We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Low budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Location, Low budget”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were going to Alleppey for a wedding and 5 of us drove from Bangalore. After 15 hours of night driving we reached the resort. Initially we faced problem in getting the location eventually after a bit of struggle we did. You got to cross the back waters to reach the resort. Its hardly a minute. The location is good right on the banks of the back waters but its noisy as the particular stretch is a channel as every few seconds there is a house boat crossing from one direction or the other. The rooms were neat but small. There was no room service. We had to actually go to the kitchen and call in some one for any service. There was no hot water at all and even in the morning we had to wait for more than an hour but to no avail.There is no reception and food was strictly ok. The people were cordial but this cannot be called a hotel or a resort as what it is claimed. Home stay at the best. For the price that they are offering its an ok stay. With better amenities, good room service and improved surrounding this can be a good place.

Room Tip: Take the rooms closest to the back waters as these are away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imransadath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to write the review on Trip Advisor. First, let me apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have taken immediate corrective actions and changed the call system with new intercoms. I am sure you will not find any shortcomings further. About the 'co ordial people ', we are fortunate to have such a nice, friendly staff at bamboo lagoon. They are our strength and there to run our little hotel efficiently even during the absence of the owners. Please note we have different types of rooms to suit the budget, you have reached a peak festival time of onam, due to festival some of our key staff were on holiday probably this might have caused some dis comfort for you

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with bamboo lagoon and hope to be at your service once again.

Regards
Bamboo lagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    118
    43
    10
    11
See reviews for
139
137
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Based on the review we selected this Home-stay...... and i would say it is worth its price.... its a small home-stay with very limited facilities. If you are tight on budget then i would recommend it 110 percent. cheff/caretaker in the home-stay are very welcoming and will make your stay very comfortable and memorable. They are really very very good host. they can arrange for you boat if are willing too at economical price. But this home-stay is not a good choice if you are expecting cozy bed, lavish bathroom and big garden to roam around. Room and bathroom has scope for improvement with regard to maintenance but cleanliness wise it was good enough. i will never ever recommend this for youngsters as it is a small homestay their enjoyment will be disturbance for others and none of them would enjoy.....

Room Tip: rooms are not very cozy, beds are really hard so don't prefer if until and unless you are tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhumtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After one night house boat stay we are planed to stay one night in a back water resort in alleppey and we found Bamboo lagoon. It was really worth of money.. cottages are very neat and clean.. Good hospitality. Really enjoyed our stay..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhinav_shukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Honarable guest,

Greetings from theBamboolagoon resorts allapuzha!

We are pleased to know that your experience with us was truly memorable. , we offer an exclusive range of Traditional kerala food. Apart from the north india,contionetal , Our core values at bamboolagoon are Warm, Connected and Community and I’m glad you had a memorable experience with us and found the hotel and the services along with the food to be up to your taste and preference.

On your next visit we would recommend the a house boat cruise and stay that proves to be the perfect way to relax and unwind on a weekend with friends and family. We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to us

Warm regard
Banboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinganghat, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our group had four families & we booked 4 rooms there.We got 3 rooms near the river & one was at the back side.The location of riverside rooms was very good. We enjoy there, because the service was best.The environment was beautiful. Resort was also good. You can reach there only by boat, because the road ends at the other side of river, therefore the resort has arranged the boat to go there. The food was also very nice.
At the evening there was very problem of mosquitoes in Alleppey,so everybody must go with Odomos cream.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are best to choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunil_088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thanking you for visting us and happey to know that your had wopunderfull time spending with us Our core values are Warm, Connected and Community and I’m glad the associates were able to take care of all your requirements with utmost courtesy and professionalism. Your appreciation for the team will definitely be conveyed and I’m sure this will encourage them to continue to serve our guests with warmth and courtesy. It pleases me to know you found the interior and ambience as well as the amenities offered at the hotel to be upto your desired expectations.
we are located ideally between paddy field,river and green forest due this occasional mosquitto mence can not be avoided to take care we are arranging lotion and nets with out extra charge,please note this happens only evening some times

We thank you for your valuable feedback and recommendation and look forward to the pleasure of serving you again at bamboolagoon!

Warm Regards,

Bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

this is a small resort with 7 rooms, but nicely maintained by mr.majith & mr.abhi.the location of the resort is very good, Its a small island exactly between in between the punnamad lake and the vembanad lake. you have to cross the backwater to reach this. Its not a luxury resort, but the area is well maintained. the hotel staff will come and pick you up in a boat. Mr.Abhi was there to take care of our every need. we reached the late in the evening. so we spent the entire evening in the resort. there is not much to do at the resort.

Food options are limited. since we are vegetarian the chef had made some chapathis and mixed veg.curry. the taste is very good. the kid enjoyed the house boats going through the backwaters in front of the resort.

Abhi is very friendly and we kept discussing on a lot of issues. we loved our stay at bamboo lagoon and would definetly recommend for a stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are good since its a small resort and you can just walk to the front to have the view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suneel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Thanking you for visting us

At bamboolagoon , we go the extra mile to ensure our guests receive nothing but the best standards of service and your words of appreciation will definitely encourage the team to continue to serve guests with warmth and courtesy. We have a 7 rooms and 4 more are under constuction each offering a unique ambience and we are happy to learn you had a pleasurable dining experience with us. On your next visit we would like to recommend our house boat cruise which proves to be a combination of entertainment, celebration and joyful relaxation and the perfect way to unwind with friends and family.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again at bamboolagoon !

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I visited Kerala this August (around the same weekend Nehrutrophy event was being conducted).

In my opinion, if you are wanting to stay in Alleppey in a resort (maybe Houseboats are a better choice - but you will have to spend a lot of extra bucks), I suggest that this is a great place to be - because of its picturesque location and excellent service by the hosts (Abi & Ranjit). I always felt like I was a guest in a home rather than being in a resort.

To begin with, there is a 1-minute ride from in a small pick-up boat from road to the resort. Then you are greeted by extremely friendly & knowledgeable hosts in the resort. The exteriors of the room are very traditional looking. The interiors are small, nothing extravagant, but fits the cozy setting of that place.

Hosts are very hands-on. From suggesting the best ways to enjoy Alleppey to arranging perfect boat/vehicle for transportation and providing authentic local delicacies, they were always on top of it. The boat ride they arranged was very good since he took us into small canals where houseboats couldn't have traveled through, providing a good view of the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAnotherFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed in this resort from 13'th to 15'th August 2013. Located in a scenic and isolated place.

Pros:
1. On the very edge of the backwaters. Awesome ambience.
2. Limited rooms, hence doesn't feel crowded.
3. Promptly attended by the resort folks Rajith and Abhi.
4. Economical/Budget friendly. (For the Stay, excluding food)
5. Gives the real feel of backwaters as it's located on an island and is accessible only by boat.

Cons:
1. Food is over priced (charged for individual items) and lacks variety. Breakfast was free but gotta eat what is prepared. No choice).
2. No geyser in room. So people with kids watch out as the water is ice cold.
3. Toilets could be better.

Do not expect a star rated pampering. However definitely does justice for what we pay. Quite surprised to hear they accept cards despite the locality. Rajith, the resort's point of contact/owner was prompt in arranging whatever the tourists needed. Kudos. Definitely worth staying there. You wont regret.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamKishoreK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
21.0 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Property: Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing