We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, lovely little homestay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bella Art & Meditation House
Ranked #5 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Welcoming, lovely little homestay!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were so glad we picked Bella - Natasha and Biju were superb hosts and were extremely attentive and efficient. Biju has a great network in town (especially for backwaters cruises), and Natasha is also a seasoned India hand having worked as a tour operator for many years before this venture. The rooms were spotlessly clean, furnished beautifully, and great for couples. An added bonus is the house dog Jackie, who is very cute indeed. I would strongly recommend Bella Homestay as the best option for anyone traveling to Alleppey.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureFreakAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    28
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
44
153
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Bella Homestay is nestled away in a residential area of Allepey. It is a calm, welcoming and relaxing oasis with fantastic hosts. Here's what you need to know if you are thinking about staying here:-

THE PROS

1. The hosts. Natasha and Biju are absolute gems. Natasha is a former tour guide for Polish visitors to India and I think her time in this role let her see the best and worst that India has to offer. She has learnt from this experience and with the assistance of her husband, Biju, has developed this wonderful homestay. They are friendly, welcoming and accessible hosts. Jack, the pug dog is also very welcoming but not quite as helpful as the other two.

Biju knows a lot of people in the area. We arrived in Allepey in the middle of the holiday season and the local KTDC office had told us that we’d have to wait 6 days before we could get a boat to explore the backwaters. After speaking to Biju about it, he made a few calls and found us a boat for the next day.

2. The rooms. The best that we stayed in in the whole of Kelara, without a doubt. They were spotless, the only place to have a basket of flannels/shampoos for use to use. They put an extra mattress in our twin room (as there were 3 of us), no questions asked.

3. Location. Bella is a 5 minute walk away from the ferry jetty (where most of the houseboats depart from), a 10 minute walk away from the main bazaar area of the town and about 10 minutes from the bus station.

4. Breakfast. Delicious. We had the Keralan option every day and it was fantastic.

THE CONS

This is quite unusual for me, but I can’t really find fault with Bella. It isn’t the cheapest option in Allepey, but it does represent good value for money. We looked at 2/3 other accommodation options before going to look at Bella and when we arrived in the town, we were only intending to stay for 1 night. We ended up staying for 2, as Bella was such a great place to stay.

The very negative review about this place is completely unjustified and you don’t need to take any notice of it. I can’t recommend Bella highly enough. Just go for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skunkerhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

We booked this homestay in Alleppey because we wanted to book a house boat the day after. It turned out to be a very good choice as Bella Homestay is perfect in everything. On arrival we were treated with a delicious fruitmix from Bidju, after which we were guided to our super clean room. Bidju and Natasha are great to talk to and very helpful so that our stay was upmost pleasant. We'd definitely go back here when we get the chance. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Alleppey then look no further, this is the place to be. Natasha and Biju and Jacky (the pug) keep a beautiful home. It is extremely clean, comfortable and welcoming. The whole place is beautifully decorated, with a contemporary style mixed with a little something special. The rooms are bright and comfortable with aircon and lovely bathrooms. We suggest you don't dither and get your room booked because if you don't there are plenty of other people that will. Biju's fruit smoothies are an absolute must. Thank you Natasha and Biju xxx

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 19Sheppard61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Very friedly and helpful owners arranged everything for us to our full satisfaction. Great breakfast! Our host Natasha, coming herself from Europa and having worked in tourism for many years, knows perfectly what you need to feel well. Her husband Biju knows everything you might ask.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dorisloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We arrived late at night to a welcoming Biju and Natasha who offered to us a much needed tea and biscuits after a 550km drive. They arranged a boat tour for a reasonable price and helped us to enjoy whatever Alappuzha had to offer. They arranged dinner which met our strict dietary requirements as well as a tasty breakfast. The way they behaved with us the way they would with their family. The rooms were very artistic. The homestay itself is quiet and peaceful. Biju, Natasha and Jackie made us feel welcome and we will surely visit in the nearby future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank InBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Baju and Natasha have created a cozy, stylish and friendly haven up a tiny back street in Alleppey, where we just spent 4 days relaxing and resting. The place is super comfortable and clean. With only four rooms you won't be overwhelmed by noise or crowded spaces either. Breakfast options include wonderful pancakes and fresh chilled juice, or traditional Keralan and continental choices. The hosts suggestions for restaurants and activities are spot on - the canoe trip they organised was a perfect way to see the backwaters. And on top of it all, they are super friendly and always helpful!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gorkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
176 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 195 in Alappuzha
416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Art & Meditation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Art & Meditation House

Property: Bella Art & Meditation House
Address: | near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point, Alappuzha 688013, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique homestay with a personal touch, a garden, comfortable unique rooms with AC, hot water, WI-FI and free breakfast. Perfect location for backwater tours, very close to lake and boat terminals. Walking distance to center but away from city noise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Art & Meditation House Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing