We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We got a package deal for our first wedding anniversary celebration (3 nights/4days). We were picked up from the airport and were taken to the houseboat jetty. From there on, we were taken by boat to our hotel. The hotel is located on a serene lake and from our room; we could see houseboats passing by all day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were offered welcome drinks and our lunch was satisfying. Our package included breakfast and we had an option of choosing one free meal - either lunch or dinner. The next day, the hotel arranged a cab to take us sightseeing. We went to the famous Sree Krishna Temple, Mannarasala, Karumadi Kuttan, Ravi Karuna Karan museum (must visit, if you are into museums) and Alappuzha beach! I would recommend visiting the Indian Coffee House, near the beach if you want to taste some yummy mutton cutlets!
A complimentary sunset cruise was also part of the package but that couldn't be arranged due to some houseboat maintenance issues. That was a bit disappointing. I couldn’t get a spa treatment due to unavailability of a female masseur at the hotel. However, the staff arranged for us to get Ayurveda massages elsewhere. Also, they decorated our table on the day of our anniversary and arranged for flowers and cake. That made our day special! Overall, our stay was pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The package cost us around Rs 22,000 (excluding air fare)


* You must also check out the KTDC restaurant at Alleppey! We had a delicious meal of traditional vegetarian specialties and my husband ordered a fish fry (a la carte) which was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_poornima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    179
    65
    22
    21
See reviews for
286
244
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We went to enjoy the backwaters of Kerala and enjoy is what we did. The first surprise was the resort has access only through a boat. No vehicle can enter the premise. So no noise no pollution.
The staff was very good and cordial.
One issue being the ferry from land to the resort. It can be an agonizing wait with no proper arrangements made while you are waiting.
Food is excellent. Specially the Kerala delicacies. Also the night performances while you enjoy your dinner was a very pleasant surprise.
Swimming pool staff need to be a little more available. You cannot be at the pool without anyone looking over your safety, specially if you don't know swimming and you are with a kid.
Overall a very good experience and worth the trip.....
Go enjoy your backwater experience and I bet you will be in GODS OWN COUNTRY.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajavankayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at Citrus resort for our honeymoon during the new years eve and new years day 2012.The resort was completely bought out by a group,but still the management made generous arrangements for us and made sure it was a special day for us.They invited us for a very well planned fun evening at the resort which we enjoyed very much .
The next day the management gave us a very pleasant surprise by upgrading us to a pool villa at no extra charge which was really an awesome experience .
The resort is located right in the middle of the backwaters and is a perfect gateway if you not planning to be on a boat or even before you take it. The service at the resort is impeccable and the staff is very friendly .We couldn't have hoped for anything better.Thanks Mr Santosh and your team for making our stay so memorable!Keep it up.
We definitely plan on visiting your resort again in future !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaushik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed in Citrus Resort in the month of January 2012. The lake & paddy view is mind blowing; they enhanced the natural beauty with additional landscaping and interior. Everything is perfectly build there with high standard.

Citrus Staffs are so pleasant and welcoming they had solution for everything.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are looking for a secluded getaway or romantic retreat-- this hotel is for you! The rooms are nice, new and clean-- none of the others I have visited in India are. The location so close to the backwaters create a gorgeous atmosphere, enhanced by the resort's gardening. The only con I will mention is that, because the resort can only be reached by boat, visiting the city for shopping/ business can be hindered. However, as a retreat away from it all, this one takes the cake.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backwaters provide a beautiful view from the second level balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff was excellent and very responsive. Room service was top notch and fast, and when my wife fell sick, the general manager personally brought a doctor from the mainland. He also ensured the prescription was filled and the medicines delivered to us the same day. I will definitely stay here again in the future if I am in Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2011

we've been there in Citrus Alleppey for Christmas eve (Dec 24th - 2011) we were totally thrilled by the way they treated us.. the hospitality, room service and all were fabulous. Thanks to the GM of Citrus Alleppey Mr Santhosh and other staffs for treating us as a royal customer. the hotel is located in a very beautiful setup with eye feasting scenerio and perfect blend of architecture merged with culture and tradition of Kerala.

we booked Pool villa (501) and a back water view (402). structure of the room were outstanding and seldom seen elsewhere, in Pool villa (which means villa with private pool) we enjoyed a lot actually my 3 yr old kid was the star over there (you can see her in the uploaded photos). in night we experienced cultural programes like Mohiniyattam and Kuchippudi.. then a music band too. Food was another wonder in Citrus Alleppey.. running out of words to describe how it felt like.. in a word we can say it was awesome, which made me go crazy.. overal we recommend Citrus Alleppey for a wonderful stay in Alleppey

Room Tip: pool villa room with back water view will be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shery j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing