We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further! Excellent Homestay”
Review of Bella Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Homestay
Ranked #5 of 198 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Look no further! Excellent Homestay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights at Bella. Biju and Natasha (and Jacko the dog) are wonderfully welcoming, providing lots of information, arranging for houseboat, autorickshaw, taxi, massage etc. The place is serene oasis in the midst of a neighborhood not far from the bustling main shopping road. Rooms are large, impeccably clean, bathrooms are well equipped, plenty of hot water and amenities. The highlight of our day was conversing with Biju while eating delicious and varied breakfasts prepared by Sunitha and Biji. Tea and coffee and snacks were offered readily. I had a very nice meditation session one morning with Natasha. Our kids loved staying here. For us, the best experiences during travel are when we have chance meetings people like Biju and Natasha who touch our lives and remain in our memories forever....thank you Biju, Natasha and Jack for the hospitality, kindness and sweet memories.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kneemac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    28
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
44
154
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights prior to taking the State ferry through the backwaters. After reading all the reviews for Bella's we booked here and are so glad we did so. It is beautiful and Bijou is a most gracious and welcoming host. Bella is serene and green and Jack the pug is a charmer!

Room Tip: There are only about 4 or 5 rooms and each is unique. All are quiet, some a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewMexicoSilverqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our family of three (two adults, one teenager) found our stay at Bella to be comfortable and peaceful. The property, while hidden from the main roads, is located within easy rickshaw distance of the beach front, and benefits from being far away from any traffic.
Our hosts Natasha and Bijou were nothing but welcoming and accommodating to us throughout our stay, always willing to organise transport, outings, boat trips on the canals, and recommending nice places for us to eat at while in Alleppey.
The rooms are pretty and comfortable and our family loved the peaceful balcony near our rooms where we could read and relax out in the South Indian air with a fan overhead for comfort.
The breakfasts were simple, fresh and nourishing, and our hosts were full of local knowledge which they were more than happy to share with us, for example recommending the leisurely and peaceful option of a day-long canoe trip to explore the beautiful backwaters of Alleppey.
But no review of Bella would be complete without mentioning a certain pug whose sweet temperament and handsome appearance made our stay all the more enjoyable and memorable. This reviewer must confess that a fair amount of the photos taken on our trip in South India star Jack the Very Handsome Pug.
Bijou and Natasha's kindness makes Bella House a welcoming stay which we would thoroughly recommend to any traveling through Alleppey town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Originally we were booked somewhere else, but a week before coming to india my wife was researching and she made me switch accommodations to Bella! Was I ever glad!!!

The host were wonderful and the accommodations were first rate!

Jack, the pug, is of course the star, both for the guest and in his own mind, he is handsome and he knows it!

Wonderful stay, thanks so much!

Rob & Amanda

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is probably the best place we have stayed in India. From the location to the room to the food to the service, everything is absolutely awesome. You basically are walking into a home. The owner Biju is so friendly. We arrived from Kochi to here and we were greeted by his adorable pug, Mr Jack. lol. The whole house is surrounded by plants and trees. You don't even feel the heat that much even though it was close to upper 90s in Kerala when we were there(March).

Food was excellent. Loved the coziness of the room. There is a sitting area outside the room where you can relax and there's a shelf full of books you can borrow to read.

Biju also showed us the meditation room upstairs which was so nice and peaceful. His wife was in North India learning meditation when we were there. So he was planning to make changes to the room when she comes back so that they can also teach the guests. Future guests are so lucky.

He also let us keep our luggage there when we went on a overnight house boat. And the house boat place is very close to the hotel too.

Definitely Bella house is the place to stay in Alappuzha. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After a grueling 7 hours journey on a non-ac bus from Munnar, I was welcomed into this little piece of heaven. When you're here, you can really feel the love they put into every little things.
Had the best nap in my one month trip to India. Woke up not knowing where I was and what time of the day it was. Comfy bed. Wonderful room.

Biju and Natasha really goes above and beyond.

I prebooked the room online. When I arrived, Natasha suggested that I change the room to a smaller one so I could save some money! Now that's some excellent service! You will realise very soon that they treat you with kindness, and as friends.

I remember on the morning I was due to leave, I asked Biju if there was local breakfast. He immediately asked his cook to prepare another set of breakfast (despite the fact that the normal toast was already done - I knew this only after). And at the mention of his awesome fruit juice, he made another one for me before I left - I'm not sure what he puts in it, but it's addictive!

Little tip: Remember to let them book the canoe day trip for you. Human powered - no engines, no fumes, no noise like the other houseboats. Second best decision I made in Allepey. At some points, we were going down the smaller canals (that the bigger boats can't reach) with just the sound of water trickling from the oar.

Thank you, Biju, Natasha and, not forgetting the absolutely adorable, Jack, for making Allepey such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40litres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Bella for 4 nights in January (so sorry for the late review Natasha and Biju!). We loved our time here and Natasha, Biju and Jack the pug made us feel so welcome. Natasha and Biju always had time to chat with us and kindly arranged an amazing overnight trip on a houseboat, which was a great experience and superb value for money. Breakfast at Bella's was delicious, we chose the Kerala's breakfast each day and breakfast was always different which was good as we got try different Keralan food. Biju also makes the most amazing pineapple juice with spices, fantastic! The rooms were beautifully decorated and there's a lovely shared balcony upstairs to watch the sunset, or the secluded garden veranda downstairs. We would not hesitate to stay here again - thank you so much Natasha, Biju and Jack for a great stay and for being such warm and hospitable hosts! Nikki & Kev (jan 2014).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
177 reviews
21.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#12 of 68 in Alappuzha
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#1 of 198 in Alappuzha
418 reviews
1.8 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Homestay

Property: Bella Homestay
Address: | near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point, Alappuzha 688013, India (Formerly Bella Art & Meditation House)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique homestay with a personal touch, a garden, comfortable unique rooms with AC, hot water, WI-FI and free breakfast. Perfect location for backwater tours, very close to lake and boat terminals. Walking distance to center but away from city noise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Homestay Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing