We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic way to experience alleppey. The hosts were lovely, cooked great food, provided alcohol and gave a great home stay feel with the privacy of a hotel. Definitely glad we chose Bamboo Lagoon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    118
    43
    10
    11
See reviews for
139
137
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We started our trip in Kerala with our 2 nights stay at this fabulous location right on backwaters. The place is awesome and will make you feel you are on a houseboat with all the facilities of a permanent house with beautiful garden.
We were also given great hospitality by Baiju,Arsha and Babu.Kudos!
Please keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Room no. 107 (where we stayed) and 2 rooms adjacent to it are at excellent location. But I guess, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satender P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a one day one night stay at the bamboo lagoon with my family. About our experience, would like to say that it was a very relaxed stay over there. The outer view of the resort is fantastic, we could see house boats all round the backwater, was able to witness beautiful sunset while boating. Also enjoyed the sea food. The resort had all necessary amenities to make the trip worthwhile and for small children to enjoy the natural beauty. Once again, thanks for providing a worthwhile experience in small vacation trip we had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsunny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My partner and I intended to stay here 2 nights but ended up so relaxed that drifted into 4 nights! The resort is located right on the river edge and you can while away the entire day in the hammock or on the swing seat watching the house boats and fishermen, washing being done, lilies drifting up and down, goods being transported and birds flying around the coconut trees. It is isolated (to get to shops you are rowed over the river) and the staff will ask you what you would like to eat and drink- prices are cheap and the cook pretty good. Vinod was especially polite and helpful. The only negative is perhaps the number of mosquitoes if you sit out at night. A ceiling fan might be a good idea? Very good though....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at bamboolagoon

Its nice to know that my team was friendly and resourceful.

While we keep striving to exceed our guests expectations we are glad to know that you found the hotel lovely and great value for your money.

We look forward to welcome you back

Thank You

Kind regards
for team bamboolagoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Solo traveller stayed 4 nights and would certainly come back. Rooms are adequate but not extraordinary, excellent for the price. Position of the hotel is a bit out of the way, but hotel arranged affordable tuk-tuk to take you to the city and beach . Arrangements for pick up and drop off to the airport can be made easily and affordably. The small resort is peaceful with a good range of food and has a very good breakfast.

Staff are excellent very helpful speak comfortable English and make you feel at home, you feel so comfortable, they made my stay in kerala so memorable.

Room Tip: firstfloor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabindranath b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, as you know we strive to always provide the finest personal service to our guests. It is always gratifying to read such wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The bamboolagoon

Sincerely,

Gopinath for team bamboolagoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nothing much to say about this property except it's location. It is located right at the backwaters. We took a autorickshaw to reach this place from Alleppey bus stand (costed 50 Rs.). The entrance to this place is not easy to locate. The board is not placed correctly on the main road. It's placed on the left of the road and the small way which leads to this place is at the right. When you reach a hotel and leave vehicle, you have to go through a small hut (premises) and wait for a boat to come to pick you up. This is a small rickety boat rowed by a poor old chap. Boat ride is of hardly 5 mins. During our stay we faced lot of problems -
- We had to wait for 30 mins for the boat to come to pick us.
- Water was not consistently available. It comes on and off.
- Hot water is available but was not made available. They say that you need to ask us to switch on the geyser.
- Western toilet was leaking directly in bathroom.
- You need to ask them to switch on the power from outside to make ACs work.
- Food not available as they don't have permanent chef.
- Breakfast was terrible.
- They don't care to ask for drinking water, glasses, cutlery, sugar (in tea). They forget to get one or the other thing.
- We were the only family staying there (all other rooms were not occupied) accompanied by 1 hotel servant. It was so lonely and was not safe at all.
- Servant was new to the place and had joined 3/4 days back.
- Other people available during day time were arrogant and didn't bother about the service.
- They were so rude to sit right outside our room and play cards in a group. Nobody bothered about our privacy.
- They charged us completely inspite of all the problems faced. Didn't bother to even offer a waive off.

Room Tip: - Rooms at ground level give a good view. You can see houseboats passing by all the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pkid2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us at bamboolagoon and sharing your experience with us through the TripAdvisor portal.

We are disappointed that your stay with us was less than perfect & regret the inconvenience.

Your concerns about have been taken into account and the team has been informed of the same. Though we do not agree with few of your openion, Guest feedback is a vital part of our organization which helps in strengthening our service offerings. We are sure that your review will act as a learning process for our talents and will help them deliver better service in future. We would also like to inform you that this is not the norm at bamboo lagoon and your experience with us was a rare occurrence.

We hope that your experience will not deter you from visiting us in the future. Once again, we thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Gopinath for bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a one night and 2 days stay in this resort. First of all approach to this resort in itself is an adventure. Passing through a narrow road and then reaching back water. The resort in built on other side of the back water so a boat will be sent by property owner to pick you up. Car needed to be left there itself. Property is small but very good. You will see lots of Houseboats passing by all the day-time.

Food: Awesome. Simply loved the fish preparation. Must try if you are sea-food lover. We gave our food choices for lunch in advance and Mr. Ranjith (owner) made sure it is ready on time. Since it is not a professional hotel the service was bit slow but food was worth it at the end. Breakfast was equally good.

Staff: The manager there with whom we interact most of the time was pretty courteous.

Rooms: Neat and clean. Bathroom had some leaky fittings but can't expect more in such room rates. Overall good.

Mr Ranjith arranged the shikara for us at nominal rates. And also obliged us by offering us Taadi (Palm wine) at dinner from nearby market.

Only drawback staying here is that since you have to cross back water and rely on boat from owner your mobility outside the resort is extremely restricted. You to rely on food given by them most of the time. But still a perfect value for money homestay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing backwater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathur_M19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
663 reviews
9.8 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#17 of 68 in Alappuzha
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Shanthitheeram Lakeside Heritage Resort
1.9 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Property: Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing