We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

very nice hotel, just by the backwaters. Food is nice, wide selection, fresh. Rooms are big enough, clean, bathroom is very big and modern. Very quiet, peaceful place to stay. Staff is friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eszter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    178
    65
    21
    20
See reviews for
281
243
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We spent 1D/1N @citrus retreats Allepey.We had read great review on Trip Advisor and had decided on this resort.The resort is located well and has nice views.
Both the paddy view and the lake view rooms are good.
But the housekeeping was VERY VERY BAD! Right at the time of booking we had asked for an extra bed in one of the rooms.We reminded them at 9 in the night.Even at 10.30pm after 5-6 calls the bed never arrived.We even offered to carry it ourselves(Since they had only 1 person in housekeeping).Finally it arrived but was too narrow and anyways we adjusted.
The BISO restaurant had good spread on the buffet but a little expensive.Tea/coffee is the most expensive.You are stuck here so no option.But some of the staff were really friendly and nice.The complimentary massage was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Corner suites are big and have a double bed.First floor rooms have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PramBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Citrus, Alleppey starting from the hospitable welcome to the final "bon voyage" in the jetty by the entire staff at Citrus. They know the professional way to treat the guests in God's Own Country - Kerala. An experience of this kind would certainly call for a "Once More...!" Kudos to Mr.Santosh, Mr.Pramod and their entire team at Citrus. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manojk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

My visit at Citrus retreats Alleppey even though was brief, it was excellently serviced by the most curtious staff. Was travelling with my wife and was just woundering why didnt I plan this location for our honeymoon ( Ignorance may not always be a bliss). Food, backwaters view, the comfort fo the room, prompt service by the staff, spa, swimming pool, sports room.. what else can you ask for..

Room Tip: Room with a backwater view should be the most preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sai Krishna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candolim, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

we checked in this hotel for 4days on September . The Calm and quite environment and the beautiful scenery around the Hotel is just mind blowing and relaxing....., i really appreciate and congratulate Mr. Santosh Naik and his team for his nice hospitality and service.... i just want to mention the mouth watering food and the relaxing spa..... in a busy schedule of life one can relax and get peace of mind and body here . i 'm looking forward to go to this place again.....
Amy, Goa

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy1982-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

when you checkin before time and the staff still greets you and arranges for a free foot massage while you for your rooms, you know you've selected a good hotel. Well this is how we started our alleppey journey - we were there immediately after visiting Munnar and Thekkady, and felt so rejuvenated just seeing the calm green waters. Alleppey is truly Gods Own Country. The hotel is about 30 minutes boatride from the boat jetty off the cochin highway.A well maintained boat, clean rooms, good food, superb dinnertime entertainment in the form of classical dances, lovely pool with green paddy fields in the backyard & a good spa are the plus points. On the downside, we had taken a room atop the reception lobby, with a good view, but after overnight rains, woke up to find the room inundated with water coming from the balcony- the housekeeping did act promptly but it repeated the second night too.
Apart from this , i still carry great memories and would recommend it strongly and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Dont take the room atop the reception desk as the balcony slopes inwards and the chances of having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dranta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Are you looking to unwind, relax and rejuvenate? You want to just slow down, clear your head and calm your senses? Then go for it.

Thats what our stay at Citrus did for us. It was a great experience. Resort's location is just so perfect. Its beautifully placed Lake is such a treat to the eyes. It soothes and calms you totally. Have the sumptuous dinner at the restaurant, take a walk towards the pool, sit back, look at the blue skies and listen to the blue waters... :)

Hospitality is amazing. Staffs goes of their way to make guests comfortable and happy. Rooms are super neat and clean.

Their restaurant serves some of the best delicacies and whatever they serve, it tastes very authentic. food choices are plenty but don't miss to try the local dishes like appum. You just have to place a request and restaurant is more than happy to serve your special requests. We also tried their spa services was the right way to refuel and rejuvenate. We would like to thank you Shamsher and to all your staff for their hospitality

Overall I highly recommend this place to stay. No matter you travel solo, in a group, family or are a couple, this is one place you don't want to miss.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khem g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
12.4 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.6 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Business Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing