We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The island hotel !! Be here ! Tip: call early and check about the boat timings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The island hotel !! Be here ! Tip: call early and check about the boat timings”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

When it comes to my entire Kerala journey, this was the hotel which had THE BEST location. Its on an island of sorts in the middle of the backwaters. Makes for a beautiful and almost surreal setting in the monsoon months specially.

You have to be careful to time your boat ride well by calling them in advance. Also make sure you factor the time taken in the boat journey into your day's plan if you're on a tight schedule.

We indulged in some relaxing body massages out here, really nice stuff, a word of thanks out to chris and ashim for giving us some great therapy after a long long day of travel.

The hotel usually has some small entertainment activities planned out at dinner time. Even when there were barely 10 guests in monsoon season, a spirited dancer had been called in to showcase some authentic keralite dances. Now that's a hotel committed to their guests !

We stayed only for a night but I would sincerely suggest staying here for a bit more, specially recommended for the honeymooners (book the room with the private pools - a brilliant luxury when you slide open a glass door to a small pool of your own, with a separate outdoor shower and views of the backwaters adjacent !)

Highly Recommended !

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    186
    66
    22
    22
See reviews for
297
245
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had been here in march..room no 411..the climate was hot ..bt the cleanliness in the room & the hotel was good.
Staff is excellent.They are very co-operative.
My was lake view room.the view was excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidhi_thakkar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Amazing place...and highly recommended in Allepey backwaters. Starting from our boat pickup till our drop every thing was well attended and managed. Font office, F&B and Housekeeping team are very friendly and create human touch with guest where they walk extra mile to create an engagement.House boat ride with tea and coffee over looking sunset was an awesome experience. Head massage was too good and very well attended by therapist. Food was very nice.
Overall 5star..and looking forward to visiting back !

Room Tip: Room with private pool is highly recommended for guest to stay. Awesome experience !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We really enjoyed the every moments in the resort...was a beautiful resort with excellent hospitality and the food was soo delicious...
We had taken 2 pool villa suite..when we entered the room we feel that we are very close to the nature . the view from the room is really awesome...GREAT!!!!
It is a very nice place located on top of hills surrounded by forest and water falls...the way to resort is a thrill ride...overall it is a great place to relax and enjoy the mother nature..really missing those days thanks to tamnay & his team

Room Tip: Good Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riju10shaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The property is located amidst backwaters of Allepey.There is lot of greenery all around and you get to see lot of migratory birds during the season.The facility has all the amenities including gym and spa.The staff is extremely courteous and hospitable .You have an option to stay in House boat however the same is costly .The buffet had limited range and is costly .The hotel offers a one hour complimentary boat ride for guests in the evening hours.There is Kuchupudi and Bharatnatyam dance show organised by the hotel in the restaurant during dinner .Overall it is a great place to stay for maximum 2-3 days.One can venture out to Alley beach nearby and Kumarkoam .

Room Tip: Select rooms facing the lake and not paddy view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HimadriSRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

If you are looking for a leisurely time away from routine then this is for you. We had taken the Couple Connect package. Apart from the reception, which was not exactly warm (owing to their insistence on a ‘valid’ ID), the rest of the stay was wonderful. The property overlooks a national waterway lined with coconut trees and paddy fields in different stages of harvesting. Get ready to be spoilt for choice, whether during breakfast (with the massive spread of all types of dishes), lunch (where you can order off the menu) or the spa sessions (rejuvenating!). The rooms are done up in good taste and are comfortable. The hammocks on the grass are a must-try. They will lull you to sleep with the breeze fanning you. Dinner is again a buffet affair like breakfast. It is accompanied by a dance performance. Opt for a room on the 1st floor lake view room and wake up to the warmth of the sunlight not any alarm. The staff is very friendly and courteous. The best thing is the management does not impose restrictions and lets you enjoy and explore the property as per your liking. 2-3 days stay will do justice. Highly recommended for honeymooners. Better to spend time here than on a houseboat.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the 1st floor lake view room away from reception and watch the houseboats pass by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H-squareV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great views and romantic! This is a great place for couples. The lake view rooms are superb. Its away from town. It gives you a great experience of the backwaters. We could enjoy the sunrise from our room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
594 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
335 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 68 in Alappuzha
321 reviews
25.9 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 68 in Alappuzha
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing