesome and the backwaters are truly beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLuckyDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have stayed in several homestays in Kerala, and nowhere have I experienced such rudeness and aggression as in Bella Homestay.

We found the service slow and the hosts abrasive.

Whenever we used water either while showering or washing our teeth the water smelled of eggy sewage. It was disgusting! Also, there were no proper showers, so the floor was always wet. This wouldn't have been so much of a problem if we weren't paying so much for Bella.

Biju, the host offered to drive myself and a friend to visit his friend's house boat, with the possibility that we might stay there for a few nights. When we told him that we weren't sure about the house boat he was immediately furious and accused us of wasting his time. He told us that he didn't need our money and that we were no friends of his. The situation was very awkward.

Overall, our experience was horrible and we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Emer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaBiju, Owner at Bella Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Mme,
We feel sorry to say that your review is wrong and false.
First of all, how one can believe words of people who steal accessories from our homestay?
You arrived at our place without prior booking, saw the room, acknowledged the price of 1500 INR with breakfast and tax included and took the room. We guess it was not so bad if you decided to stay on the spot.
The price of 1500 INR is also not a top price for middle range accommodation.
Secondly, you looked happy during your stay and how could it be otherwise? To say that we behave rude with our guests is a joke! We have a long experience in tourism field and we have manners that would not allow us to treat our clients without respect, no matter how difficult they are.
Biju arranged for you another homestay for a cheaper price as we were full the next day. You were happy also with that one.
As for the houseboat, you obviously had no idea of the prices and expected a luxury boat for a bargain tarrif. Finally the boat that you liked was also arranged by us, only Biju sent another person to show it to you.
We helped the best way we can as we do with all our customers.
Because your review is so different from your behaviour in Bella we think it is not genuine and cannot be trusted.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This place is typical for it's beautiful rooms and cleaness. The hosts are very friendly. They helped us with a boattrip and a location for our next stay in Kumily. The dog is adorable and Bella Homestay has a homely feeling to it. The only thing was that the bikes were tired after the high season, but thats understandable. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
21.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.3 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 211 in Alappuzha
434 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 211 in Alappuzha
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.9 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
1.8 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Homestay

Address: Thattampally | near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point, Alappuzha 688013, India (Formerly Bella Art & Meditation House)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £31 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique homestay with a personal touch, a garden, comfortable unique rooms with AC, hot water, WI-FI and free breakfast. Perfect location for backwater tours, very close to lake and boat terminals. Walking distance to center but away from city noise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bella Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing