We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel with beautiful location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We reached Alleppey at 7 Am morning and got the ferry at the jetty point to the hotel.
The ride to the hotel in jetty through backwaters is one of great experience.

Though we reached the hotel much before the check-in time, the staff was curteous and made us comfortable.
We had an infant with us, the staff even helped us with the cleaning of milk bottles and providing milk for the kid.
They even upgraded us from paddy view to lake view room and gave us room much before the check-in time.
The hotel's cruising spa houseboat is one of the best houseboat in Alleppey. We booked that and it was an awesome experience.The food was great in houseboat.
At dinner hall in hotel, they arrange for a cultural program which is a Mohinattam dance.The dancer was very graceful and we enjoyed her performance.
The food in hotel is good at an optimum price.

Overall our experience with Citrus was very nice and they made us stay memorable.

Looking forward to come back soon again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank neha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    180
    65
    22
    21
See reviews for
287
244
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here in March first week with a 10 month old baby. Our experience was very good.

*Hotel staff was very friendly and approachable. Quick room service and cleaning. Warm welcome.

* Hotel Room: rooms are spacious and clean, well furnished with a beautiful view of back water from large window. Bathroom was clean. Best part of the room i liked was space to keep luggage. It was a separate area next to bathroom with wardrob and mirror which kept our studio room really clean. A huge porch to take view of backwater.

*swimming pool was clean and big. but we could not enjoy due to crop harvest season which resulted in lots of tiny insects in pool and around.

Food: Food was really good and tasty. Large variety in breakfast and dinner buffet. in breakfast dosa, uttapam, were served hot on table for us. We really enjoyed food. Even live pasta counter in dinner was very good. Classical dance in the middle of the dinning area which really kept us sit for a long and enjoy our food.

*Houseboat was free every evening for 1 hour with tea and coffee and biscuts.

They were careful and willing to help us with a baby. They were okay to prepare baby food. They did not even charged us when a drinking water glass was broken by our baby.

SPA: They really pampered us. very first 10 mins head or feet massage was free for everyone one in the whole stay. We opted for body massage. Spa rooms were made very well. staff was very good. with the steam and bath was a leisure. Perfect relaxing stay at citrus

Over all a very good experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited this place for our honeymoon.

It was a great pleasure staying here. Great ambience. Food was good. Staff were very courteous and helpful.

Resort is located in a wonderful place surrounded by water. villa suite gives a memorable staying experience.

t. We enjoyed every bit of it and missing those days.

Location and climate are the best features of this resort.

Thanks To Tanmay & Team for the excellent work done

Room Tip: Good Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I am writing this review with my 8 year old son who is beside me, and in his words .We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in this hidden island resort. we were picked up by the hotel boat near the highway.There were lot of activities, and of the lot catching fish by the lakeside is not an easy task. We enjoyed this very much and when we got tired of fishing in the lake we fished in the small lake inside the resort. The swimming pool is open and airy but needs to be maintained well. The pool villa was excellent ( we were upgraded from the lake view room )and we would open our eyes in the morning to see house boats close to the room.The evening cruise was very nice .
Though the house keeping was average,the food quality was excellent and chefs must be complimented .The citrus bliss package is value for money. Rohit from the front office and emmanuel from the restaurant deserve special mention.

Room Tip: Take the pool villa/ lake view room and the package
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rkmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed there fr our Business Partners Meet for Kerala. The unique experience to reach hotel is by boat giving u the flavour of back water. Our Check in Time was bit delayed. Other wise overall the experience is excellent. South indian food could have been more in veriety and mainly taste too.Weather in April is hot and sultry.This stay not to be missed!

Room Tip: Riverside view and not the Paddy field side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arul_nambi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel has very good infrastructure, viz swimming pool, location with good views, games room, well equipped facilities. However the restaurant service is very slow and inadequate wrt comparable standards. Needs a lot of improvement in terms of quality and speed of delivery. Also being at an isolated place, you need to depend on the ferry service provided by the hotel which may not respond in time when your driver waits for you on the banks of the lake. In all, inferior and non motivated staffing is resulting to these results. Please have a lot of patience for anything to happen....when here...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ssp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The property is very green and well maintained. Food is decent. Service is commendable. Services provided by Rohith, Rajesh, Ashish, all the restaurant & housekeeping staff was exceptional. The hotel doesn't have a bar so thats the only drawback but if you carry your own booze then its becomes real fun. The pool is well maintained too. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Take ground floor Lake view rooms for lovely views of the lake from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhur15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing